We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lower your expectations if you look at the photos first!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Highgate House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Creaton
Certificate of Excellence
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lower your expectations if you look at the photos first!!!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The photos online are very misleading giving the impressions of a fabulous country pile with real character. On arrival in the main car park it's more 70's planning mismatch than country splendour. The main reception is more corporate than we were expecting and it became very obvious that this was a venue with rooms rather than a place to settle down and enjoy in it's own right. The rooms in the main house are described as deluxe and our experience was they were far from this rather generous description. Room 208 was small, shabby and although the view was lovely the A road only 20 metres from the window was very off putting. The biggest niggle were the hot water pipes running externally behind and under the bed turning the room into a hot house! The reception staff were lovely quickly relocating us to a quieter room without said pipes. The modern coffee lounge with hot drinks on tap all day was a nice touch and the bright airy breakfast room was nice. Breakfast was a fairly standard affair, why or why food is left to spoil under heat lamps for hours is beyond me when a breakfast chef was so obviously on site. On reflection Highgate House is more pit stop than country escape, does it warrant the prices charged? I am not convinced, but Northampton does appear to be a real quality accommodation black spot so it is probably fair for this area.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Hawthorn block are away from the main road and have space but absolutely no charact...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buggsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundialManager, Manager at Highgate House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Buggsi

Thankyou very much for your recent review and observations therein.I would like to assure you it is certainly not our intention to mislead,however we obviously do wish to show Highgate in the best possible light.Logistically the main car-park is at the rear of the building which enables the Front Gardens to be traffic-free.

Your comments concerning the bedrooms have been noted and will be actioned where possible during our on-going refurbishment programme.

Kind Regards,Paul Williams ,General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    188
    75
    32
    15
See reviews for
104
267
24
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I found a great deal on Booking.com the this hotel and phoned to ask if they had a twin room for me and my husband. They said they did and then asked me what the deal was with I told them and they matched it. It was excellent I really enjoyed being there. The staff were very helpful and the rooms were very comfortable. The pool was separated from the Sauna and the shower in the pool area was not working and this was a bit of a pain but overall it was fine. Lovely breakfasts too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maysenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundialManager, Manager at Highgate House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear maysenior,

I was really glad to read that we could match the deal you found on Booking.com and that you enjoyed your stay with us at the weekend.

Please accept my apologies for the shower in the swimming-pool being out of action.I am happy to report that it is now back in operation after a total refurbishment.

I hope you will visit us again soon,Best Wishes,Paul Williams,General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A casual glance at the photos of this venue would have you thinking that this is a country house hotel. It is not. It specialises in meetings,events and conferences, so that the historic parts of the hotel are reserved for these. At weekends the room charges are discounted in an attempt to fill the accomodation. My wife and I booked through laterooms.com with a 25% discount and 'got what we paid for'.

Many of the rooms are situated in bungalow units on the campus; a disadvantage on a wet weekend as we have just had. We either needed to drive or use an umbrella to get from room to the main facilities even though it was only 150 yards. The bedroom was adequate, with king sized bed and an enormous desk, but only one upright chair. I did ask for another chair, perhaps an armchair or bucket chair, but only another upright chair was provided. But promptly. The shower room was modern and clean with good towels.

We used the swimming pool, which again was in a separate building, made more complicated by having to obtain a key and sign a disclaimer at reception. The changing facilities were minimal and the single shower was out of action and looked as if it had been so for some time. No warning of this was given.

The reception and dining room staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was enjoyable. But the best of the hotel was apparent at the evening meal. The chef punches above his weight and not only was the meal enjoyable but good value for money.

The hotel is well placed for visiting historic houses and gardens and the Naseby battle site.

Finally, remember, you get what you pay for!

Room Tip: Look for rooms that connect with main facilities via covered ways if the weather is likely to be inc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundialManager, Manager at Highgate House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Brian C,

Thankyou for your recent review regarding your recent stay with us over the Bank Holiday Week-end.I am sorry the weather was not kinder to you though trust you made good use of our complimentary umbrellas.

Your kind comments about our staff ,especially the Chef and his team,are greatly appreciated.

I should let you know that our Main House bedrooms are available to every-one,though I would advise you to book well in advance as they are very popular !

I do hope you will visit us again soon,Best Wishes,Paul Williams,General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have used Highgate House on a number of occasions as a meeting venue and they never let me down. The staff are brilliant and nothing is too much trouble. Bruce the IT guy was so helpful and pleasant when I had a few queries and went out of his way to assist. The food is excellent with amazing cakes at break times......if you need a venue for a meeting these people will go the extra mile. Only slight negative was that although my room was lovely with a great view over the countryside....it was a bit warm...cosy though in winter.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundialManager, Manager at Highgate House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Kathryn F,

Thankyou very much for your review concerning your recent meeting with us.We certainly do intend to go the "extra mile" whenever we can but it was very good of to recognise and highlight that fact.

Bruce (our IT Guy) will be delighted he had a mention and I will make sure he is aware of your kind words.

I do hope you will continue using Highgate House for your meetings and look forward to wecoming you back soon,

Kind Regards,Paul Williams,General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Visited Highgate House for a wedding back in April, easy to find, very picturesque surroundings and grounds, Stayed in what can be descirbed as a chalet type room (disabled room) away from the main house, very big room, decor a little dated and smelt a bit musty, comfortable bed. We didnt request a disabled room , it was just allocated to us on arrival, Bathroom was very big with shower but no bath, and the drainage was not very good , almost flooded the place having a shower. Drinks in the bar were on the pricey side. Breakfast was very good on departure, fresh eggs cooked to order, plenty of choice. Checkout was swift and painless, the only thing I would mention is the price to stay, we had been told our price had been discounted due to being guests at the wedding but I found rooms on Late rooms and booking.com which were cheaper than what we paid.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundialManager, Manager at Highgate House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear woggle,

It was great to receive your detailed and succint review.

I hope you enjoyed the wedding you attended and just to reassure you we do offer a discount for guests attending weddings here.As we have rooms of varying standards those advertised on Late-Rooms would be of a smaller size than the one allocated to you.

I was glad to read that check-out was "swift and painless"(sounds like a minor-op !) and that you will return soon to experience more of our facilities as well as the many local attractions we have in this part of the country,

Kind Regards,Paul Williams,General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a two night stay here as a surprise trip for my birthday. Found the hotel to be full of charm and character with lots of incredible old rooms, a wine cellar and baronial dining hall. Nice room with a good view. The service was mostly really good, with reception staff who couldn't do enough for you, and in particular Lee Gaskins overseeing his own breakfast serving - gave me tips to make the perfect poached egg! Really went out of his way to be friendly and accommodating.

Service was only let down by the meal on the Saturday night, there was a function on and they were clearly understaffed but instead of explaining this politely and asking us to be patient, they kept fobbing us off and left us waiting almost 40 minutes to even take our order. Such a shame because everything else about the trip was lovely.

Oh, the swimming pool area is seriously in need of a good clean. But otherwise, would recommend a trip there, enjoyed it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundialManager, Manager at Highgate House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Alison G,

Thankyou very much for your recent review which I found very constructive.Your comments concerning the service you received on the Saturday evening and about our Swimming Pool area have been particularly noted and I am sorry that they detracted from the overall enjoyment of your stay with us.

I do hope these points will not deter you from staying with us again-it would be great to have the opportunity to fully make amends to you,

Best Wishes,Paul Williams,General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Recently had a weekend break at Highgate House near Northampton. Good food by award-winning chef Lee Gaskins, friendly staff and comfortable room. My wife has dietary issues and Lee and the restaurant staff could not have been more helpful. The 'leisure facilities', particularly free loan of a bike to explore the rolling countryside is a real plus

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank davealker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundialManager, Manager at Highgate House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear davealker,

It looks like you had a very active week-end with us and managed to make full use of all our facilities.

I was vey glad to read that we catered successfully for your wife's dietary requirements.It sound like you both enjoyed your meals in our restaurant. You must have had hearty appetites if you cycled up some of the hill around here !

Hope you will visit us again soon,Best Wishes,Paul Williams,General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Creaton
24.9 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
366 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sedgebrook Hall
Sedgebrook Hall
#1 of 1 in Chapel Brampton
674 reviews
12.9 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
5.8 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
471 reviews
10.8 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highgate House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highgate House Hotel

Property: Highgate House Hotel
Address: Highgate House Grooms Lane, Creaton NN6 8NN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Creaton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Creaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Highgate House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based in and around a 17th century mansion, Highgate House is a beautiful country house hotel set amongst rolling countryside,just 7 miles from Northampton. Accommodation consists of 97 en-suite bedrooms, all of which are individually decorated. Some of the bedrooms are located in the original building whilst the majority are housed in areas across the estate. Each room is fully equipped with hot drink facilities, an alarm clock-radio with iPod docking station, a television and toiletries from the Gilchrist and Soames 'BeeKind` range. You stay also includes includes free WiFi, use of the fitness room and pool, free parking on-site and unlimited tea and coffee. Guests can look forward to a delicious seasonal menu prepared by the award-winning team of chefs, headed up by Lee Gaskins, who has won Northamptonshire's Chef of the Year twice. Food is served in the brasserie-style Terrace Restaurant and lighter meals can be enjoyed in the main bar area. Traditional afternoon tea is available between 3-6pm daily, with a selection of sandwiches,homemade cakes and scones with cream and jam. Leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, gym, sauna and tennis courts. The hotel's 26 acres of grounds also offer an idyllic setting for walking, with easy access to the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Highgate House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highgate House, a Sundial Venue Hotel Northampton
Highgate Hotel Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing