We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of The Lugger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lugger Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portloe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2014

A perfect place to relax and feel special! The harbour is full of character and the walks up the headland give amazing views. The hotel is staffed by delightful young people who are friendly but professional. Our room in the annexe had a window with a tiny view of the sea, a real bonus. Tea, coffee, sweets and shortbread on the tea tray. Hot chocolate and marshmallows at night and the luxury of the bed turned down. Crisp white linen, fluffy towels and a really comfortable bed. The bathroom was very small and shower in bath difficult for me as I have mobility problems. The food, more perfection! Delicious and imaginative. Amazing fresh bread rolls of many flavours. The terrace collapsed in the storms but views from conservatory are beautiful. If you are lucky enough to visit don't miss the church at St Just in Roseland. There is even a kettle and coffee in the church if you want to make yourself a drink! We had a family holiday home in Portloe so it was a visit full of happy memories. Thank you all the staff in the Lugger, not forgetting the talented chef.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tasmin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (957)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 957 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

A really lovely hotel right on the waters edge, lobster boat outside our window, went to sleep listening to the sea laping against the shore.
Service excellent breakfast excellent found it difficult to find fault , suggest you ask for a view overlooking the cove though.
Some one has mentioned an area outside were you can sit and have a drink overlooking the cove. Unfortunately the storms in early March have totally demolished this earlier though the views from the lounge are equally good.

Room Tip: Suggest you try for main building with views over the cove
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I have never stayed anywhere where as I checked out, I immediately booked again for next year! Even though the hotel had been battered by the storms, our stay there was perfection. The staff were wonderful, very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. It is a small, well run boutique hotel and I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this to everyone who is looking for peace and quiet in a stunning location.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lulu F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This was my sixth visit to The Lugger stretching back to when it was privately owned. It is a pity I wasn't recognised/acknowledged as a returning customer.
I was also disappointed not to be told in advance about the terrace collapsing. Part of the charm of The Lugger is being able to sit outside having a glass of wine and a crab sandwich.
I did appreciate that the dinner menu is changed daily. One of my criticisms from the past was having the same, fairly limited selection, night after night.
The tables in the restaurant have good table linen, glassware and crockery. The view is superb. The waiters were cheery and helpful.
Breakfast. A disappointing fruit selection - three pieces of tired looking water melon. However the poached eggs and crispy bacon were perfect.
It was good to be able to curl up in front of a roaring fire having a pre dinner drink.
I hope Bespoke hotels restore the terrace quickly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank studious2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The Lugger is located in a beautiful little cove on Cornwall's coast. There's a lovely area to sit out on and enjoy a drink and the view ( must be wonderful to sit there in the warmer months). Our room was adequate but nothing more. Could have certainly done with a spruce up. We didn't mind so much as we got it at a good price though we might have been a bit peeved if we'd paid full whack summer rates.

Food didn't really hit the spot. Definite room for improvement at breakfast, lunch and dinner. In our opinion. Staff were fine and generally quite polite. However, we left feeling that The Lugger seems to have lost its way a bit which is a pity as it has the potential to be something quite special.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudgeJudy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The first room we were given had a whiff of damp. We rejected it. The second seemed OK but then we noticed a constant whirring noise coming from behind the wall. We were told that this was a water pump which would be switched off later. It remained on all night disturbing sleep.

The next day we complained. We were given a delightful clean room with an excellent view overlooking the harbour, with the sound only of breaking waves and gulls.

The breakfast was excellent - plenty of choice - served in the dining room with a good view over the harbour.

The dinner, served in the same room, was eccentric: a short list of starters and mains that changed each evening, characterised by unusual taste combinations. The items on the plate were carefully prepared but the contrasting tastes did not typically work well together. There was no cheese course or board on offer. Although it was February, the desserts were almost all from the fridge.

The only other dining alternative in Portloe is the village pub (which does a range of pub food popular with the locals).

The atmosphere in the dining and sitting rooms was spoiled by background music playing in the bar area. Without it the sitting room was quiet and restful and in the restaurant you could relax to the sounds of the sea.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GBennet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

My husband booked this as a treat for my birthday through Secret Escapes and we were not disappointed! This is a gorgeous hotel off the beaten track positioned in the tiny village of Portloe in a beautiful setting overlooking the harbour. Everything about this hotel was first class from our welcome on arrival, the hot water bottles and the daily joke left on the bed in the evening and the goodie bag handed to us on departure for our journey home! We ate in the restaurant on both nights and were not disappointed, although the menu was limited the food was outstanding. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a relaxing break away.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portloe
6.8 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
426 reviews
9 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
1,267 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
670 reviews
14 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
16.4 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lugger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lugger Hotel

Address: Portloe TR2 5RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > Portloe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portloe
Price Range: £123 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lugger Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lugger is nestled at the foot of a valley with picturesque cove and tiny harbour. Portloe is part of the beautiful Roseland Peninsula, surrounded by cliffs and headlands which form part of the Cornish Coastal Footpath. The Lugger sits right at the water’s edge in the very heart of the village and has been recently transformed following a major renovation programme. All the public rooms have been refurbished and greatly improved to offer comfort and functionality in the truly unique setting of this historic harbour. Luxurious touches throughout have helped the hotel to gain multiple awards, The Lugger has been named ‘Best Seaside Hotel’ by The Sunday Times, has featured on the Condé Naste Travellers ‘Hot List’ and also features in the Mr and Mrs Smith and Hip Hotels guidebooks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Lugger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugger Hotel Portloe
The Lugger Hotel Portloe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing