We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lugger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lugger Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portloe
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed as 1 of 2 couples. The welcome was perfect, genuinely welcoming rather than scripted. Consistently good food (NB breakfast selection and quality), nice rooms and a great atmosphere. All the staff were attentive and good at their jobs.
Thank you

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    209
    80
    66
    22
See reviews for
48
650
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

My husband and I spent two days break at the Lugger Hotel from the 25-27 Nov it lived up to all my expectations and more! Richard the General Manager and his staff were brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble we were always greeted with a smile. We stayed in the Look Out the views from the windows were to die for. All the meals were excellent and the service very good. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting an idyllic break!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanatRoseway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Booked with secret escapes with no real expectations, we were made to feel very welcome. The food, service and attention to detail were second to none.
We will be going back for a second visit.
Thank you.


  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crombie-Shrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Overall The Lugger is a very good small hotel in an amazing setting. Portloe consists of the hotel, a few houses and a pub in a picturesque Cornish cove. (No beach, just a slipway for a couple of fishing boats). We visited in November and found the hotel to be cosy and welcoming with nice little touches. They kindly moved us to a sea view room without extra charge - the previous room had a view of the road. The room was lovely - however, you could hear the piped music in the bar area below and at 11.30 one night we had to ask for this to be turned off as we couldn't sleep. We could also hear people showering in the room next door.

There were a couple of minor niggles which prevented me giving an 'excellent' rating. If these were addressed it would make a big difference:
A bell is needed at reception - which is not manned all the time.
A copy of the menu should be displayed each day (instead of the sample menu which is currently used) so that you could decide whether to eat there or not.
In winter the fire in the lounge should be lit and maintained each evening. We would certainly have spent more time(and money!) in the bar if this had been the case.
I found the pillows hard and uncomfortable. Possibly a personal thing, but I ended up with neck ache.
The orange juice on offer at breakfast tasted cheap - certainly not freshly squeezed.
The room was lovely and warm but the en-suite was chilly.

These are minor points but would make a big difference if addressed. On the plus side the bed was very comfortable, and the atmosphere and decor were excellent. We ate in the restaurant twice and enjoyed our meals. I would class the food as competent but not outstanding.
We would certainly return, but will keep an eye out for special offers as the rack rate is very high.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilliantomlinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

This hotel is supurb from the welcome we received down to the liitle brown bag with water and sweets for the journey home. We had a fantastic bottle of red wine in the room plus chocolated and fruit. We ate twice in the restaurant the first night being with the deal we had got. We couldnt fault it. So as it was a wee bit windy the following night decided we didnt want to go anywhere else so ate there again. Fantastic. Also the breakfasts were simply wonderfull. A great 2 days away.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pearcesouthwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Once again we were welcomed at The Lugger with great food, excellent wine, good service and even fantastic weather at both extremes. It was our anniversary (having got married in The Lugger last year) and so we splashed out on the best room ( and we have tried quite a few now!). This room is in fact a small cottage near the hotel with its own kitchen, living room, bedroom and bathroom. The rooms are comfy and the servicing excellent. Orla Kiely toiletries made a change from the ones previously. Our only disappointment was no pirate hot water bottles in the turn down- which was the most talked about point by our guests last year! If you are looking for a quiet, romantic break with good food, wine and service with great views then this is the place!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Blessed with such a beautifully unique and quintessentially Cornish location, it would be a travesty if such a hotel didn’t deliver on the hospitality side of the bargain. I am happy to report that the Lugger complemented its idyllic surroundings with service levels that made our stay as spectacular as the view from the restaurant windows. I could wax lyrical about the locale that the hotel finds itself in, but you need just look at the photographs accompanying this review to understand, truly Britain at its best! Some might say paradise blighty-style (weather permitting!) and they would not be wrong as they gaze into the crystal clear Portloe waters hugged by dramatic cliffs as the fisherman come and go in their storm stained boats.

A dinner, bed and breakfast rate of £180 per night gave us a standard room towards the top of the main hotel. The room could have been described as an attic space and was a little on the small side, but what it lacked in square footage it made up for in quality fittings and bed linen to envy. Spending a good few bob more will get you a room with a view, and not just any view! However, the hotel bar and accompanying balcony offers the same vista and can be enjoyed by all guests. The service offered throughout the hotel was pleasant and welcoming. Indeed, this was certainly the first time I have enjoyed an evening turn down service which included the offering of a bed time story and mug of hot chocolate! Small touches… big talking points… clever.

Personally for me, the food was the highlight. Nothing too avant-garde here, just well considered and lovingly put together dishes involving all the riches from the sea shore only a stone’s throw away. My smoked haddock rarebit on the first night was stunning, only to be eclipsed by the crab risotto on the second evening. The food alone is reason enough for me to return someday!

A visit to the Lugger is quite a unique experience given its surroundings, but it doesn’t rest on its laurels here. It compliments them with understated but welcoming hospitality and food that oozes consideration and love for the Cornish coastline.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank-TJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portloe
3.8 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
16.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lugger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lugger Hotel

Property: The Lugger Hotel
Address: Portloe TR2 5RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > Portloe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lugger Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lugger is nestled at the foot of a valley with picturesque cove and tiny harbour. Portloe is part of the beautiful Roseland Peninsula, surrounded by cliffs and headlands which form part of the Cornish Coastal Footpath. The Lugger sits right at the water’s edge in the very heart of the village and has been recently transformed following a major renovation programme. All the public rooms have been refurbished and greatly improved to offer comfort and functionality in the truly unique setting of this historic harbour. Luxurious touches throughout have helped the hotel to gain multiple awards, The Lugger has been named ‘Best Seaside Hotel’ by The Sunday Times, has featured on the Condé Naste Travellers ‘Hot List’ and also features in the Mr and Mrs Smith and Hip Hotels guidebooks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Lugger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugger Hotel Portloe
The Lugger Hotel Portloe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing