We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food”
Review of Mews Thai

Mews Thai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Westernised Thai cuisine in a nice environment. Popular with good service.
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Visited with my mother and partner after a recommendation from family in the area. Lovely little restaurant, and really enjoyed the food! The dumplings to start were so tasty, I wanted to order round two! For mains we had the special duck, Siamese garlic beef which was full of flavour, but the highlight was the Thai green curry. My partner had the fish Thai green curry, and it was absolutely delicious! Best Thai green curry I've tasted in a very long time!

Thank Glassjaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveSPF, Public Relations Manager at Mews Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2016

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We do say it often but it's always true; we appreciate genuine customer feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 116 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Just home from having a meal here & wow what a horror story ! Sent upstairs after being met by a real miserable face of a woman. Sat down to then be moved as a party of scousers arrived who had booked to sit on the floor table suddenly decided they wanted tables, together with a group of lads downstairs this place was like a bad night in magaluf. On leaving the place the language across both floors was simply shocking & the staff looked on as if this was the norm. My God they must have some cranks bigging up this place, it's awful. Bye Poulton & back to Lytham we go !

1  Thank DollyEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveSPF, Public Relations Manager at Mews Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2016

Well, wow, this is quite easily the most spiteful, mean minded, bigoted diatribe we've had posted on Tripadvisor so far and that's really saying something. Is there a restaurant review in here somewhere?

This is a rare event for us, but it's actually an example of a person determined to have a bad evening and make it anyone's fault but their own. Didn't like the person who greeted them for no reason we can understand. Didn't like the first table offered so we moved them upstairs, didn't like that table because there were other people nearby actually talking to each other, imagine the horror!, so we moved them again but the reality is that we were never going to keep them happy.

We welcome groups of people whatever their gender and regardless of where they come from. We offer an informal dining experience which generally means that there will be some noise as people engage in the ancient art of conversation and we make no apologies for that.

We don't care where people go on their holidays, travel broadens the mind and makes people more interesting although, clearly, the trip from Lytham to Poulton isn't far enough to have the same effect.

We don't recognise the 'shocking language' mentioned and absolutely reject the disparaging use of the word 'scousers'; we find that particularly offensive. We are appalled, but not overly surprised, that Tripadvisor have chosen to publish that particular comment.

There are some 300 reviews here and the majority of them are positive; they can't all be written by 'cranks'. We like our customers and appreciate their input, without their input the superiority complexes passing their prejudiced drivel across as facts would be far more visible.








Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Waited over one and a half hours to get food as a large party seemed to delay the service. The food was good when it arrived but not enjoyable due to the excessive noise, the staff were very polite and realised the issue with the delay and the high noise level, they offered some drinks on the house only to find that we had been charged for more drinks than we had anyway.
This did not seem the norm for this establishment and was very disappointing.

Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveSPF, Public Relations Manager at Mews Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

This happens from time to time and we do acknowledge that we let this customer down. A big party is always going to put some pressure on the kitchen but shouldn't really cause an excessive wait for other customers.

The noise issue we have come across before and it's a tricky balance to strike. One parties enjoyment may well be another parties excessive noise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We regularly eat here with friends. Go for the set menu but they allow you to swap if you need to. The starter platter is fabulous.

Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveSPF, Public Relations Manager at Mews Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. As ever, we do appreciate genuine customer feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

We have just been for the first time in a while and tried to remember and re order what we had last time around a year ago ( we used to visit regular )

We sat for the first time tonight upstairs on the floor cushions, probably would opt for a table again in the future as it become uncomfortable after an hour or so.

From start to finish the staff were very polite and prompt, when we first arrived downstairs was quite busy but no one upstairs where we sat.

The mixed starters tonight we thought were decent but not quite as we remembered, the chicken satay was a bit tough and chicken wings bland however the rest was nice. 7/10

Our mains were Duck in honey Thai Sauce and Duck in Oyster Sauce, the Duck in honey and Thai sauce was lovely while again the Duck in oyster sauce was a bit tough like the chicken in the starters. All in all 8.5/10

The Pad Thai we got to share was as always amazing (not sure about the egg parcels tho) it is one of the best pad thai dishes we've had and we've had plenty. 10/10

For desserts we got the toffee and pecan nut ice cream and the half chopped real coconut shell filled with ice cream and coconut bits, my toffee ice cream was ok / decent although the coconut shell was supposed to be topped with a chocolate leaf but instead it was a cadburys chocolate button?! 6/10

All in all a honest review at 4* from a couple of foodies that have eaten in some great and good restaurants including this one and we will return probably on a night during the week when it's a bit quieter so we can get a normal table.

Thank Barry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveSPF, Public Relations Manager at Mews Thai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. As ever, we do appreciate genuine customer feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mews Thai also viewed

Poulton Le Fylde, Wyre District
Poulton Le Fylde, Wyre District
 
Poulton Le Fylde, Wyre District
Poulton Le Fylde, Wyre District
 
Poulton Le Fylde, Wyre District
 

Been to Mews Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing