We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel in a lovely setting”
Review of Falcon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Falcon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Ashby
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Stayed two nights in early March. The room was very well maintained and clean as was the bathroom. The food, although good didn't live up to the standard of what I was expecting based on some other reviews. The heating or water system made a discernable humming noise throughout the night although admittedly this may not be the case for all the rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slipx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Falcon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2011

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel.

We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Falcon Hotel or one of other Old English Inns very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2011

Amazing rural location if you want a relaxing walking break I suspect. Room was in the house next door. I felt as if I was staying in the staff annex that had been tidied up and now used for quests. Very noisy door crashing and banging about caused by hallways leading straight into the gardens and old heavy loose doors. If it was pouring wet I would not have been too happy as its not in main hotel/ inn grounds.
Linen good quality white cotton. The bathroom was unheated and as a result b*&^%y freezing in February, so much so I skipped morning bath, and I`m a Scot!! Tv good size but only four channels and rubbish picture. Remote dident work but could use buttons on TV ok. Breakfast fine and well cooked. However good VFM. Free wifi good. Not bad but had higher expectations of rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank defibduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Around eighty family and friends attended my sons and daughter in laws wedding with many of us staying at the hotel overnight. The day went without a hitch, the staff were very helpful and gave excellent service. The food for the meal was excellent. The venue was superb with log fires and old world charm. The room was clean and very comfortable.
The location excellent and the atmosphere superb.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard_barker73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

Having just spent a very enjoyable 40 th wedding anniversary at the falcon, i must say after reading some of the reviews i had trepidation about staying there, these were very quickly dispersed as the friendly and homely character of the place became evident, the staff were very helpful, and could not do enough for you even though they had three christmas parties on as well.
The breakfast was more than adequate with a very good selection, the bed we had was so comfortable we slept in longer than we anticipated, all in all i would say that you get very good value for money, in an area that anybody would die for to live in,

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We have just had our wedding at the Falcon in Castle Ashby, which we chose because they were so helpful and accommodating. Paul and Sachi did everything they could to make the day very special for us, and were very proactive in making suggestions to help make it work so well. There were a few hiccups but these were due to the unforseen extreme weather.
We had stayed at the Falcon earlier in the year. It is in a beautiful location, with excellent food, very comfy beds and excellent staff and somewhere to be visited! Thank you!!

Lizzy & Tony

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzyandtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

This is the 6th Old English Inn my wife and I have had a weekend away at and it is definitely one of the best. Nestled in the countryside with just a few houses dotted about you really do feel you have got away from it all yet it's only a few minutes from the main road. We stayed at one of the cottages (number 15) a few yards from the hotel and the room was very comfortable, nice double bed and just enough space. Cellar bar in the hotel was great and the usual log fires and leather couches really added to the ambiance. Ate in the restaraunt both nights and the food was tremendous, my wife is a vegetarian and there was only one choice but they were happy to do her a vegetable curry which was delicious. Price for the food was very reasonable and the staff very friendly but not over familiar. Breakfast too was lovely. Really was a great weekend, just what we hoped for, a chance to get away from the stresses of work in a hotel which was intimate and inviting. I never usually go back to an Old English Inn as there are so many to visit but I would go back to this one in an instant.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheshireMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Stayed at this fine little hotel as a weekend break to get away, and when i say get away, we were, as we felt truly looked after the whole time at the falcon, the staff were friendly, chris and natalie were very helpful and nothing seemed a problem to request, the room was lovely, just felt fresh and really inviting, and a nice comfortable size, the food was the best we have had in a long long time, the menus were very well balanced with something for all tastes, and very reasonably priced for the high standard, quality of food that we had, as well as the excellent service provided, would have to say one of the best little restaurant my wife and i have had the pleasure to eat in a very long time, we checked out just after breakfast on the monday and again the staff (elaine) was cheery and accommodating throughout the morning, top class service, checking out was quick and efficient, with a friendly goodbye from the lady manager, all in all i would strongly suggest giving this hidden treasure a go, truly wonderful little inn. cant wait to go back ourselfs

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jockconnery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Ashby
0 mi away
Hotel Campanile Northampton
Hotel Campanile Northampton
#21 of 27 in Northampton
435 reviews
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton West M1, Jct 16
0 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 27 in Northampton
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Hotel

Address: Castle Ashby, Northampton NN7 1LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton > Castle Ashby
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Ashby
Price Range: £74 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Falcon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Falcon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falcon Hotel Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing