We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River View with Style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shard Riverside Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Tyne & Wear
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“River View with Style”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

In a beautiful setting on the river bank, beautifully clean and tidy, friendly chatty staff, nice room if a little plain. Food was good, dinner and breakfast were well presented in a very nice dining room. Will use this again when visiting Fleetwood.

Room Tip: River view rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamj829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you. A delightful description of our hotel and service and we look forward to your revisiting us here at the Shard Riverside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    168
    55
    14
    6
See reviews for
128
251
21
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Heywood, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just back from a two nights stay at the Shard celebrating my partner's 65th birthday and cannot praise it enough. We stayed in room number 6 and it was lovely, especially the views over the river which were stunning. The breakfast both mornings was very good and plentiful,just a pity I don't have a big appetite and couldn't do it justice!
We had the evening meal on my partners birthday and that too was excellent. Just like to give a big thank you to the member of staff in the restaurant who went to the trouble of buying my partner's birthday cake for me as a surprise for him. Much appreciated.

Room Tip: Room number 6 is a corner room and has a double aspect so views from both sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattacake_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
It was our pleasure to welcome you and help you celebrate the 65th. Your thanks will be passed on to my Restaurant manager.
It is pleasing to note that you experienced and enjoyed our food here at the Shard, our chefs do a great job and their food is of high quality and all freshly prepared and served.
Room 6 has to be one of my favourites with the views over and down the river and I am pleased that this added to your great stay and celebrations here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, Kent
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Returned to one of my favourite hotels as work took me back to the North West for the first time in 6 months.
Greeted warmly, rooms still comfortable and warm. The free wifi is excellent and the food really is fantastic

This place is a well-run, friendly establishment with excellent customer service, great food and in a picturesque setting - couldn't ask for more.

Hope to return soon

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattizzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
As I have no doubt said before.....it is extremely rewarding for us all to hear that our guests return on many occasions and comment on our maintaining of the high standards they had previously experienced.
This amazing location awaits your next visit. Thank you for another complimentary review of our hotel services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Badby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to the Shard Riverside. We arrived on a Friday night after battling with the M6, and were immediately welcomed and made to feel relaxed and comfortable.

My son, a cadet officer at Fleetwood nautical college, joined us for dinner - the menu is varied and imaginative and boasts local produce and home produced artisan bread. Dinner worked out at about £25 per head - 2 courses including wine and drinks. Really good!

Accommodation is good value. We stayed in room 18 (signature room?) which is on the top floor and overlooks the river. The accommodation is clean with simple but stylish fittings, and has good storage space, flat screen tv and tea and coffee making facilities. No herbal teas though! The flooring is wood, so we did wonder if our neighbours below could hear us walking about?

The bed was comfy- no complaints although it was a small double bed for 2 tall people, built into a wood base. One night was ok, but no more. The room is certainly big enough for a king size bed.

The ensuite shower room is small but there is a good sized shower cubicle, and there were 2 quality cotton, bath towels and 2 hand towels which were still fluffy and not tired. My only criticism was that there is no suitable shelving for a wash bag, (small glass shelf) but we pointed this out to the manager who was very happy to take on board our comments.

Breakfast was ok. There was no fresh fruit even though this is on the menu. However, the waitress was happy to seek out a banana for me. We asked for some of the artisan bread to be toasted which was good. Poached eggs for me were excellent and my husband had a full English breakfast. There was a choice of orange and apple juices, and they were disappointing - cartoned juice. I had to ask for a glass of water and suggest that a jug of water should be available on the buffet. Cereals were small variety packs, but there was no muesli other than very sweet Alpen. A small bowl of granola was available to sprinkle over yoghurt? But not enough for one person's cereal. I guess I could have asked for more and I am sure the staff would have obliged.

This hotel makes no pretensions to luxury, however, the staff and their excellent attitude to guests makes the Shard Riverside stand out as 5 star. Nothing is too much trouble and you really get the feeling that most of the staff enjoy working there. We recognised a couple from our previous visit, and Roz, who took my booking surprisingly remembered me.

We will definitely stay at the Shard's newish sister hotel in Lancaster as we frequently travel up to Scotland, so a good stopping off point.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Brigit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
A comprehensive review of your time here and thank you for taking the time to compliment our '5star' services.
Your comments will be taken on board as we continually seek areas to improve/enhance our guest experience.
The team here will always respond to guest requests and ensure they have everything required or more!
thanks again
I am sure our sister hotel will welcome you and provide the standards we both aspire to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Ignore the petty criticism !! Nice location , free wifi , tastefully decorated modern furnished room with nice view and sony internet tv, good shower.
The bar and restaurant is smart with a view overlooking the river.
I would definately stay at the Shard again it's a well run establishment and good value for money thank you for nice stay!

2 adults 2 children aged 5 and 9

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathonCox2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Hi there! It was a pleasure to welcome your family to our hotel and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and will return to visit us again in the future.
On behalf of all the team who had the pleasure of looking after you....thank you for your comments.
I can assure you that your 'petty criticism' reference brought a smile to my face!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Had a one night stay here with my young family. We didn't use the restaurant for evening meal as we were at a family party in the evening but the menu looked very good and there were plenty of locals in which is always a good sign.
Room was clean with good t.v well decorated and a nice view over the water.
Shower was decent and spacious water plenty warm enough.
Breakfast was very good plenty of cereals and toast to go with whatever you wanted from the chef. Sausage was of a good standard.
I wasn't feeling that well during our stay so was pleased that it was so comfortable.
The only negative I could find was that there was no lift and we were on third floor so lots of carrying up the stairs (my wife takes loads of stuff and we have a baby).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Addison84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel and we are pleased that you and your young family enjoyed a comfortable stay here. Our breakfast are lauded by many guests and I'm sure helped with the energy required for your luggage carrying!! Unfortunately we have no lift to assist and I can sympathise with your comments having assisted with many guests luggage during long haul stays!
We hope you return and get to enjoy our fantastic menu and restaurant service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

26 of us booked for a Birthday meal here. Most of the food was ok, steak was definately overpriced. The service was average. Not enough bar staff on the bar. Asked the young girl waiteress for a drink which never turned up. Brought out the starters in dribs and drabs by the time the end of the table got their starter they were coming out with the mains at the beginning of the table then we had to wait 10 minutes plus for our mains after the beginning of the table. The last meal out was about 5 minutes later and looked poor, i.e not cooked enough, it was as though they were rushing. On the plus side they did let us bring and eat our own birthday cake. Would go again to see if they improved.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookiedra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thanks for your review and apologies that you seem to have not experienced the best visit and one that reflects our normal and continually applauded service standards.
Dealing with parties of this size can throw up or highlight issues. Normal practice would include a pre-order being obtained for such numbers. On this occasion, no pre-order being in place, it was decided to break down the orders into smaller groups and process the orders accordingly. This decision was confirmed and accepted by the head of your group on arrival.
Issues that you express with regard service and food standards however leave me somewhat puzzled!
So many members of your party, and in particularly the 'birthday girl', expressed their delight and thanks to my restaurant manager and staff for such a wonderful time and great food and service.
That aside we look forward to your return as you mentioned and hope we improve your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poulton Le Fylde
3.5 mi away
Briardene Hotel
Briardene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thornton Cleveleys
213 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,038 reviews
10.1 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#31 of 73 in Blackpool
3,664 reviews
4.5 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
830 reviews
9.3 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shard Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shard Riverside Hotel

Property: Shard Riverside Hotel
Address: Old Bridge Lane, Poulton Le Fylde FY6 9BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Poulton Le Fylde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Poulton Le Fylde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shard Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning river views, comfortable sleeping and free wifi throughout, the Shard Riverside is the perfect choice for the modern traveller or discerning business guest. Just a stone's throw away from the M55 Motorway yet nestled in Lancashire's finest rolling countryside, the Shard offers a relaxing get-a-way from the hustle and bustle of modern life. Enjoy our riverside restaurant with fabulous views, serving local Bowland Ales and a wide choice of Lancashire dishes all prepared using the best in local produce. Just 10 min drive from the M55 Motorway and 2 miles from Poulton-le-Fylde train station, the Shard Riverside is well connected for the modern day traveler. So if you're staying for one night or more, come and see why guests regard the Shard Riverside as a jewel in the crown on the Fylde Coast. Our 23 bedrooms are clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated with most enjoying stunning, panoramic river views. All rooms have free wifi, plus internet connected TVs for your modern convenience. Rooms range from standard double en suite to luxury signature rooms with guaranteed river views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Shard Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shard Riverside
Shard Riverside Hotel Poulton Le Fylde, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing