We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lugger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lugger Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portloe
Certificate of Excellence
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for our anniversary - beautiful room with sea views. Food was amazing and very fresh - staff are brilliant. Would absolutely recommend and stay again. Spent ages watching the fisherman bringing in his catch. You have to have the Cornish breakfast too :)

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jcbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    209
    80
    66
    22
See reviews for
48
652
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Steeple Claydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Lovely hotel that we have visited before for meals but not stayed. This time 3 nights for our 30th wedding anniversary. Nice welcome, great room with super views and all the comforts we needed. Good breakfasts, excellent service at breakfast and dinner. Friendly attentive staff. A lot of effort is put in to making you feel welcome. Very cosy, control over room heating in the room , opening windows and good size bathroom. Fantastic view and location. We would suggest a few extra stair rails and hand rails in the bathroom, my wife who is disabled struggled a bit and the addition of these would have made it a bit easier for her getting round the hotel.

Room Tip: Go for rooms with a view 201/202 in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a wonderful 2 night stay at The Lugger (via Secret Escapes) a lovely place if a little remote. Food was excellent and the little touches like turn down with hot water bottles, hot chocolate drinks, fresh cake and shortbread biscuits left in the room before bedtime were very much appreciated. Would definitely visit again but not in January, although the scenery was dramatic and stunning it did feel like Cornwall was 'closed' many businesses were shut, even the local pub closed for 2 days, the Eden Project was shut as was Rick Steins fish and chip shop in Padstow.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank kim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed for 3 nights.Very warm welcome by manager. Staff were attentive but not intrusive.Resturant food was very good.Remote but good location.Would suit those who want secluded comfort.Enjoyable coastal path walks.Large comfortable bed.Nice range of treats in the room every night,such as, hot chocolate and hot water bottles.Good base to explore this part of

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marvelwonders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

excellent spot, lovely views, good walking location holiday, great staff, great food, and a local pub. had a lovely box of chocs waiting in our room and a bottle of red wine, really nice feel to the place. most of the holiday makers had dogs with them but that made no difference because they even had an area where you could leave your muddy dog walking boots . the staff and local residents did make us feel welcome. we hope to visit again in the summer.

Room Tip: worth upgrading to the rooms overlooking the little village
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RHKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We've just had 3 days at the Lugger and overall we enjoyed our stay, 2 nights on a Secret Escapes deal and a third night on an agreed rate. The position being almost in the sea at the end of a small cove is fairly unique, in winter it's not great out on the terrace but a lunch we had there in the summer was great when eating on the terrace. The staff are all efficient and friendly, nice folk. Our rooms (2 booked) were cosy, nicely decorated, but fairly small, a 6ft person would probably have needed to walk with a stoop, we were fine at 5'6".... Some nice touches with mints, chocolates, and mini hot water bottles each night. Food was a little disappointing, quite expensive with modest portions, we expected to eat there all three nights but in the end chose local pubs for 2 nights. Wifi only works if you stay within 50ft of reception. We'd go again if the deal was tempting, but it would be good if the food was more sensibly priced with maybe a 2 course meal for £20 ish... Overall, nice place, nice position, nice people.

Room Tip: Try and avoid the smaller rooms.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 598chrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

This hotel is situated close enough to almost feel the spray off the crashing waves, you can certainly lie there listening to them all night, a wonderful sound !

The staff here were very attentive and added extra touches like turning the room down twice, once in the morning and then again in the evening to leave hot chocolate, marshmallows, tomorrows weather and a joke ! Subtle touches but made a huge difference.

The food is outstanding and can only be described as fine dining.

We were very lucky with the weather for the time of year and had a wonderful time, thank you to the staff at the Lugger Inn for their contribution, they made us feel very special and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scott y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portloe
3.8 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
16.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lugger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lugger Hotel

Property: The Lugger Hotel
Address: Portloe TR2 5RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > Portloe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lugger Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lugger is nestled at the foot of a valley with picturesque cove and tiny harbour. Portloe is part of the beautiful Roseland Peninsula, surrounded by cliffs and headlands which form part of the Cornish Coastal Footpath. The Lugger sits right at the water’s edge in the very heart of the village and has been recently transformed following a major renovation programme. All the public rooms have been refurbished and greatly improved to offer comfort and functionality in the truly unique setting of this historic harbour. Luxurious touches throughout have helped the hotel to gain multiple awards, The Lugger has been named ‘Best Seaside Hotel’ by The Sunday Times, has featured on the Condé Naste Travellers ‘Hot List’ and also features in the Mr and Mrs Smith and Hip Hotels guidebooks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Lugger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugger Hotel Portloe
The Lugger Hotel Portloe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing