We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Family Day Out”

West Lodge Rural Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are an open, working farm with play areas, acres of beautiful walks, a large variety of farm animals including pigs, sheep, cows. Activities on offer include free barrel rides, piglet racing, cuddle corner petting sessions with the smaller animals. We also run pony rides and tractor tours of the farm at a small extra cost. Lots of picnic areas and a large family restaurant.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant Family Day Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We always love coming here as a family and there's so much to like about this farm. There's lots to see and do and the attention to detail on the farm is excellent. The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable and we enjoyed the 'Meet the lambs and piglets' session where you get very close to the animals and learn a bit more about them. You can also stroke some of the guinea pigs and rabbits in cuddle corner and the kids love to feed the animals along the way. The barrel ride is such fun! Excellent facilities; toilets, baby change, hand washing. The restaurant and picnic areas are lovely. It's worth checking their website for details of any special events. Overall, a wonderful place to visit and very good value for money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    67
    11
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect place for young or old!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

As a family we love this place. Our daughter is now 10 and we have been coming for many years. Even had a birthday party here. Totally recommended, food fabulous, fresh and hot. Loads to choose from. The kiddies packed lunches are a delight. All staff are perfect all the time, lovely walks, our favourite being the witches house walk, scary tractor rides at Halloween, do exactly what they should... even to the adults! Barrel ride still reduces us all into fits of laughter.... and that is just trying to get in it! Gift shop is amazing, little eyes, and big eyes light up with wonderment. All the animals seem happy and content. Have been involved in piglet racing, that can still make us laugh when we think about it! All in all, a brilliant place to go, very good value for money, everything is well thought out. You simply must go there!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RaineP04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Extremely good value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

Visited with a 2 year old and a 4 year old. Extremely good value and loads to do - the pig race and barrel train were both higlights for our kids. We spent 6 hours here and both kids cried when we had to leave. Higly recommended!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank OsloMark72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fab little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Plenty of things to do and see at this place without it being too big for the little ones! Everything all close by and lots of activated planned. My little girl loved feeding all the goats and rabbits and the barrel ride was a real winner!!
Restaurant looked lovely!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KirstyNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northamptonshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Visited this farm with my grandson and what a great place for young children. He loved the fact that we could get close to the animals and feed them and the play areas were well thought out with plenty of farm themed play items. We couldn't unfortunately follow the nature trail as it involved steps and we are not able to carry the buggy which was a shame. The restaurant was very child friendly and the food tasty and quite reasonable for this type of place. All in all a very enjoyable day out and Weill certainly be back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank knight53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Lodge Rural Centre also viewed

Kettering, Northamptonshire
Kettering, Northamptonshire
 
Welford, Northamptonshire
Kettering, Northamptonshire
 

Been to West Lodge Rural Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing