We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good w/end stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shard Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shard Riverside Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
kent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“very good w/end stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

arrived at 10.30 Saturday morning,was made 2 very nice coffees whilst they made room ready.
excellent room nice walk in shower all very clean as is the rest of the hotel,had an evening meal
in the restaurant again this was very good as was the service. Had full breakfast each morning
it was very good there was also plenty of cereals, juices yogurts.
The staff here are very welcoming and work hard,would recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: 15 is a nice double large room with walk in shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
The staff here do work extremely hard and it is rewarding when guests recognise that...I thank you on their behalf. Our check in time is 130pm but we will always attempt to receive guests early and ensure their 'welcome' begins on arrival. Having a coffee while waiting is certainly not an inconvenience in such a lovely setting. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    156
    48
    13
    6
See reviews for
121
235
20
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed here for a night over the Easter weekend wit my partner. We usually stay at The Mill at Conder Green which is the sister hotel of The Shard but we got a last minute really good deal as someone had cancelled and The Mill was full. We always said we would try it anyway as we love The Mill so much.
What a beautul setting!!. When we arrived we experienced the same instant feeling of calm and relaxation wash over us as we get in Conder Green knowing that we would be able to unwind and enjoy good food in a peaceful setting
The room was compact but as I said we got a cancellation and it was a great price. I would normally pay extra and have a large one but that said would happily pay going rate for the one we had as it had a marvellous view and was spotless!!
We had dinner and the food was excellent. The restaurant was really busy so we did wait a while but I find both of these points reassuring. Its busy because the food is good and you wait for freshly cooked local fare that is beautifully presented. If you want fast food go to MacDonald's!!
We enjoyed a few glasses of wine by the river and headed off for a comfortable nights sleep.
Breakfast was superb, again local produce, all beautifully cooked.
All in all I cannot fault this hotel and as I said to the owner of both The Shard and the Mill when we chatted on departure we would and WILL happily stay in both hotels again.
I would urge anyone wanting to relax and unwind in lovely surroundings with great food and friendly attentive service to stay at either. Both are hidden gems and we love them!!!!
Thank you to all staff the The Shard for making our stay so enjoyable!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Your thanks are gratefully received and we, in turn, thank you for your extremely kind words and review of our hotel and the standards we offer all our guests here and at our 'sister' hotel, The Mill.
A thorough and detailed review that I am sure will be a great benefit to people searching Trip Advisor for direction in finding a suitable, and high quality hotel in this area.
You will be made most welcome on your return to either hotel and we look forward to those times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my fiance stayed here on 10th May in one of the luxury signature rooms and ended up eating lunch and dinner in the restaurant too! Everything was lovely beautifully decorated rooms and restaurant, polite and friendly staff and delicious food presented really well! I also think for the quality of food that is being served here its really reasonably priced this was clearly not just our opinion as on the Saturday night we stayed the whole restaurant was full at dinner! I would particularly like to mention the guy on reception who checked us in he was very welcoming throughout our stay and made sure we were well looked after! We will definitely be back again! Thanks for a wonderful weekend!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sammywammySammywammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thanks for a lovely review. From reception and through all aspects of our hotel up to your departure we aim to provide service excellence, great food and a great environment for our guests to enjoy. It is pleasing to see that we ticked all the boxes for you both. Your comments are much appreciated and will be shared with the staff who looked after you duringy our stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Packington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here and was extremely disappointed with the room @ £90.00 we expected a little more than would be offered at a travel lodge, the toiletries were of a sub standard the toilet roll was so poor quality it was like tracing paper. The bed was a poor size, a standard double with basic bedding a shame as the room was big enough for a king bed which would have certainly helped the impression when entering the room.
The chap in the bar was completely stressed, worrying about cleaning the coffee machine rather than serving the customer, I felt his service was very poor, Breakfast was good, would not recommend or stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
As I have stated on a very few occasions previously....we cannot please every guest.
Our hotel and its standards have been recognised many times and our price reflects our 4star rating and is monitored to remain compatible to our surrounding area and competitors.
The toilet paper is an expensive bio-degradable product as required..... I do agree that it may not have Andrex's softness!
All our rooms have double beds as stated in our hotel's descriptions on all websites.
As for my service on the bar, well I am saddened by your judgement. My customers always come first and cleaning is continual and maintained to provide the high standards that reflects our hotel and is always admired by our guests.
I respect your views and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Ignore any poor review of this hotel as some people are just morons. THIS HOTEL IS BRILLIANT

Myself and my partner stayed here on the 3rd of May. We arrived 3 hours before check in time and the staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. Our room was ready in 10 minutes, (we had expected to have to wait till check in time). The room was very nice, clean and with all the amenities you would expect. We had a nice view of the river as well. We ate lunch and dinner at the hotel and the food was fantastic. Huge recommendation for even just a meal, this is proper Northern food!! Big portions and extremely high quality.

The hotel is in a beautiful location and perfect to get away from it all and just have a lovely relaxing time. Highly recommend this hotel and we will be returning time and time again.

Thanks Shard for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Kind words indeed.......and your intro brought an understanding smile!!
I am sure your review will be reflected by many who have stayed here and will influence many more to stay in the future. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Thanks again for acknowledging the Shards standards :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Shard Riverside for one night in May 2014, would have loved to stay for longer. We had room 18 on the second floor overlooking the river. Spotlessly clean, great décor, complimentary tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits .
The bed was slightly on the small side but very comfortable nonetheless.
As previously mentioned, there is no lift but this was not a problem for us. After an efficient check in , we were offered help with our bags up the stairs.
We reserved a table in the restaurant for the evening and enjoyed a drink in the bar overlooking the river before our meal. The bar area is comfortable with "local" beers available.
There were two menus-one regular and one Chef's specials. We both chose from the regular menu. We both had black pudding, asparagus and quails eggs to start which was amazing. For main course I had Lancashire hotpot and hubby had suet pudding-again delicious. To finish the meal I had a crème brulee and hubby had a selection of local cheeses with biscuits. All of this plus a bottle of red wine was £68 which we thought was great value for money.
Breakfast was also amazing quality and served freshly cooked.
All the public areas were spotlessly clean and all staff were friendly and welcoming.
Would have no hesitation in recommending the Shard Riverside and can't wait to stay here again.
We paid £85 for a superior double room including breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 18 is on the second floor but has lovely views over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tangerteeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
If Carlsberg did reviews............
I almost checked myself in! Thank you so much for highlighting everything that we stand for in customer service and quality food here at the Shard Riverside. We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We were attending a wedding so asked could we have a room for 12.00, they promised to do their best. Indeed they went out of their way and we had our room before 11.30. All the staff were helpful and friendly. The room was immaculate with everything you could want. The shower was fantastic. I am running out of superlatives but the breakfast was as good as they come. A great selection so we had smoked haddock and eggs, but there was plenty of alternatives including a vegetarian breakfast.
To try and think of the faults, well it is an old building, so the rooms are a little on the small side and there is no lift.
If you can afford it this is a great place to stay. Well done to the Shard staff.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MicandTez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
I am simply going to allow your 'superlatives' to do the talking and just thank you for your 'immaculate' review.
Your 'well done' is gratefully accepted and just reward for the 'team' here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poulton Le Fylde
3.5 mi away
Briardene Hotel
Briardene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thornton Cleveleys
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Blackpool (Bispham) Hotel
4.9 mi away
North Euston Hotel
North Euston Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fleetwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,731 reviews
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#30 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
5.0 mi away
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
#2 of 3 in Fleetwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shard Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shard Riverside Hotel

Property: Shard Riverside Hotel
Address: Old Bridge Lane, Poulton Le Fylde FY6 9BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Poulton Le Fylde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Poulton Le Fylde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shard Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning river views, comfortable sleeping and free wifi throughout, the Shard Riverside is the perfect choice for the modern traveller or discerning business guest. Just a stone's throw away from the M55 Motorway yet nestled in Lancashire's finest rolling countryside, the Shard offers a relaxing get-a-way from the hustle and bustle of modern life. Enjoy our riverside restaurant with fabulous views, serving local Bowland Ales and a wide choice of Lancashire dishes all prepared using the best in local produce. Just 10 min drive from the M55 Motorway and 2 miles from Poulton-le-Fylde train station, the Shard Riverside is well connected for the modern day traveler. So if you're staying for one night or more, come and see why guests regard the Shard Riverside as a jewel in the crown on the Fylde Coast. Our 23 bedrooms are clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated with most enjoying stunning, panoramic river views. All rooms have free wifi, plus internet connected TVs for your modern convenience. Rooms range from standard double en suite to luxury signature rooms with guaranteed river views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Shard Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shard Riverside
Shard Riverside Hotel Poulton Le Fylde, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing