We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suet pudding to live for and views to die for!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shard Riverside Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Oldham
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Suet pudding to live for and views to die for!”
Reviewed 4 December 2012

This was our second visit to the Shard Riverside (November 30 to December 2, 2012) and was equal in excellence to our first time there in December 2010.

What a location, with many of the very comfortable and well-equipped rooms, including ours, affording stunning views of the River Wyre in all its glory.

If the views are to die for, then the hotel's signature dish (although this is not specified on the menu) of Beef and Ale suet pudding is surely to live for. Imagine eating a savoury candy floss - the suet literally melts in your mouth to reveal prime beef and a raft of flavours and textures. The pudding itself is the size of a football - almost - but it is one of those that you just have to get on with.

Once again, all of the hotel's staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful.

Lancashire's hidden gem that is sure to become a massive hit.

Thanks again for a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, but you won't be disappointed whichever room you stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skirlston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Hi Skirlston,

Indeed the beef & ale suet pudding is a hearty dish and does take some finishing (I've never managed a full one yet!)

Glad your recent visit was as enjoyable as your previous stay over in 2010. We look forward to seeing more of you, hopefully sometime in 2013!

Cheers
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    168
    54
    14
    6
See reviews for
127
251
21
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Staying at the Shard Riverside is a first class experience. The management and whole support team deliver excellent customer service in a quiet "not in your face" manner. The comfort, food, location and facilities are first rate. If I was not retired but doing business within 25 miles of that spot, I would use the hotel. Staying there for leisure is ideal and there is a 30 minute 'bus service into Blackpool providing connections to other surrounding towns/villages. We hope to make three trips there in 2013.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Hi mike w,

I'm delighted your previous visits to our riverside retreat were a pleasant and enjoyable experience. We had a meeting today discussing high standards and exceeding a customers expectations. Once you set the bar high you have to continually be very good at what you do in order to achieve this. I understand in the 'real world' despite best efforts this will not happen 100% of the time. But our team do try their best to ensure all guests enjoy their Shard Riverside experience. We look forward to your next visit and trust your expectations will be met, in fact better still exceed once more!

Thank you,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012 via mobile

Booked the Shard Riverside Hotel while on a visit to see Peter Kay at the opera house!

We didn't like the look of the hotels & 1000's of B&Bs in Blackpool so decided to stay just outside of Blackpool & i'm so glad we did!
It was only a short taxi into town so not worth driving in.

Great location on the riverside (as the name suggests) & very reasonably priced, in fact the same or LESS than a central Blackpool B&B!

Room was spotless & very modern & our room (luxury signature room) had a huge double shower, tv, phone, tea & coffee etc + a great view! pic attached (was a bit cloudy)

Stayed for breakfast & lunch, both delicious, served in their modern light & airy dinning area.

Booked via their website, this worked out cheaper than using an agent site like lateroom.com!

Highly recommended!.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Hi Anonymous_reviews,

One of the things I enjoy at the Shard is the ever changing landscape as you look out across the estuary and beyond. In fact cloudy days can often produce very dramatic and impressive skies. If you head over to our website I'm in the process of adding a few images which perfectly showcase just what I mean. Great tip Anonymous_reviews about booking direct, if you are comparing deals just phone and we will match it!

Thanks
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights, and all i can say is , its one of the best i've stayed at. The staff makes this hotel very welcoming and anything you need, all you have to do is ask. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Hi suzanne g,

It was a pleasure to have your custom. That's the beauty of running a family hotel and not being restrained with corporate procedures. If its possible we will always say yes to requests and help make a guest welcome and comfortable. I'll pass on your thanks to our team.

Cheers
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Found the Shard Riverside Hotel whilst looking on the internet for somewhere to stay just outside of Blackpool. It's just 7 miles from the centre of Blackpool but you're in a beautiful country location. Got a great deal on a stunning room with views over the Wyre. The staff were very welcoming on arrival, in the bar and also in the restaurant where we had a fantastic meal. It was obvious that first class ingredients were used and cooked to perfection. The following morning a delicious full English breakfast was served by the warm and friendly staff again with top quality produce. Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and I can guarantee that we will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JR-CUMBRIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Hi JACKIEANDTERRY,

Glad you enjoyed our menu choice and home-cooked breakfast. In fact we continually strive to improve what we do and recently a new chef has joined our kitchen team. And yes, we do use locally produced, fresh, seasonal ingredients to prepare our menu. We feel this does make a difference and along with improvements to our food presentation the feedback has been very positive indeed.

Thanks for your review
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We needed to stay near to Blackpool and found this hotel met with our needs. The staff were extremely helpful when I was booking by 'phone and we took 3 rooms. The views from some of the rooms were stunning. {I would recommend asking for a 'room with a view' as my mother didn't get any sort of view from her room. In fact her room was a disappointment as she also had a large extractor fan outside her window which was noisy when the kitchen was being used.}

All the rooms were clean and modern with adequate bathrooms.
the restaurant serves very good dinners too. we will definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which looks out on the estuary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howlingran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Hi Howlingran,

Glad you enjoyed our fabulous river views from our bedrooms. I'm sure you appreciate almost EVERY hotel has there least appealing room and at the Shard we are fortunate 99% of our bedrooms have outward facing rooms. On this occasion due to full occupancy your mum did have the one single room which looks into the interior of the building and near the fan (which of course does shut off once the kitchen closes).

Anyway I'm pleased your overall stay at the Shard was enjoyable and we hope to welcome you again at some future date.

Many thanks
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Following other reviewers recommendations we booked for a 2-night stay from which we have just returned. The Shard Riverside Inn lived up to it's billing here and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in a super location and our room was warm, spacious and modern with a super view onto the Wyre estuary. Alan, Steve and all the other staff we encountered are among the nicest hoteliers we've met anywhere and we were give a very warm Fylde welcome by all. The breakfasts were wonderful - great kippers and smoked haddock and perfectly cooked eggs. The bar and restaurant are also excellent with great service and food portions are very generous and deliciously local too.. Our only criticism would be some of the accompaniments seemed a bit misjudged - eg roast pork belly with mash and crusty swede mash was all a bit heavy and didn't come with any greens or a sauce/gravy. But this is a minor issue and certainly wouldn't prevent us from wholeheartedly recommending this fine hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the area - we shall be returning very soon!

Room Tip: Book in advance to make sure you get an estuary view and reserve for the restaurant Fri/Sat or you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuatm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Hi Stuart S,

Good tip about early booking our rooms to guarantee an Estuary view as they are sought after. Also nice to mention Alan & Steve and all our staff. They do read TripAdvisor and will be delighted you acknowledged their friendly and welcoming approach to customer care.

Many thanks
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poulton Le Fylde
3.5 mi away
Briardene Hotel
Briardene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thornton Cleveleys
213 reviews
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#30 of 73 in Blackpool
3,641 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
634 reviews
4.5 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
827 reviews
9.3 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shard Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shard Riverside Hotel

Property: Shard Riverside Hotel
Address: Old Bridge Lane, Poulton Le Fylde FY6 9BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Poulton Le Fylde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Poulton Le Fylde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shard Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning river views, comfortable sleeping and free wifi throughout, the Shard Riverside is the perfect choice for the modern traveller or discerning business guest. Just a stone's throw away from the M55 Motorway yet nestled in Lancashire's finest rolling countryside, the Shard offers a relaxing get-a-way from the hustle and bustle of modern life. Enjoy our riverside restaurant with fabulous views, serving local Bowland Ales and a wide choice of Lancashire dishes all prepared using the best in local produce. Just 10 min drive from the M55 Motorway and 2 miles from Poulton-le-Fylde train station, the Shard Riverside is well connected for the modern day traveler. So if you're staying for one night or more, come and see why guests regard the Shard Riverside as a jewel in the crown on the Fylde Coast. Our 23 bedrooms are clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated with most enjoying stunning, panoramic river views. All rooms have free wifi, plus internet connected TVs for your modern convenience. Rooms range from standard double en suite to luxury signature rooms with guaranteed river views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Shard Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shard Riverside
Shard Riverside Hotel Poulton Le Fylde, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing