We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What great food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shard Riverside Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What great food!”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

What a menu with a beautiful view. Lovely for anyone who enjoys seafood and fresh fish. A really lovely menu and such nice staff. Wish every hotel would serve food as great and imaginative as this. A breath of fresh air

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dokeytreato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
It was great to welcome all your group to our hotel and we hope your visit to this area was a great success.
We certainly have a stunning view for our guests to experience and high accommodation standards to match.
Thank you for reviewing our food quality. Our team of chefs take great pride in delivering quality from freshly prepared and locally sourced produce.
Your enthusiastic comments about our hotel and in particularly our food were passed on to all concerned after I had the pleasure of meeting and speaking to you all prior to your departure.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    162
    49
    15
    6
See reviews for
122
243
21
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We've stayed at the shard a number of times over the past few years. Friendly and helpful staff who cover both the bar and reception area. Breakfast is second to none....you have to try the smoked haddock and poached eggs! Yumm! Views to the river are stunning and the Rooms are modern, clean and lood good albeit not huge and the beds aren't massive. Definately a strongly recommended place to stay if you are in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandSTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
It is always a pleasure to be able to welcome our guests back on repeat visits. Thanks for your kind review. Stunning views and great rooms await all who stay here in our 'double' en-suite rooms.
Our breakfasts are certainly popular here and I am sure your recommend of the haddock will encourage guests to widen their choice!
Our 'multi-tasking' team look forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This past week I had the occasion to visit the Shard Riverside hotel from Ireland for a very important family event. We were treated royally, with beautiful food, first class service and a terrific pint of Guinness at the bar. Thank you so much for your thoughtfulness and caring.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2GetAway65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your review of our food and service.

Myself, Tracey and the team simply offered our services to you and your family at such a sad time, and it was our pleasure and honour to do so.
Out thoughts were with you on the day and we will have fond memories of past times here at the Shard.
A Guinness will always be waiting should you visit us again from the Emerald Isle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Fabulous Hotel, we only used the B&B facility as we were over for a family wedding. We had asked for an early check-in (to get ready for the said occasion) and whilst our room wasnt quite ready upon arrival we were served complimentary Tea & Coffee whilst we waited, and as soon as it was ready we went up. (still early)

I had an unexpected hole in my Wedding Outfit, panic!! the Housekeeping staff were brilliant coming to my aid with a sewing Box.

Breakfast was delightful, I chose poached Haddock & Eggs, plenty of toast tea, just lovely.

We would definately go back and stay to explore the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSCheshirelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
We welcome many guests for family weddings in the local area and although time may restrict arrivals, we always do our utmost to accommodate our guests and ensure the best start possible to your stay.
So pleased that you enjoyed your stay (and that I wasn't required to do the sewing!) and hope that you are able to return with the intent to stay and explore this area.
Many guests have stayed to explore the surrounding area and towns, with the Shard as a perfect location to act as 'Base'.
Always a great place to return and enjoy our freshly cooked food and well stocked bar.
Thanks for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Needed somewhere close to Cleveleys for a family celebration and didn't want Blackpool - found Shard Riverside on Tripadvisor and was very pleased with it. Booked late but still got a lovely room with a river view. Maybe one of the smaller ones given some reviews state very spacious but it was superb all the same - well thought out with an easy chair in the window overlooking the view. Lovely warm bedroom, (was very cold outside) bathroom with efficient hot towel rail and super power shower. had lunch there on checking in which was lovely. Clean, modern, free wifi, drinks tray. Helpful staff, great breakfast. Would go back when in the area again.

Room Tip: The river view was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karens_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
And you will be made most welcome again on your return.
Many of our guests seek the perfect spot away from the hustle and bustle of the seaside town. We fit the profile and welcome many guests like yourself. Thank you, on behalf of the team here, for taking the time to praise our hotel and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Arrived at The Shard on a drab January afternoon. We received a warm welcome and went to our double room. What a lovely room it was. Well decorated spotlessly clean and a great view of the river. A refreshment tray was provided and filled up every day. We decided to eat in the hotel the first night with some friends who also stayed in the hotel and some family who lived local. Again what a fabulous meal. All fresh produce well cooked and really well presented. Excellent value for money. After that our expectations from breakfast had risen considerably and we were not disappointed. Again great choice and all cooked freshly to order. Full English was a good choice as was the haddock and eggs.
We stayed for 2 nights and can't wait to go back might even try The Mill by Glasson which is also owned by the same proprietor. Surely it can't be better ?????

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Warm welcome, well equipped room, freshly cooked food and stunning views over the river. Oh...and the beers and wines add to the package!
Sounds like you got to experience everything that we offer here at the Shard. Thank you and we look forward to your future visits.
Our sister hotel at Conder Green aspires to match our standards ;) give it a try and I am sure Liz and her team will make you most welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Service/ food/ accommodation is fantastic.
Will definitely stay here again.
Superb value.
Over looking the river Wyre the views are great.
Rooms are very spacious and modern.
Free wifi to the same standard you have at home.

I'd recommend this destination and venue to anyone.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
A hotel that ticks all the boxes!!
Thank you for your review and the 'recommend' to all travellers, we look forward to welcoming you back and the many travellers that I am sure your review will attract.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poulton Le Fylde
3.5 mi away
Briardene Hotel
Briardene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thornton Cleveleys
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
4.9 mi away
North Euston Hotel
North Euston Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fleetwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Blackpool (Bispham) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,856 reviews
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#30 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,313 reviews
5.0 mi away
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
#2 of 3 in Fleetwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shard Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shard Riverside Hotel

Property: Shard Riverside Hotel
Address: Old Bridge Lane, Poulton Le Fylde FY6 9BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Poulton Le Fylde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Poulton Le Fylde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shard Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning river views, comfortable sleeping and free wifi throughout, the Shard Riverside is the perfect choice for the modern traveller or discerning business guest. Just a stone's throw away from the M55 Motorway yet nestled in Lancashire's finest rolling countryside, the Shard offers a relaxing get-a-way from the hustle and bustle of modern life. Enjoy our riverside restaurant with fabulous views, serving local Bowland Ales and a wide choice of Lancashire dishes all prepared using the best in local produce. Just 10 min drive from the M55 Motorway and 2 miles from Poulton-le-Fylde train station, the Shard Riverside is well connected for the modern day traveler. So if you're staying for one night or more, come and see why guests regard the Shard Riverside as a jewel in the crown on the Fylde Coast. Our 23 bedrooms are clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated with most enjoying stunning, panoramic river views. All rooms have free wifi, plus internet connected TVs for your modern convenience. Rooms range from standard double en suite to luxury signature rooms with guaranteed river views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Shard Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shard Riverside
Shard Riverside Hotel Poulton Le Fylde, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing