We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cornish hideaway”
Review of The Lugger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lugger Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portloe
Certificate of Excellence
Dawlish
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cornish hideaway”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned from the lovely Lugger..the surroundings are lovely,room with private balcony fab.. bed huge and comfy..dinner very fine dining..brekkie yummy..staff beyond compare..had lovely time and will definitely return..and as soon as possible..

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrsBDawlish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    229
    86
    66
    22
See reviews for
52
686
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,308 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

A good friend came here four years ago and was disappointed by the manner and quality of service and the dinner. We came for a single night starting early the first morning and leaving after tea on Sunday. It is still a comparatively unspoilt small village at the cove. There are traces of boats and a delightful little pub along the road. For us the staff were attentive and sensitive to our needs. The building which has been converted into the hotel has been done sensibly and although some spaces are small and compact our room and the facilities were more than sufficient. Dinner was good quality from a balanced menu and our table beside the window looking across beach and water was very pleasant. Don't think we would come back, this is very much a one visit place but I would not hesitate to recommend it to others. We had a good and entirely laid back refreshing weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HillyCirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

The Lugger Hotel is excellent. Customer service is beyond any expectations nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff.
It is all the little extra touches that make this such a perfect place to stay.
Magazines in bedroom, fresh fruit, homemade biscuits.
Dinner was truly lovely and when I got back to my room my bed had been prepared for sleeping and a hot chocolate with marshmallow ready for my return.
I would love to visit this hotel again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Our second stay at the Luger hotel with eight years between.
This hotel ticks every box if your looking for a first class location,first class service,first class food and complete tranquility.
There cannot be many finer places to relax and enjoy the quietness of Portloe.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Our room (103) in the boat house had an amazing view of the harbour. Staff were all courteous and friendly. The food was outstanding : I was a bit concerned about the review which criticised the portion sizes but we had plenty and the quality was superb. Not cheap but worth every penny. Gorgeous!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Looking4goodstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We have just come back from a 5 day stay for my husbands birthday, from the very beginning of our stay they made us feel very welcome and everyone was very friendly.
We were upgraded to the best room from our point of view, the views we had were wonderful, the sea to the front of our room, cliffs to one side and the little village from the other ones,it had a lovely terrace that was furnished with table and chairs and a sun lounger (cushions all provided) that we tried to make use of when the sun came out but unfortunately that wasn't for long, we had the most amazing view of the lovely little bay and slept with our windows open to hear the sea lapping on the rocks, blissful.
Every afternoon we found lovely cakes and biscuits left in our room and in the evening we had a turn down service, we were left a note to let us know what the weather would be like the following day and also a little funny story, oh and hot chocolate with a marshmallow, yummy. It was the little touches that made our stay even more enjoyable.
The breakfasts were lovely, and the view from the restaurant so relaxing.
We went on a couple of walks from the hotel over the cliffs, the scenery was stunning and everyone we met were very friendly.
All in all one of the best hotels we have stayed in all over the world.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lostmarbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I had been wanting to visit the Lugger for a long time and it didn't disappoint. We actually arrived the day before we had booked and were treated courteously and very well looked after. As we had booked a sea view room and there wasn't another available we were given the cottage on the cliff for our entire stay. It was truly wonderful and we can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portloe
3.8 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
481 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,351 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
855 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
8.7 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lugger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lugger Hotel

Property: The Lugger Hotel
Address: Portloe TR2 5RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > Portloe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lugger Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lugger is nestled at the foot of a valley with picturesque cove and tiny harbour. Portloe is part of the beautiful Roseland Peninsula, surrounded by cliffs and headlands which form part of the Cornish Coastal Footpath. The Lugger sits right at the water’s edge in the very heart of the village and has been recently transformed following a major renovation programme. All the public rooms have been refurbished and greatly improved to offer comfort and functionality in the truly unique setting of this historic harbour. Luxurious touches throughout have helped the hotel to gain multiple awards, The Lugger has been named ‘Best Seaside Hotel’ by The Sunday Times, has featured on the Condé Naste Travellers ‘Hot List’ and also features in the Mr and Mrs Smith and Hip Hotels guidebooks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Lugger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugger Hotel Portloe
The Lugger Hotel Portloe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing