We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Falcon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Falcon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Ashby
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Visited this week, stayed two nights. Very quaint and old fashioned building but very clean bedrooms and bathrooms with everything you needed to hand. Staff very friendly and helpful. Ate in the restaurant both nights and couldn't fault the food. This is not "pub grub", this is gourmet dining. Breakfast was also amazing. Would definitely recommend and are already planning to visit again next year. Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan196202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Falcon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2011

Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We value all your comments, and take them on board to offer the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2011

First class service and food, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Matt Sanders did a great job organizing the day for us, everything ran smoothly. Everyone praised the quality of the food and all said what a wonderful time they had. The chef got the food out on time, piping hot and no one had to wait - splendid. The staff made sure the day went exactly as we had hoped it would. Chris you run a great ship - or should I say hotel.

Room Tip: We took up all the rooms for the night of the wedding, I stayed the 2 previous nights and what I saw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelagh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Falcon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We value all your comments, and take them on board to offer the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Visited last week for 3 days. Great place, good food and very friendly and helpful staff.
Thanks again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dersan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Falcon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We value all your comments, and take them on board to offer the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I have stayed at the Falcon on several occasions over the past couple of years when on business trips to the area.I have always found the accommodation very comfortable and the breakfast is always excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanfoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Falcon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We value all your comments, and take them on board to offer the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

As above but food is also expensive and only average in quality. Staff are nice though.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erniesands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Falcon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Falcon or one of other Old English Inns very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I visited this hotel for a family wedding. It turned out that the manager was away and a wonderful young (Assistant Manager?) man called Matt was in charge. He was absolutely brilliant. He ran around for all of the guests both whilst checking in, moving furniture, serving food and constantly being more than helpful! All of the other staff were just as busy and wonderful. The food was absoluteley excellent for both the wedding breakfast and the evening fish & chips, chilli & rice and bacon rolls. Breakfast the following day was the best I have ever had in a hotel. Our room was in a little cottage just around the corner from the main building and was very pleasant. The bed was the best that I have EVER slept in! The B&B rate that we got for the night was so much cheaper than we expected for the quality of service we received (wedding guests had received a special price). I cannot fault this hotel and would receommend it to anyone visiting the area. There is a lovely little group of shops 2 minutes up the road, which sold things such as antiques, dairy produce, a beauty salon, sweet shop and a few more. If I have to stay in the area again I will be staying here and if anyone is looking for a wedding venue then I would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilacflower1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Falcon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2011

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, we always appreciate all your feedback at Old English Inns and constantly work hard to deliver service and value. We look forward to welcoming to back to one of our Inns soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

After spending a weekend camping at Santa Pod we decided that on our return home we'd stop of at a hotel and have an extra night away, after much searching we decided on the falcon, we didnt want anything to big, we wanted somewhere to relax, have lovely food and good wine and this placed ticked all the boxes, from the first phone call to book in for dinner to leaving we felt at home, the service was fantastic and may i just add that Donna (i think that was her name) worked on reception, the bar and helped in the restaurants, she was polite and went out of her way to help and make our stay enjoyable. the room (room 1) was lovely over looking the front of the hotel, it was quite hot but we had little windows to open, the bathroom was clean the only thing i would say was the photos on the wall in the bathroom did have dead flys between the picture and the glass and the blind had a few dead insects on it, but if a few dead insects are the only bad things i can say, and our room overlooked the hanging baskets and flowers so a few bugs will be around BUT this did no way put us off. The little bar down the stairs was very quaint, we had a drink in the little lounge area then was showed to our table, the menu was small enough to choose from however we did want at least 3 main meals and found it difficult to choose from.....I had feta cheese and beatroot salad, seafood melody and berry's with warm chocolate sauce. My other half had black pudding, pork and ice cream and we had a lovely bottle of wine, the food was presented very well and enough time to rest between each course.

Our sleep was one of the best we'd ever had in a hotel. we had breakfast which again was very nice, plenty to choose from and under no pressure to be rushed out. Also most hotels are very strict to checking out on time, this was not mentioned to us maybe because it was a sunday evening so i would imagine not many people are checking in on mondays, however we left for 11am and felt under no pressure to leave.

we had a little walk around the village which i can only describe as beautiful and i wish we'd have stayed an extra night.

will i return - YES!!!!!
We are looking at a few short weekend breaks over the next few months and this will be one of them, i just hope its as good

Thanks to all and keep it up
Pamela

Room Tip: check on late deals/booking rooms etc as they have special offers on better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamelapjp29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Falcon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

We are really please that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Ashby
0 mi away
Hotel Campanile Northampton
Hotel Campanile Northampton
#20 of 27 in Northampton
436 reviews
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton West M1, Jct 16
0 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 27 in Northampton
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Hotel

Address: Castle Ashby, Northampton NN7 1LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton > Castle Ashby
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Ashby
Price Range: £74 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Falcon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Falcon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falcon Hotel Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing