We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
"Blown away by this Course"

KNOTT END GOLF CLUB Quite a Trek to get here and off the beaten track, but well worth a visit. The... read more

Reviewed 17 August 2018
nadia021
,
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Golf Day Out

Even with a fair breeze the course was in very good condition and as usual the greens ran very... read more

Reviewed 10 August 2018
Stu042Bury
,
Bury
Read all 24 reviews
  
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
15
7
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
7
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews challenging holes straight shot forgiving fairways off the beaten track long par bacon golf club sandwiches links estuary wyre wind clubhouse chips parkland condition visitors
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2018

KNOTT END GOLF CLUB
Quite a Trek to get here and off the beaten track, but well worth a visit. The course is in fabulous condition, and very testing.
The course is part links part pasture, set to the North of the River Wyre Estuary. Its a well drained course offering forgiving fairways, It is a fairly open course, but the rough can be a problem. There are a number of very challenging holes: the being long par fours to a very short par 3 - 11th where accuracy is at a premium.The wind blowing in off the estuary can give a straight shot a draw and a slice a straight shot so beware as the front 9 runs by the side.
The clubhouse is overlooking the estuary and offers some lovely views and the members and staff we came across were all friendly and very welcoming meaning all in all we would love to return soon.

Thank nadia021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

Even with a fair breeze the course was in very good condition and as usual the greens ran very true. Food is available from the bar and is very well priced and good quality.

Thank Stu042Bury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

Played here on Tuesday 13/03, following heavy overnight rain.

The course is well maintained and in great condition, which is a credit to the green keepers and ground staff

Although wet the greens played well and improved as they dried through the round.

The clubhouse is very nice with great views and all the staff welcoming. I can recommend the full English breakfast which is excellent value for money.

In summary; an enjoyable experience which I will revisit and look forward to playing when it’s dry.

Recommended

Thank Garny_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

We had a party of 22 players who attended knott end on friday the 1st September.from the moment we arrived to leaving after 27 holes we were treated in the best way anyone could ask for.from Paul the pro to the catering staff we had nothing but the best service anyone could ask for.the course was busy but we had no issues at all teeing off at 0934 and 1334 .the course was in fantastic condition and the rough was penal to any wayward shot but the greens were very receptive to a good shot.the wind was up in the afternoon but weather was fab. The food was fabulous from bacon arms,sandwiches and chips and a 3 course meal at the night it could not be faulted at all .a great day out and would recommend this course and facilaties to any golfers.this is truly a hidden gem. Dennis captain b.p.g.s

Thank mugc2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Knott End Golf course is one of those rare delights that never fails to impress golfers and social visitors alike . The course is challenging , varied and utterly gorgeous with both coastal and woodland views flanking perfectly manicured fairways and greens . The club house has a warm and traditional feel and visitors are made to feel very welcome . The food is excellent and competitively priced .
A great day out and one you will remember with fondness .

Thank KJT666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

The course is very good condition both greens and fairways. The first 9 holes run along side the river giving it a links feel with the back 9 more parkland. The course was interesting and challenging enough without being to difficult although I imagine that could be different if the wind really got up. We played on a Sunday and we just had a pleasant round at our own pace not being held up and not having anybody pushing us from behind. The staff in the professional shop and bar were very friendly as well and would definitely play again if in the Blackpool area.

Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

Knott End Golf Club is a very nicely laid out 18 hole golf course, close to Poulton Le Fylde.
It is well kept & in very good condition. It combines a links layout with a parkland style on the back 9. It is a challenging course, & has some difficult holes. Particularly, as the front 9 is by the side of the estuary the wind can bring lots of problems. It is a fairly open course, but the rough can be a problem. The greens are reasonably quick, with subtle slopes. The course has some lovely views to enjoy.
Afterwards, I went in the club house for lunch, & the food was great. The staff were extremely pleasant, & as my mobile had gone dead, they even lent me a charger whilst I ate.
The rates are reasonable in both winter & summer, & the Pro shop was very helpful & pleasant. Buggies are available along with electric or manual trolleys. There is a practice net, & a putting green. All in all a day well spent. If you're looking for somewhere different to play, you won't go far wrong.

Thank DEREKWALKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

I am sorry to say that our society was very disappointed with this course. We had to wait on the 1st tee for 45 minutes. They had obviously overbooked society's. 80% off tees was on mats and the greens was so bad that it was impossible to put. On complaining we was offered a reduce rate on our next visit. For this reason we will not be returning

2  Thank Rod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

We have been here once before. The course is good with excellent views of the river Wyre.
On this occasion we did not play due to the terrible weather. We ate in the clubhouse. The food is good and all home cooked. Pork pies are particularly good.
Definitely going to go back.

Thank WarwickshireMarakesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2016

Played this course in June

There are great view of the wyre estuary

The course come in two halves links and parkland

The standard of the course was great with a good selection of hole that can test any level of golfer

Thank bas4865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews