We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shard Riverside Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Relaxing experience”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I have recently stayed at this hotel with family members and cannot praise it highly enough. Lovely clean rooms, very good food and very helpful staff. We were attending a wedding locally and the hotel was in just the right location. Nothing was too much trouble. We asked to book a taxi to take us to our wedding venue and bring us back and this was done promptly and efficiently. The restaurant staff were welcoming and the food was extremely good with a great selection for starters and main courses. We all had a smoked salmon and king prawn salad which had so much salmon it was not possible to finish it. We also had parmesan and parsley frites which were so tasty. The wine was very good and my step-son thoroughly enjoyed the real ale. Sitting outside drinking coffee and having a digestif was very pleasant and the weather was kind to us. The river view was magic and we saw many seabirds and other bird life including many lapwings and a heron.

Breakfasts were extremely good and it was possible to have whatever combination of eggs, bacon, sausage etcetera you wanted. There were also kippers and haddock with poached eggs - yummy.

The hotel was within easy reach of the Forest of Bowland and also Blackpool, Fleetwood and Morecambe. We went to Beacon Fells which was about 45 minutes away and also to Clitheroe Castle which was worth a visit especially if you have children.

Would happily return. Thank you so much Jenny Lund

Room Tip: Rooms at front have river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
...and a nice relaxing review for me to respond to!
This location lends itself to relaxation with the river views, bird life and we aim to provide the service and food standards to compliment our 'vista ' and all our guests. I guess we achieved our goals and we thank you for recognising us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    166
    53
    14
    6
See reviews for
125
249
21
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for one night at the beginning of August after a recommendation, was certainly not disappointed. The room had a river view and was clean and spacious. We booked a table for a meal in the evening, was very impressed, a great starter of black pudding & asparagus followed by a hake dish both perfect in every sense of the word. As a member of CAMRA I found the real ale available at the bar was in perfect condition. Would love to go here again

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caddie-Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
..... and a great review!
You will be made welcome again on your return. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and ate 3 dinners and 3 breakfasts. This is a straightforward hotel, ie there are no pools, gyms etc, but what it does it does well: modern, clean rooms and a good bar and restaurant with lovely views over the tidal river. The service has been very good, the food has been consistently very good with a broad menu, so much so that we have chosen to come back and eat here each night (we don't usually choose to eat in hotels. The food is freshly cooked and they have been very happy to cater for the gluten-free person in our party (gluten-free chips!) with knowledgable staff. We wish we could stay longer as this hotel is well placed for reaching Fleetwood, Blackpool and Morcambe too.

Room Tip: Rooms with a river view risk a little noise from the river terrace on summer evenings with open wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLK791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
With reviews like this that reflects all that we stand for, we hope you return on many occasions and for long periods. Thank you for your kind review. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,319 reviews
297 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 684 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

A combination of nice friendly helpful staff, good food, a modern simply furnished room and a very nice location.

First the staff - nice initial welcome at check-in with relevant information, through to good bar and breakfast service. Food wise I enjoyed a chicken liver pâté, followed by fish which was good. Sat at tables outside enjoying the view downstream with a nice local ale before eating.

Room had an LED TV and views of the river (I was in room 5 but I reckon room 6 has even better views). Walls and floors a little thin so certainly heard people come and go; but bed was comfy.

Free wifi in rooms and bar area. Very good value at £65 B&B.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleep007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Certainly no faults in your kind, thorough and accurate review. We are pleased that we ticked all the boxes for your stay and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel and restaurant in the near future. Regards and many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Booked a table for our anniversary and requested a window table, we were told they would do their best. Bearing in mind this was 2 weeks in advance. On arrival no window. The food was good but no one came to ask if it was ok until we had finished. We had to ask twice for coffee and then waited 20 mins. We felt the lighting could have been a little more subdued as it felt a bit like you were in a cafe. Just needs some attention to detail to make it a lovely restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LancashireDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Our apologies for the obvious lapses in our usual high standard service. We learn from our mistakes and hope that these are not repeated when you visit us again.
We can never, unfortunately, guarantee window seats as the volume and size of group bookings can dictate how we can arrange tables. We always try our best and we hope to place you by our windows on future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitchell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Comfortable rooms over looking the river. Clean and tidy. Helpful staff. Relax in your room, restaurant or on the terrace and watch all the birds along the river. Good quality, local food at fair prices.

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
You sum up our standards and fantastic location so well in so few words. We thank you for such a positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
541 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Not bad. Rooms were adequate but the bed was too small for a couple. Asked if they had rooms with Kingsize beds to be told no. Haven't slept in a double bed for years. Price was steep for the quality. The lack of lift didn't help as we were on the top floor. Would agree with the other reviewer with regard to service as was OK but not what one would expect for the price. Breakfast was excellent however and the only redeeming feature

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelMacartney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B, General Manager at Shard Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
I am sure many more guests would disagree with your assessment of our quality and value.
We appreciate your opinion though and thank you for reviewing us. Good to know that your last experience was the excellent breakfast enjoyed by many.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poulton Le Fylde
3.5 mi away
Briardene Hotel
Briardene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thornton Cleveleys
212 reviews
4.9 mi away
North Euston Hotel
North Euston Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fleetwood
530 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 69 in Blackpool
3,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
#2 of 3 in Fleetwood
146 reviews
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#29 of 69 in Blackpool
3,536 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Blackpool (Bispham) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shard Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shard Riverside Hotel

Property: Shard Riverside Hotel
Address: Old Bridge Lane, Poulton Le Fylde FY6 9BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Poulton Le Fylde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Poulton Le Fylde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shard Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning river views, comfortable sleeping and free wifi throughout, the Shard Riverside is the perfect choice for the modern traveller or discerning business guest. Just a stone's throw away from the M55 Motorway yet nestled in Lancashire's finest rolling countryside, the Shard offers a relaxing get-a-way from the hustle and bustle of modern life. Enjoy our riverside restaurant with fabulous views, serving local Bowland Ales and a wide choice of Lancashire dishes all prepared using the best in local produce. Just 10 min drive from the M55 Motorway and 2 miles from Poulton-le-Fylde train station, the Shard Riverside is well connected for the modern day traveler. So if you're staying for one night or more, come and see why guests regard the Shard Riverside as a jewel in the crown on the Fylde Coast. Our 23 bedrooms are clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated with most enjoying stunning, panoramic river views. All rooms have free wifi, plus internet connected TVs for your modern convenience. Rooms range from standard double en suite to luxury signature rooms with guaranteed river views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shard Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shard Riverside
Shard Riverside Hotel Poulton Le Fylde, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing