We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shard Riverside Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Tracy an absolute star in the restaurant, friendly, couldn't do enough at our meal. Just reminded me of my mom !!!! Excellent. Didn't know this hotel, glad we did and would come again anytime. Lucky enough to have dined in the top restaurants in the UK but the steak I had was up there with the best, if not thee best.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAABLUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

A rewarding review and great accolade for our team of chefs, thank you. The team work extremely hard to maintain such high service and quality standards. Tracy does a fantastic job looking after all our guests and is a 'mom' to all. Your comments have been passed on to Tracy and she deserves your recognition. Thanks again and we look forward to your return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

This was our first pitstop on our way to Scotland, and we could not have picked a better place to stay. Our room was comfortable and dinner and breakfast were lovely. We were blessed with lots of sunshine, but I think we would have been just as happy if it had rained. Would stay here again.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Latebooker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We were pleased to welcome you for your pitstop on the way up north! Sunshine at this time of year and a great location in which to enjoy it. Does it get any better?!
So pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that your onward journey was a pleasant experience also. You will be welcomed back in the future come rain or more shine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Located along the river Wyre on an estuary. The views from the restaurant were beautiful. Checking was fairly ok, except for a slightly abrupt reception staff initially, but he quickly became very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, with all basic amenities, including free wifi.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Olaivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. The views here are stunning and commented on endlessly, we hope you return to enjoy them again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We attended a wedding in a nearby hotel and booked one night bed and breakfast at the Shard. The welcome we received on arrival was so warm and friendly we felt at home immediately. The room was spotless and warm. Breakfast was excellent and all the staff so helpful. Allen, the manager, the owner and all the staff were lovely and we would definitely stay there again.

Mr & Mrs Jones
Huyton
Liverpool

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

It was my pleasure to welcome you to the Shard and the our staffs pleasure to look after you during your short stay. Hope all went well through the wedding and hope you return for a longer stay in the future. Thanks to all. (especially the blue half!!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stopped one night at this excellent hotel, staff very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, room very clean and nicely decorated, shower excellent. Full English breakfast next morning served with a smile and was delicious Definitely be going back

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fl0ella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the 'Shard'.
You obviously received the high standard of attention and service that we aspire to and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed one night, had an evening meal, the menu was varied, the food and service were excellent, the same can be said of the breakfast the following morning, a very friendly and
relaxed atmosphere as we sat around after breakfast, everyone was helpful and attentive even though they were preparing for a wedding party a few hours later! The bedroom was clean, good quality furnishings and a nice view of the river.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spireite2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

So pleased that your visit was an enjoyable experience and our food and service was of the high standards that we aim for.
We have many wedding guests stay here from surrounding wedding venues and ensure a great welcome is awaiting them and that our existing guests are given continued attention throughout their stay.
Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I was on my first business trip to Fleetwood and I saw The Shard and decided to stay in local accomodation rather than the usual IHG group of hotels (of which I am a Elite Platimum points holder 107,000 points) so I am a regular hotel traveller.

What a gem of a place, I stayed on 17th October in room 23, first impressions were that the hotel was clean, and a relaxing view as well, if not slightly bracing, at check in, there was no requirement to swipe your debit/credit card just collect your key and go to your room. I was in room 23 and on initial inspection, you could say the room was very clinical and sparse, but I quite liked this, there was a Sony TV (all the channels worked, and a good picture) tea making facilities, a chair, very comfortable bed, wardrobe, and it was quite nice not to have "art/decorations" on the wall that the previous hotels deem tasteful, which in fact aren''t.

So clinical yes, but refreshing. The bathroom had a great powerful shower and it was clean beyond clean, even the sealant around the shower was white, not any sign of mould or damage, bigger chain run hotels could lear a trick or two from The Shard.

So down to the bar, very clean, relaxed, the TV is tucked away for those who need their fill of football, you could enjoy a TV free drink, no slips to sign, staff very friendly and polite, then off to dinner and I can only say the food was phenominal, the best food ever in any hotel restuarant, to start local mushrooms, then Beef and Ale suet pudding with pickled vegtables??? not sure about the vegtables, but they were delicious, fittingly stuffed I retired for a drink then off to bed, this is the only negative, they could do with a lift after a hearty dinner.

Breakfast in the morning was cooked fresh and not left on hot plates, I had two poached eggs, two nice thick rashers of bacon, mushrooms and tomatoes, it was delicious. There was also a continental selection.

For a privately owned hotel, I was blown away, thank you for a great stay, I will certainly be up again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul.ebsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Having all our standards being recognised so thoroughly by a regular traveller is extremely rewarding for us all here at the Shard.
Your words will be read by many and I am sure will encourage many to come and share your experience of all the food, drink and service standards that you have so kindly reviewed and commented on.
Our sincere thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back on many more occasions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poulton Le Fylde
2.7 mi away
The Seven Stars Hotel
The Seven Stars Hotel
#2 of 2 in Poulton Le Fylde
36 reviews
10.1 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
674 reviews
3.5 mi away
Briardene Hotel
Briardene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thornton Cleveleys
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#32 of 73 in Blackpool
4,018 reviews
4.9 mi away
North Euston Hotel
North Euston Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fleetwood
567 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shard Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shard Riverside Hotel

Address: Old Bridge Lane, Poulton Le Fylde FY6 9BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Wyre District > Poulton Le Fylde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Poulton Le Fylde
Price Range: £67 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shard Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning river views, comfortable sleeping and free wifi throughout, the Shard Riverside is the perfect choice for the modern traveller or discerning business guest. Just a stone's throw away from the M55 Motorway yet nestled in Lancashire's finest rolling countryside, the Shard offers a relaxing get-a-way from the hustle and bustle of modern life. Enjoy our riverside restaurant with fabulous views, serving local Bowland Ales and a wide choice of Lancashire dishes all prepared using the best in local produce. Just 10 min drive from the M55 Motorway and 2 miles from Poulton-le-Fylde train station, the Shard Riverside is well connected for the modern day traveler. So if you're staying for one night or more, come and see why guests regard the Shard Riverside as a jewel in the crown on the Fylde Coast. Our 23 bedrooms are clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated with most enjoying stunning, panoramic river views. All rooms have free wifi, plus internet connected TVs for your modern convenience. Rooms range from standard double en suite to luxury signature rooms with guaranteed river views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Shard Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shard Riverside
Shard Riverside Hotel Poulton Le Fylde, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing