We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Highgate House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Creaton
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great hotel, highly recommended”
Reviewed 29 November 2010

I stayed with my partner at Highgate hotel in November 2010 for a Saturday night. We decieded to find somewhere to relax and take a weekend away (that was not too far away) and came upon Highgate hotel. We ended up booking a £75 a night B&B but decided to upgrade (as it was an option) for £25 which got us an executive room, free mince pies / coffee delivered to the room on arrival and mulled wine before dinner.
Arriving the place does not look great. You enter via some very nice automated gates but then it looks like a cheap motel as you drive through the car park, luckily, its all uphill from there.

We checked in with the help of a very nice receptionist who remembered my email conversations with her. We did get the executive room and she organised for the mince pies / coffee to be delivered straight to the room. She had also made a booking for dinner that night in the hotel and said it was an “open booking, just arrive when you want between 7 and 9pm”, very nice touch!!

The room we got was LOVELY. HUGE, really nicely appointed with comfortable bed. The bathroom was HUGE also, much bigger than most hotel rooms in the UK. It had a full sized bath and massive shower. The view from the room was overlooking the “nice” part of the house so was very pleasant. We found out that the room had only be refurbished a few months earlier and that was clear.

The hotel inside is very nice. The “harry potter” dining room would be lovely, if you have an event there. The bar is quite nice, small, but very homely feeling. My only real issue with the place is that the pool is about a 2-3 min walk outside and during winter, its just too cold to do that (take note, you need to ask for a key to get in to the pool, so ask before you go).

We had dinner at the restaurant on the Saturday night and for £20 for a three course I guess I can not complain, but it was just not that good. Starters we both ordered cold starters and it was obvious they were both pre-made and left in the fridge as they arrived approximately 30 seconds after we ordered and everything on the plate, including the plate it self, was ice cold. The mains were actally quite nice but the desserts again, felt like mass produced “tesco” type desserts. The biggest disappointment was the wine. We ordered a £18.50 bottle of Malbec. It arrived already opened (never good) and as it turned out, was a 2010 bottle. I have not even seen 2010 reds in supermarkets, let alone restaurants for nearly £20 a bottle.

Breakfast was very nice. Usual cooked and cold breakfast fair with a nice touch of a egg chef who cooks your eggs the way you like it, fresh for you.

All in all we would highly recommend Highgate house for a nice weekend get away for a very reasonable price!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    188
    75
    32
    15
See reviews for
104
266
24
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Second time I've stayed here. The location and facilities are good. However the noise in the evening is terrible there's a constant drowning sound and every 45 minutes there's a sound like a firework display I'm sure it's a compactor and the sons of glass being broken. Dinner was good but I was asked if I wanted a glass of wine and I selected a red glass priced at £3.50 the wine arrived and I drank with meal. When the bill arrived the wine charge was £7.50. When I asked why the waitress said it was a large glass I replied I didn't ask for a large glass. She then replied oh if you order a glass of wine we assume it's a large glass. I couldn't believe the cheek of it and waitress attitude I don't mind paying for what I ordered. On checkout the room rate was hiher than I'd been given and previously confirmed by email. I then had to spend 15 mins finding confirmation of price they sent me as they had no copy. Really poor customer service. A shame as a noce venue.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craftus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

This hotel is geared for business with many meeting rooms and conference facilities being utilised and the hotel appeared to be full to capacity during my stay. This did affected the service (dinner, bar, reception etc.) although this was understandable. Rooms are a reasonable size with facilities that you would expect.
Noise was a factor also, particularly early morning and last thing at night, again I believe this was due the numbers staying overnight and those arriving for early morning meetings.
Overall I enjoyed my stay at this hotel, food was ok although menu was limited, staff were pleasant and the surrounding areas was worth a stroll. Nice touch with the free water and coffee, although a couple of times I went to use the machine in the afternoon it was empty. Would go back, but for business reasons only I suspect.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonBhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, England
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
294 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 623 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

I was impressed by the grounds and the car park which has security gates. The staff were really good, and the food (both evening meal and breakfast) was excellent.
The bedrooms are a tad on the small size and I was disappointed that my room had only a shower cubicle and no bath.
At £68 bed and breakfast with free internet and leisure facilities, plus free bottled water and fruit, this is tremendous value.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wroughtironron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and had no complaints. The staff are helpful and friendly, infact couldnt do enough for you. We ate in The Terrace restaurant first night although not a huge menu, the food was lovely and reasonably priced. Breakfast was also good with alot to choose from. Second day we attended a wedding and the reception was held at the hotel, the staff again went out of their way to make sure you had a good time. Would definately stay here again if was ever in the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JordansKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We needed a cheap room for one night before a wedding - so was relatively good value for all we needed.

Greeted by an unwelcoming receptionist who was very quiet. However, this was compensated by the fact the chef who was willing to work late in order to “rustle up” some decent food for us after the kitchen had closed.

The room, bathroom and facilities were good/clean. However our room looked out onto the main road so I had a very disturbed night’s sleep due to cars speeding by.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Well, I shall start with the greeting, fantastic, really friendly gent came down to reception as we were late arriving, checked us in promptly and off to our room.

Although it was cosy (borderline small) it was very well fitted out, being modern throughout with flat screen TV and iPod dock etc. Air-conditioning worked well as the bed was a little hot for me, I normally have a very thin quilt but that is my preference, my partner was fine.

The grounds were lovely and there were plenty of places to go locally, the receptionist was very helpful in drawing us a map to find a local reservoir to ride around!

We had only intended to stay two nights, however as it was my partners birthday I once again asked reception if there were any room upgrades available for a further night, she promptly gave me several options at a great price so we stayed a further night, what fantastic service!

We spent the third night in the old building and it was fantastic, really traditional feel and although there was a wedding reception downstairs we barely noticed it and fell asleep way before they finished!

Only visited the bar once, but was of a traditional feel, wish we had visited the restaurant now though as it looked great!

Swimming pool was lovely, had it all to ourselves and also the gym is well equipped and the sauna was also a lovely extra.

I will finish by saying that it is a real pleasure to find somewhere at such a great price where you truly feel valued, everyone is so friendly and go out of their way to help, will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mucho-mogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Creaton
24.9 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
366 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sedgebrook Hall
Sedgebrook Hall
#1 of 1 in Chapel Brampton
674 reviews
12.9 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Rushton Hall Hotel and Spa
5.8 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
471 reviews
10.8 mi away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highgate House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highgate House Hotel

Property: Highgate House Hotel
Address: Highgate House Grooms Lane, Creaton NN6 8NN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Creaton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Creaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Highgate House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based in and around a 17th century mansion, Highgate House is a beautiful country house hotel set amongst rolling countryside,just 7 miles from Northampton. Accommodation consists of 97 en-suite bedrooms, all of which are individually decorated. Some of the bedrooms are located in the original building whilst the majority are housed in areas across the estate. Each room is fully equipped with hot drink facilities, an alarm clock-radio with iPod docking station, a television and toiletries from the Gilchrist and Soames 'BeeKind` range. You stay also includes includes free WiFi, use of the fitness room and pool, free parking on-site and unlimited tea and coffee. Guests can look forward to a delicious seasonal menu prepared by the award-winning team of chefs, headed up by Lee Gaskins, who has won Northamptonshire's Chef of the Year twice. Food is served in the brasserie-style Terrace Restaurant and lighter meals can be enjoyed in the main bar area. Traditional afternoon tea is available between 3-6pm daily, with a selection of sandwiches,homemade cakes and scones with cream and jam. Leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, gym, sauna and tennis courts. The hotel's 26 acres of grounds also offer an idyllic setting for walking, with easy access to the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Highgate House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highgate House, a Sundial Venue Hotel Northampton
Highgate Hotel Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing