We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peacefull Weekend Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Highgate House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Creaton
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Peacefull Weekend Retreat”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I have just spent a Saturday night at Highgate House, part of the Sundial Group. This hotel has established itself as one of the leading conference venues, and it is not hard to see why. My visit was to have a brief escape from a busy schedule and to relax. I had all sorts of ideas to make use of the sauna, gym, swimming pool and country walks. However, immediately upon arrival, the welcome was so warm and friendly, and the accommodation so comfortable, my whole time was spent simply relaxing, in the bar, lounge and room. It was wonderful.
The accommodation is arranged in individual single story blocks surrounding the original old Highgate House. I presume one of the purposes is to enable conference groups to be kept together. This seems a good idea. It is possible to stay in the main Highgate building at an additional cost.
I imagine that this hotel is very busy during weekdays. On Saturday, there were some conference delegates attending, but the place was generally quiet, calm and peaceful.
My room was 114. It was large, light and well equipped. Maintained to a high standard and very clean. The heating was by a large single radiator with an easy control thermostat keeping the room at a perfect temperature on a frosty night. The bed was large and very comfortable with a perfectly Tog rated duvet. I noticed there was no air-conditioning, but there are two full sized opening windows for those hot summer days. The en-suit was large, bright and clean with ample fluffy towels and the usual supply of toiletries.
The "light-bite" bar snacks are very generous proportions. The 100% Angus Burger with all the trimmings was a feast in itself and well worth the £10 or so. The evening meal was taken in the main restaurant and included in the package. The choice was limited, but more than adequate. The presentation and quality of food was excellent and the service discreetly attentive, and very good. I understand the Chef is locally acclaimed and awarded. The food is locally sources and prepared fresh. The breakfasts are self-service buffet style with the whole range of foods available. Very fresh. Very tasty.
From the checking in to checking out, all the staff - without exception, were helpful and cheerful. Nothing was too much trouble. Happy staff makes happy guests!
I am only sorry that I was not able to make use of all the facilities on offer - maybe next time!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevorFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    195
    77
    32
    15
See reviews for
107
278
24
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed one Saturday night in November,following a wedding. The wedding, reception, and food was as good as anywhere with a very nice room for the actual service. Staff are pleasant & attentive. Rooms are either in the old house, or in the added on 60s & 70s style buildings which have been added in a somewhat haphazard fashion. All worked in the room, which was on the small style with no character. Parts look rather tired, and some damp smelling patches in corridors & stairways. We paid £95 for a double room with breakfast which is overpriced for these rooms.£60 would be a fair price

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Derekwozthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henlow, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The positive of high gate are the staff, friendly and smiling. However the hotel is very shabby. Our room 208 had faded wall paper,an old double bed disguised with a memory foam mattress. The room was so hot even with radiators off in november I was considering a shower to cool down. The evening meal was very bland tasting and not much choice, this really needs improving. The first table we were seated at was so wobbly you couldn't have eaten a meal on it, tables and large brown mirrors also very tired and shabby. Money needs to be spent on improvements. The pictures you see on the web site are very misleading too. It really is a miss match of buildings. The games room???? A ping pong table and mini football table! We wont be staying here and we are disappointed a nice quiet weekend here was not as nice as we hoped.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samwoodford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The house is beautiful in honeyed sandstone,the staff excellent with giving personal attention and the cuisine superb.We loved the interior period dining rooms and library looking out onto the lawn and garden.We requested a room for disabled access which was perfect,just near reception and room to park the car outside.Everything was most enjoyable ! we are looking forward to a return visit perhaps for a celebration! Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Don't be fooled by the fancy pictures on their website, most of the rooms look like old 1950/60 outbuildings with dated furniture, damp spots, doileys and thin walls. On arrival we were gobsmaked by what a hole the hotel was and how misleading the website is. The pool had mould around it and was most certinally not a place you could sit and relax. We could hear the man snoring in the next room. What a huge disappointment!! The only plus point was the free biscuits!!! Stay at a travelodge instead!

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tigerlilly1199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed here as this was the venue for our friend's wedding. We booked the rooms several months in advance explaining that we would require early check in, we were all assured that this wasn't an issue and would be fine. We called to enquire as to what time we could check in and we were told that to ensure an early check in (from 12 noon rather than 1.30pm) we would have to pay an additional £10, I thought this was quite ridiculous as we'd not been advised this during the booking process and were amazed that the rooms at £95 a pop would require a further supplement to get in there early. This was the experience of a number of the guests and I felt it was a way in which Highgate were trying to make a cheeky extra buck. I had to attend the venue a few days before the wedding so that we could walk through a few technical things for the speeches. When I spoke to the woman on reception about early check in, she advised that I could call the night before to see if there was availability to check in earlier than 1.30pm (the wedding started at 2pm) and if the room which had been allocated to me wasn't in use I would be welcome to come early. No mention of additional payment was said.

It turned out that many of the rooms were available early and we were able to get ready. We got ready in one friend's room, this was close to the reception. However the room sloped. It was so bizarre, but as time wasn't on our side and we wouldn't be sitting there all day we just carried on. They told us the following day that it felt as though they were on a bit of a ship and they could hear the man snoring in the room next door.

The room we were given in Hawthorne was fab, no sloping! Big modern and plush - what you would expect from a 4 star hotel. A bit of mould in the ceiling of the bathroom but all in all ok, except for the bed. The bed was two single beds pushed together and of different mattress types. It was unpleasantly like sleeping on a marshmallow. I had a very bad back the following day. You can also hear everything that is happening around you, my boyfriend remarked it was as if they were in the room with us. However we knew all of the people around us and although slightly perturbed at the early check out of 10.30am it was a blessing in disguise to get back to our home. Had we not been checking out at the same time as our Bride and Groom friend's we would have made comment as to the quality of our sleep and the bed, but we didn't want to upset them as it had been such a special weekend for them.

The breakfast was fabulous and well cooked. The service from the staff was fabulous, everyone was great and couldn't be faulted.

However had your beds been up to scratch I wouldn't have felt so hard done by when it came to paying for our room. Personally I wouldn't pay £95 to stay here again, however if they changed the mattresses to something of decent quality and revised their price to around the £70 - £80 mark I wouldn't hesitate to think twice about returning.

Room Tip: Ask for Hawthorne as they're big and modern although you can hear your neighbours - they don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsmissfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2013

A wonderful experience the staff were incredible nothing was too much trouble it was a most welcoming environment. The food was top class and even the chef was available to talk to. The room was quiet well furnished with all facilities for a good weekend. I would certainly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Use the knowledge of the staff to get exactly what suits you
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Creaton
24.9 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
371 reviews
12.9 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Sedgebrook Hall
Sedgebrook Hall
#1 of 1 in Chapel Brampton
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
10.8 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
11.6 mi away
Barton Hall Hotel
Barton Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barton Seagrave
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highgate House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highgate House Hotel

Property: Highgate House Hotel
Address: Highgate House Grooms Lane, Creaton NN6 8NN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Creaton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Creaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Highgate House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based in and around a 17th century mansion, Highgate House is a beautiful country house hotel set amongst rolling countryside,just 7 miles from Northampton. Accommodation consists of 97 en-suite bedrooms, all of which are individually decorated. Some of the bedrooms are located in the original building whilst the majority are housed in areas across the estate. Each room is fully equipped with hot drink facilities, an alarm clock-radio with iPod docking station, a television and toiletries from the Gilchrist and Soames 'BeeKind` range. You stay also includes includes free WiFi, use of the fitness room and pool, free parking on-site and unlimited tea and coffee. Guests can look forward to a delicious seasonal menu prepared by the award-winning team of chefs, headed up by Lee Gaskins, who has won Northamptonshire's Chef of the Year twice. Food is served in the brasserie-style Terrace Restaurant and lighter meals can be enjoyed in the main bar area. Traditional afternoon tea is available between 3-6pm daily, with a selection of sandwiches,homemade cakes and scones with cream and jam. Leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, gym, sauna and tennis courts. The hotel's 26 acres of grounds also offer an idyllic setting for walking, with easy access to the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Highgate House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highgate House, a Sundial Venue Hotel Northampton
Highgate Hotel Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing