We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed feelings”
Review of The Lugger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lugger Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portloe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The first room we were given had a whiff of damp. We rejected it. The second seemed OK but then we noticed a constant whirring noise coming from behind the wall. We were told that this was a water pump which would be switched off later. It remained on all night disturbing sleep.

The next day we complained. We were given a delightful clean room with an excellent view overlooking the harbour, with the sound only of breaking waves and gulls.

The breakfast was excellent - plenty of choice - served in the dining room with a good view over the harbour.

The dinner, served in the same room, was eccentric: a short list of starters and mains that changed each evening, characterised by unusual taste combinations. The items on the plate were carefully prepared but the contrasting tastes did not typically work well together. There was no cheese course or board on offer. Although it was February, the desserts were almost all from the fridge.

The only other dining alternative in Portloe is the village pub (which does a range of pub food popular with the locals).

The atmosphere in the dining and sitting rooms was spoiled by background music playing in the bar area. Without it the sitting room was quiet and restful and in the restaurant you could relax to the sounds of the sea.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GBennet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (941)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

527 - 533 of 941 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

My husband booked this as a treat for my birthday through Secret Escapes and we were not disappointed! This is a gorgeous hotel off the beaten track positioned in the tiny village of Portloe in a beautiful setting overlooking the harbour. Everything about this hotel was first class from our welcome on arrival, the hot water bottles and the daily joke left on the bed in the evening and the goodie bag handed to us on departure for our journey home! We ate in the restaurant on both nights and were not disappointed, although the menu was limited the food was outstanding. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a relaxing break away.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We have just come back from a weekend at The Lugger, and overall this was a brilliant hotel! We got the hotel for a really good rate through a bespoke hotel deal, and had a deluxe room. The room was lovely, probably the best we have stayed in, very spacious with a sea view from the balcony and a really nice feel.
The hotel staff were very helpful to every request and the location as shown on the photos was superb.
There is only one down point to the hotel and that is the food! The breakfast was good and there was a good choice, but am sorry to say the evening meal was the worst we have ever had! It was expensive, but if the food is good you don't mind paying. This was not the case however, the portions were also very small.
This said would definitely stay at the hotel again, but would ensure we booked in at the pub down the road for both nights. Hopefully some comments on the food would have been taken on board and next time the food would have improved.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Sadiezak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a two day break at the Lugger, our second visit to this hotel and again we were not disappointed.

The room, food, hot water bottles at bedtime and sweet treats were all fab. Again the service was great, nothing is too much.

We took our dog with us this time, he was not allowed in the main hotel (fair enough) but we had a deluxe room so had plenty of room for him.

You need to visit this hotel, it's pure relaxation.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Msquires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed at the Lugger Hotel for a three night stay after our wedding. Beautiful location, helpful and friendly staff. Service was excellent throughout the stay. The breakfast was delicous. Evening meals were also to a very high standard, a limited choice but still very good! Lots of extra touches made our stay complete. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kgjgjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My wife and I stayed for a short break to celebrate our wedding anniversary and to unwind after a hectic period of work.
The location is idyllic and far from the madding crowd, stunning cliff top walks and scenery, and even though the hotel had been battered by the storms the previous days, resulting in the loss of the lower terrace it was service as usual.
One cannot praise the staff enough for their attention to detail, and the little touches such as mini hot water bottles, hot chocolate and marsh mellows magically appearing in the bedroom whilst taking dinner are unexpected nice touches.
Our room was just across the slipway in the cottage and was excellently fitted out, very clean and cosy.
The large open fire was a magnet to crash in front of and relax with a cream tea which we could not resist.
We ate in the restaurant on the first night and although the menu appeared limited (possibly due to the storms) it offered what could be termed as fine dining. The presentation was like a painting on a plate and texture and flavours were fine, it was just a shame that there wasn't a little more of it having worked up a hearty appetite walking on the coastal path walk.
Breakfast was great, good selection everything and the "Cornish Breakfast" was just what one needed to set you up for a day's exploring the Cornish coast.
Thank you to all of the staff for making our stay such a treat and for making us so welcome.
I would recommend the Lugger Hotel to any one as it is the perfect hideaway offering total relaxation in a very pretty smugglers cove.
.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peterHerefordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had previously stayed at The Lugger about 5 years ago and having raved about it to our friends we were really looking forward to our latest visit. The hotel itself was as we remembered it, situated in a secluded 'smugglers' cove and with a cosy bar and fantastic room with a view of the crashing sea. The staff are attentive and the service is first rate BUT, what has happened to the food??? The first night was a set menu for valentines (over priced but fair enough). On the second night we were looking forward to some great sea food but the menu was limited to say the least with similar dishes to the previous nights fixed menu and only one fish choice out of a total of three main courses to choose from. Breakfast had been good the first morning but the second morning was dreadful, there was a long delay and dishes were incomplete (without explanation). On checking-out the hotel manager volunteered a £10 'goodwill' gesture from our bill but gave no explanation as for the apparent problems with the kitchen. We were so disappointed and won't be rushing back!

Room Tip: View of the cove a nust!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stormy722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portloe
6.8 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
418 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,621 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
1,212 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,422 reviews
3.8 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lugger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lugger Hotel

Address: Portloe TR2 5RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > Portloe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portloe
Price Range: £119 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lugger Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lugger is nestled at the foot of a valley with picturesque cove and tiny harbour. Portloe is part of the beautiful Roseland Peninsula, surrounded by cliffs and headlands which form part of the Cornish Coastal Footpath. The Lugger sits right at the water’s edge in the very heart of the village and has been recently transformed following a major renovation programme. All the public rooms have been refurbished and greatly improved to offer comfort and functionality in the truly unique setting of this historic harbour. Luxurious touches throughout have helped the hotel to gain multiple awards, The Lugger has been named ‘Best Seaside Hotel’ by The Sunday Times, has featured on the Condé Naste Travellers ‘Hot List’ and also features in the Mr and Mrs Smith and Hip Hotels guidebooks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your The Lugger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugger Hotel Portloe
The Lugger Hotel Portloe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing