We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shard Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shard Riverside Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Myself, my husband and our one year old daughter along with my husbands parents (in a separate room) stayed here for three nights in early August to catch up with family who were staying nearer to Blackpool. We wanted a hotel with easy access to Blackpool, Lytham and the motorway but far enough away from the hustle and bustle. We stayed in Room 16, the family room, with my husbands parents next door in Room 17, the signature double. The family room was lovely with a separate lounge area so we could sit and relax after our daughter had gone to sleep. Both rooms look out onto the river which provides a wonderful relaxing backdrop. The hotel is extremely clean and well maintained with a small group of staff who couldn't be more helpful and friendly. We had breakfast each morning which was a lovely high standard with a small table of cereals and juices complimented by a very comprehensive menu of freshly cooked hot food. We also ate in the restaurant each evening which opened at 5pm and refreshingly had a lovely children's menu of home cooked options which were of an equally high standard to the adults menu. Overall, I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel especially Room 16 (the family Room) and I am sure we will be returning soon.

Room Tip: Room 16 is perfect for families with younger children or anyone wanting a bit of extra space and stu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsA1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Hi MrsA1977,

Lovely comments in your review, so many thanks for that. I'm glad you found our family run hotel to be suitable for your family get together. Thanks for using our riverside restaurant and I'm delighted you enjoyed the service we provided, the food and of course the accommodation.

Please do try us again sometime.

Thanks
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    156
    48
    13
    6
See reviews for
121
235
20
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and attentive. The hotel itself is in a lovely setting and the rooms are finished to a lovely standard. Enjoyed a nice lunch overlooking the river before heading out for the evening. We'll be back to stay again!

Room Tip: Paying for the upgraded rooms is worth the money for the views over the river rather than the car pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Hi Lorna P,

Thanks for choosing Shard Riverside and enjoying our lovely restaurant and accommodation. Also,thanks for pointing out the great service you received. We do try hard in this area, and we do get this right the majority of the time, but it's very nice to be acknowledged. Next time you visit from Nottingham do look us up.

Best
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in this very clean, comfortable & friendly hotel. It's in a lovely spot right by the river with great views. The food is excellent & the staff very helpful. I'd definitely be more than happy to stay again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Hi Jude J,

Your review concisely summed up all that's great about our family run riverside hotel. So a big thanks for staying and a bigger thanks for taking time to leave your comments on TripAdvisor.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

I travel regularly on business and I have to say that Shard Riverside has been one of the nicest places I have stayed. Everything from the courtesy call I received upon making my booking - right through - was excellent. The hotel itself, the room and the food are all of exceptional quality and very good value for money and the staff and service are fantastic! Coupled with a beautiful location on the river - I cannot recommend this place highly enough. I will be returning both on business but also with my husband for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy2771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Hi Sammy2771,

On business or pleasure, you're most welcome at the Shard Riverside anytime. Thanks for noticing the little details which we try to deliver, which goes a long way in making every customers Shard experience an enjoyable one. Our hard working team and our stunning location certainly do compliment each other.

Best
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Dont hesitate book this hotel. We stay for one night with breakfast included and couldn't fault it at all. It was such a relief as we had stayed the evening before at The Herons Reach Village Blackpool and it was awful. We stayed in a family room at the shard and it was bliss. So much room and we could leave the window open as it was a hot evening. Only slight hitch, as we checked in later as we were visiting family, was finding a place to park. We would book The Shard again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Hi Chelsey C,

Thanks for your glowing endorsement, it's great to hear you're Shard Riverside experience was so enjoyable. It makes the hard work all our team puts in so worthwhile. Please do come again soon.

Thanks
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

WOW!!! What an idyllic location. We have just arrived home from visiting family and decided to stay at this hotel for a long weekend. we were not disappointed, from the moment we arrived to when we left all the members of staff couldn't do enough for us. Our 9 year old daughter mentioned how clean everything was on arrival, and I have to say, with high cleanliness standards this hotel is immaculate throughout. The rooms are comfortable and the beds do not fail to give you a lovely nights sleep, just ready for the breakfast menu, which has everything on it from a continental breakfast to smoked kippers, all mouth wateringly tasty! Last but by no means least is the location, set on the banks of the river, we totally relaxed, watching the wildlife, ever changing river and beauty of the overall breathtaking view, whilst breathing in all that fresh air! We will definately be back very very soon :)))))))

Room Tip: Just phone direct and there friendly staff will advise you, we did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Hi Marie O,

Glad your family had such a lovely time at the Shard. It really is lovely here by the River Wyre, and I see your children enjoyed the pretty and the ever changing views. This, plus your lovely comments makes working at the Shard a real pleasure! I'll be sure to thank the team on your behalf.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

This hotel is in a lovely setting overlooking the river. We were on the top floor and up 3 flights of stairs no lift ok if you are fit, but not if you had motability problems. The room was fine. TV tea and coffee facilities were provided. As we're a party of 6 when went in for breakfast they put tables together for us.

Room Tip: If possible take your own pillow then you will at least have a good night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanashby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher H, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Hi jeanashby,

Thanks for your review, we are a friendly team and do try to help guest upstairs where required. All you need to do is ask. Alternatively, if we have availability, we can always move guests to the first floor, where no stairs are needed to access the rooms (via the rear of the carpark).

Many thanks
Chris when
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poulton Le Fylde
3.5 mi away
Briardene Hotel
Briardene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thornton Cleveleys
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Blackpool (Bispham) Hotel
4.9 mi away
North Euston Hotel
North Euston Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fleetwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,728 reviews
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#30 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,072 reviews
5.0 mi away
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
#2 of 3 in Fleetwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shard Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shard Riverside Hotel

Property: Shard Riverside Hotel
Address: Old Bridge Lane, Poulton Le Fylde FY6 9BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Poulton Le Fylde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Poulton Le Fylde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shard Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning river views, comfortable sleeping and free wifi throughout, the Shard Riverside is the perfect choice for the modern traveller or discerning business guest. Just a stone's throw away from the M55 Motorway yet nestled in Lancashire's finest rolling countryside, the Shard offers a relaxing get-a-way from the hustle and bustle of modern life. Enjoy our riverside restaurant with fabulous views, serving local Bowland Ales and a wide choice of Lancashire dishes all prepared using the best in local produce. Just 10 min drive from the M55 Motorway and 2 miles from Poulton-le-Fylde train station, the Shard Riverside is well connected for the modern day traveler. So if you're staying for one night or more, come and see why guests regard the Shard Riverside as a jewel in the crown on the Fylde Coast. Our 23 bedrooms are clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated with most enjoying stunning, panoramic river views. All rooms have free wifi, plus internet connected TVs for your modern convenience. Rooms range from standard double en suite to luxury signature rooms with guaranteed river views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Shard Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shard Riverside
Shard Riverside Hotel Poulton Le Fylde, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing