We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shard Riverside Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at the Hotel two years ago, at that time we stayed in a room on the second floor, which was modern, clean and tidy, but had wooden floors which made us feel guilty wondering if the occupants below could here us. This time, staying on the first floor we instantly noticed the room had carpet, again the room was clean, tidy and perfectly adequate for our needs. However, the floor boards to shower room was squeeky which was annoying when getting up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom. The other dislike was our room No 2, was overlooking the car park, no problem in it's self but the window was at eye level to the car park which meant ever time we needed to get dressed or undressed we had to drop the blind and put the light on. The bed was not to my liking as I suffer with my back, but to be far to the hotel I have yet to find a bed that suits me, other than my own Hypnos Bed. Although, there appears to be a few negatives about this hotel, Value for money could not be challenged, the food at Dinner and Breakfast was fabulous, Staff great, location suited us perfectly and overhaul would have no hesitation in staying again or recommended this hotel. Well Done

Room Tip: Make a list or your requirement first and then contact the Hotel direct, I am sure this hotel will f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
The negatives are simply preferences and opinions and we are delighted that our services and food were of a high standard for you to enjoy and we appreciate your review and comments.
We look forward to your next stay with us and, as you stated, we always look to consider our guests requirements for their stay and to match them where possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    162
    49
    14
    6
See reviews for
121
243
21
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here in May 2014 for 2 nights with our 3 year old to attend a family wedding across the River Wyre. This Hotel lived up to all it's expectations, great peaceful location, clean and friendly staff. Breakfast was fab and hot, great views from the breakfast room, very accommodating with a fussy toddler. Only disadvantage this hotel doesn't have a lift, but only has two floors and must bring your own flannels as these are not provided, so not all bad. Our room (Luxury/Deluxe Room) Double bed and fold out sofa bed suitable for
3 -4 persons and on a clear day can see the Blackpool Tower in the distance. Paul and Alan and the rest of the staff, thanks for a great couple of nights and if The Shard Riverside is this great, then your sister hotel The Mill on Condor Green has got to be just as good if not better.

Room Tip: Luxury/Deluxe Room suitable for 2 adults and 1 or 2 children, consisting of one double bed and a fol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cocktail28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Great review and we thank you for taking the time to offer your experience to future guests. We do pride ourselves here on all the standards required by our guests and we seem to have achieved our high levels. As for our sister hotel.............we will accept that beat us on the 'lift' availability but will fight our corner on the rest!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Wow - what a find. This is a lovely hotel in a beautiful setting. We have family not far away in Thornton, so it was a very convenient place to stay. The room was clean, comfortable and well serviced. Parking is free and the breakfasts are fabulous. OK, so if everyone goes down to breakfast at the same time you might have to wait a little BUT I would rather wait for a freshly cooked breakfast than queue up at a 'hot' buffet where everything has become congealed and unappetizing. We also had all the family over to the hotel one evening for dinner, which was also fabulous. I cannot speak too highly of Paul, Alan and their staff and we will certainly hope to be able to book again the next time we are visiting our family.

Room Tip: I think any of the rooms would be acceptable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
...and you return will be most welcome. So pleased that your stay was 'perfect' in all respects for your family visit. Thank you for your very complimentary review of the standards here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The Shard has an impressive setting. The restaurant has lovely views of the bridge over the Wyre as the sun goes down and its easy to forget one is near the bustle of Blackpool. It has an interesting, extensive menu and the staff were all very pleasant. The room was very clean and smart but seemed a bit sterile to us with its rugless wooden floor and white paint. However, we were disappointed to find that the deluxe room we booked only had a 4ft 6ins wide bed (which I understand all the rooms have) so sleep was not so good. Also toiletries were confined to wall dispensers.
It is an useful location for visiting Blackpool and Fleetwood (which can be reached via bus 2C to Knott End then ferry across the river mouth).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sospiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
An honest review and we appreciate your time. A great reflection on the convenience of our location, proximity to nearby towns and its stunning views.
Our rooms are presented to offer a clean and welcoming environment but, unfortunately, accommodate only standard double beds. We apologise if this was an inconvenience during your brief stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Wonderful stay in a fabulous hotel. Good value, clean and large room. In a great position near the river. Close to Fleetwood and Blackpool, but in quiet surroundings. Easy to find. Private car park. Enjoyable cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickyormonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thanks for your kind words, simple and to the point........a 'Ronseal' review....we offer exactly what it says on the tin!! See you on your next visit and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The 2 greatest assets any hotel can have are cleanliness and good staff . I will have to say the Shard has both. The whole hotel was immaculate and I could not find fault with any part. The staff were very friendly , and offered advice when asked. As far as the restaurant is , I can't say it was the best meal I ever had , but it wasn't the worse either , just felt the food was bland , and the service was quiet slow. The breakfast was good but again not fantastic. Overall I would recommend this hotel as some where nice to stay when visiting the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smbkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
For your recommendations to stay we thank you and accept that we do not appear to have delighted your taste buds in the way that we have achieved with so many of our guests here.
Overall a satisfactory and honest review and we do hope that your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had a good night's sleep at the Shard but woke up to a broken shower. Had to go downstairs for help and was offered to have a shower in the boss's private chambers. Used the shower which had clearly been used by this man in the morning. So far so good. Best thing done in an arkward situation. When I then enquired how much money I was getting off the full price (which isn't small considering the area!), I soon found myself in a discussion how this was totally acceptable and how I should pay the full price. The manager was not to be reached either. When I insisted on not paying full price as I hadn't booked shared shower rooms with strangers, I was grudgingly given £20 back on my credit card. Needless to say that my overnight trip was the opposite of restful and chilled. I am really disappointed as I had looked forward to staying there! After this experience I cannot recommend the Shard at all!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
I find your review extremely difficult to accept.
As the General Manager here, I responded to your problem immediately, apologising and allowing you to use the private bathroom suite of the hotel owners. Total privacy and an alternate to the problem in your room.
The room had already been charged earlier in the morning as per our express check out service.
Following your obvious disappointment at having been charged fully, I chose to refund as another apology. The owners were not available but in my capacity the decision was mine.
You received a significant discount (31%) and my apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Within 24 hours you choose to write a poor review of our highly rated hotel to Trip Advisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poulton Le Fylde
3.5 mi away
No photo provided
Briardene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thornton Cleveleys
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
4.9 mi away
North Euston Hotel
North Euston Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fleetwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Blackpool (Bispham) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,850 reviews
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#30 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,293 reviews
5.0 mi away
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
#2 of 3 in Fleetwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shard Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shard Riverside Hotel

Property: Shard Riverside Hotel
Address: Old Bridge Lane, Poulton Le Fylde FY6 9BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Poulton Le Fylde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Poulton Le Fylde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shard Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning river views, comfortable sleeping and free wifi throughout, the Shard Riverside is the perfect choice for the modern traveller or discerning business guest. Just a stone's throw away from the M55 Motorway yet nestled in Lancashire's finest rolling countryside, the Shard offers a relaxing get-a-way from the hustle and bustle of modern life. Enjoy our riverside restaurant with fabulous views, serving local Bowland Ales and a wide choice of Lancashire dishes all prepared using the best in local produce. Just 10 min drive from the M55 Motorway and 2 miles from Poulton-le-Fylde train station, the Shard Riverside is well connected for the modern day traveler. So if you're staying for one night or more, come and see why guests regard the Shard Riverside as a jewel in the crown on the Fylde Coast. Our 23 bedrooms are clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated with most enjoying stunning, panoramic river views. All rooms have free wifi, plus internet connected TVs for your modern convenience. Rooms range from standard double en suite to luxury signature rooms with guaranteed river views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shard Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shard Riverside
Shard Riverside Hotel Poulton Le Fylde, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing