We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food good, service mediocre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shard Riverside Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Food good, service mediocre”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Booked a table for our anniversary and requested a window table, we were told they would do their best. Bearing in mind this was 2 weeks in advance. On arrival no window. The food was good but no one came to ask if it was ok until we had finished. We had to ask twice for coffee and then waited 20 mins. We felt the lighting could have been a little more subdued as it felt a bit like you were in a cafe. Just needs some attention to detail to make it a lovely restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LancashireDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Our apologies for the obvious lapses in our usual high standard service. We learn from our mistakes and hope that these are not repeated when you visit us again.
We can never, unfortunately, guarantee window seats as the volume and size of group bookings can dictate how we can arrange tables. We always try our best and we hope to place you by our windows on future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    168
    54
    14
    6
See reviews for
127
251
21
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mitchell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Comfortable rooms over looking the river. Clean and tidy. Helpful staff. Relax in your room, restaurant or on the terrace and watch all the birds along the river. Good quality, local food at fair prices.

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
You sum up our standards and fantastic location so well in so few words. We thank you for such a positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
556 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Not bad. Rooms were adequate but the bed was too small for a couple. Asked if they had rooms with Kingsize beds to be told no. Haven't slept in a double bed for years. Price was steep for the quality. The lack of lift didn't help as we were on the top floor. Would agree with the other reviewer with regard to service as was OK but not what one would expect for the price. Breakfast was excellent however and the only redeeming feature

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelMacartney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
I am sure many more guests would disagree with your assessment of our quality and value.
We appreciate your opinion though and thank you for reviewing us. Good to know that your last experience was the excellent breakfast enjoyed by many.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were visiting family and this is the best place to stay in the locality. The setting on the River Wyre is quite special - lovely to sit out on the terrace of an evening, and so pretty popular with the locals. There's no lift - bit of a pain if you have a lot of luggage, as we did, on a long trip from Australia. Rooms are adequate, but don't expect bathroom 'add-ons', bathrobes etc. Service mostly cheerful, if a bit erratic and inattentive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoganhogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
An incredible setting in the sunshine of July. We do all we can to live up to our 4* rating for service and quality in all areas of the hotel. I am sure the 'erratic' was a result of the extremely busy trade that the sun has brought us but we as a team do our utmost to provide the best service levels that we can in such circumstances.
We hope to welcome you back to our shores in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed here whilst attending a wedding in the area, excellent location, rooms very clean, nice furnishings, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer and liquid soap/hair body wash provided. Lovely view over the river, food excellent in the restaurant and also the full English breakfast. Would definitely recommend this hotel. The hotel was quiet apart from some inconsiderate guests who decided to have an argument at 1.50 in the morning, hotel can't account for this.

Room Tip: We had a standard room overlooking the river, couldn't fault it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smaPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
'Excellent stay' and excellent review of our hotel and standards. It is a shame that some guests can mindlessly disrupt other's rest but it is infrequent......and we thank you for taking your time to acknowledge all the positives of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

While visiting friends nearby I had looked at many of the B&B's in and around Blackpool and decided to opt for this one. It was a really nice hotel, friendly staff, good food, lovely setting. The tiniest of negativity: the breakfast menu said 'fruit juice, cereals available'. I assumed this meant as an alternative to tea/coffee, full English. It was only as we departed the restaurant on the second day did we notice the buffet at the rear. Maybe if the waitress could let people know??
Other than that, a very nice place!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
I'l take the positives and thank you for taking the time to review your experience!
Cannot say that I have experienced any guests missing the buffet table before but I will check that the team are keeping guests aware of their various breakfast options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Shard to be close to friends and family whilst travelling around from Australia. We have nothing but praise for the staff and also the quality of the accommodation. The food was lovely and the breakfasts were the best! We would thoroughly recommend this hotel for either a weekend stay or an extended stay which is what we had. We will be staying there again if and when we return to the UK

Room Tip: Try to choose a room away from the car park, having said that the noise level was quite acceptable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your recognition of our service quality here. We enjoyed welcoming you and we look forward to your return to these shores!! Here's hoping that I am able to comment more favourably on the cricket next time :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poulton Le Fylde
3.5 mi away
Briardene Hotel
Briardene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thornton Cleveleys
213 reviews
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#31 of 73 in Blackpool
3,660 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Thurnham Hall
Thurnham Hall
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
635 reviews
4.5 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
829 reviews
9.3 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shard Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shard Riverside Hotel

Property: Shard Riverside Hotel
Address: Old Bridge Lane, Poulton Le Fylde FY6 9BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Poulton Le Fylde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Poulton Le Fylde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shard Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning river views, comfortable sleeping and free wifi throughout, the Shard Riverside is the perfect choice for the modern traveller or discerning business guest. Just a stone's throw away from the M55 Motorway yet nestled in Lancashire's finest rolling countryside, the Shard offers a relaxing get-a-way from the hustle and bustle of modern life. Enjoy our riverside restaurant with fabulous views, serving local Bowland Ales and a wide choice of Lancashire dishes all prepared using the best in local produce. Just 10 min drive from the M55 Motorway and 2 miles from Poulton-le-Fylde train station, the Shard Riverside is well connected for the modern day traveler. So if you're staying for one night or more, come and see why guests regard the Shard Riverside as a jewel in the crown on the Fylde Coast. Our 23 bedrooms are clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated with most enjoying stunning, panoramic river views. All rooms have free wifi, plus internet connected TVs for your modern convenience. Rooms range from standard double en suite to luxury signature rooms with guaranteed river views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Shard Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shard Riverside
Shard Riverside Hotel Poulton Le Fylde, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing