We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Highgate House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Creaton
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great staff and hotel”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Absolutely delightful from booking to checking out. The management should be proud of their whole team as they are a credit to the company. The hotel is in a beautiful setting with lovely rooms and well appointed bathrooms (fantastic shower). Breakfast was one of the best I've had in a hotel in recent years with lots of choice available. We will definitely book with this hotel group again. Thank you for a delightful time

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madwife28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundialManager, Manager at Highgate House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Madwife28,

Thankyou for your very kind words.Yes,we are definetly very proud of our staff (As I maintain,our greatest asset.)Hope you do visit us again soon,

Best Wishes,Paul Williams,General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    188
    75
    32
    15
See reviews for
104
267
24
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Rarely do I find the need to stop in this area due to the geography, but this night I did and I unearthed a treasure !
What a delight to see all the spring flowers and shrubs in the late afternoon sunshine - the smell of freshly mown grass everywhere.
The most attentive Czech receptionist and a really comfortable, spacious room.
I never eat in good restaurants alone whilst away as I consider it excessive, but the restaurant looked excellent and the bar meal I took was excellent.
Breakfast was wonderful, with Lee the well time served chef giving a great promotion of the hotel and the others in the small group.
Really enjoyable stay - thanks to all.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BruceHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundialManager, Manager at Highgate House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Bruce Hunter,

I am so glad you found us !.Thankyou for your kind words especially about Martina and Lee,they are much-appreciated especially from some-one who has travelled quite a bit !

Hope to see you again soon,Kind Regards, Paul Williams,General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Wow! Could be on here for some time . Here comes a novel. Looking for somewhere special, with character and modern amenities , got it. Loved the place . We had a room in the main building, it oozed character. Very spacious too. The swimming pool was lovely and warm.
Our evening meal was wonderful. Easy to see why the chef is an award winner. The staff are top notch and nothing is too much trouble. The only thing missing was a Ghost ! Breakfast....what a feast. If that is what you want. All you could wish for was there and the cooked breakfast us great.
Can't wait to go back again , this time for a longer visit.
We really really highly recommend Highgate.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building and in the grounds. I am sure all are excellent but we chose one in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff187046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundialManager, Manager at Highgate House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Jeff1 87046,

Thankyou for your very kind words regarding your stay with us this week,It was a pleasure meeting you as well(hope you had a good journey back to Harrogate).

We look forward to seeing you again soon(perhaps when you escape the Tour de France !)

Kind Regards,Paul Williams,General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed one night here before visiting Northampton on a family get together. Was booked via an internet deals site which made it good value.

We were given a modern room in the annexe which was large and comfortable with lots of windows. The windows were covered by very light coloured blinds - not helpful in the summer as they don't block the light.

We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel and service was good, despite there being a large function in the hotel. The dining area is very large and I don't think would suit a romantic couple, but for a family get together it was ideal.

We saw people being served food in the bar area and the portions looked very generous.

In the restaurant there was a table d'hote menu so not a great deal of choice, but the food we had was tasty and well cooked.

Check out time was 10.30 on a Sunday which is a bit early if you are there for a relaxing break. We just had time to go back to our rooms after breakfast and pack before we had to leave.

Overall a pleasant hotel and I would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l0vaduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundialManager, Manager at Highgate House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear lOvaduck,

It wa great to read such a positive review from some-one who has obviously travelled a great deal.

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will visit us again soon.

Hope your Family Get-Together went well !

Best Wishes,Paul Williams,General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meppershall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I chose this hotel to meet up with friends for a general catch up. From start to finish the staff were friendly, helpful and professional. We had a lovely afternoon tea in the small cosy library complete with roaring fire and comfy seats. The tea was excellent and although we tried, we could not clear all the platters. We shall be booking again for our next get together.

Room Tip: The library is ideal for quiet private meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundialManager, Manager at Highgate House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Lorna P,

Thankyou for letting us know how much you and your friends enjoyed your Afternoon Tea in our Library.
May I suggest that next time you visit us you ask to see our newly-refurbished Bar and Lounge.

This is also proving to be very popular as a venue for light snacks and,of course,Afternoon Tea as well.

Hope you visit us again soon,

Best Wishes,Paul Williams,General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I've used this venue for work many times over the years and the consistency of the staff is the redeeming feature. The manager is very hands on and very present which shows in the staff - i.e. the staff are simply outstanding. The food is consistently good too. I can't comment on the bedrooms as I'm local so only use as a day delegate although my business clients who stay there tell me the rooms are 'fine'.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T444NJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundialManager, Manager at Highgate House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear T44NJB,

It was great to read your review-like you I believe our greatest asset is our staff,with a close second being the quality and consistency of the food we serve.

I hope you will visit us again soon and please let me know when you do ,it would be great to say
hello,

Kind regards,Paul Williams,General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Without the helpful and attentive nature of the staff team it would have been an average review. Room was clean, of a good size but uncomfortably warm. I should have guessed there was a problem when I found two electric fans in the room. I have no idea where the heat was coming from (obviously I checked the radiators were off). Parking was plentiful and the breakfast was one of the best I've had in a long time. Facilities in the room were above average. Not bad for the £80 a night I paid (double room for single occupancy).

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above reception, from what I gather from friends they all had a problem with the heat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundialManager, Manager at Highgate House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Vanessa P,

Thankyou for your kind words concerning what we believe to be our greatest asset-our staff.
I know they will appreciate you taking the time to let us know your findings.

Please be assured we will endeavour to rectify the issues you faced with the heat in your room.

I do hope you will visit again soon if only for our great breakfast !

Best Wishes,Paul Williams,General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Creaton
24.9 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
367 reviews
12.9 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Sedgebrook Hall
Sedgebrook Hall
#1 of 1 in Chapel Brampton
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
10.8 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
23.0 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oundle
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highgate House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highgate House Hotel

Property: Highgate House Hotel
Address: Highgate House Grooms Lane, Creaton NN6 8NN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Creaton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Creaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Highgate House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based in and around a 17th century mansion, Highgate House is a beautiful country house hotel set amongst rolling countryside,just 7 miles from Northampton. Accommodation consists of 97 en-suite bedrooms, all of which are individually decorated. Some of the bedrooms are located in the original building whilst the majority are housed in areas across the estate. Each room is fully equipped with hot drink facilities, an alarm clock-radio with iPod docking station, a television and toiletries from the Gilchrist and Soames 'BeeKind` range. You stay also includes includes free WiFi, use of the fitness room and pool, free parking on-site and unlimited tea and coffee. Guests can look forward to a delicious seasonal menu prepared by the award-winning team of chefs, headed up by Lee Gaskins, who has won Northamptonshire's Chef of the Year twice. Food is served in the brasserie-style Terrace Restaurant and lighter meals can be enjoyed in the main bar area. Traditional afternoon tea is available between 3-6pm daily, with a selection of sandwiches,homemade cakes and scones with cream and jam. Leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, gym, sauna and tennis courts. The hotel's 26 acres of grounds also offer an idyllic setting for walking, with easy access to the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Highgate House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highgate House, a Sundial Venue Hotel Northampton
Highgate Hotel Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing