We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much going for the hotel but sadly not the bed”
Review of The Lugger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lugger Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portloe
Certificate of Excellence
lincs UK
Level Contributor
438 reviews
214 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
“Much going for the hotel but sadly not the bed”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel had much going for it - quiet interesting place - away from it all - great staff. Breakfast was very good & freshly cooked. We enjoyed our evening meals - it suited us - but did wonder if a "big eater" would find dinner sufficient, although there were "goodies" left in the room at night.

Our room was on the 1st floor, as such it did not have any real view. Good size with two chairs, quiet. Shutters to an open window. Bathroom fine - shower over bath.The problem was my bed - it was basically as far as I was concerned past its sell by date. I like a firm bed & firm it was not, made worse by the fact that guests had sat on the edge & it had sustained further damage.

I would recommend that you make sure you have done your homework on where Portloe is - the lanes are tight & the sign posting generally poor made more difficult by the fact that Cornwall CC has not as yet trimmed the vegetation round the road signs!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaw118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for posting your review following your stay at The Lugger. I am sorry to read of your disappointment in regards to the bed in your room. We have now started our refurbishment of the Hotel and I have made it a priority to have the bed in the room changed. I am pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and do hope we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    222
    83
    66
    22
See reviews for
51
674
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

The Lugger is a wonderful hotel with a willing and friendly staff team. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel special. We were shown to our room to find real milk in the fridge for tea and coffee, complimentary water, a basket of fresh apples and a jar of sweeties. There was also a greetings card welcoming us to the hotel. When we returned from dinner that evening there was luxury hot chocolate and marshmallows waiting and the apples and milk had been topped up. The hotel is spread over several buildings and umbrellas were liberally scattered in case of inclement weather. When we checked out we were given a little bag with water and sweeties for the journey. We had room 301, a deluxe room with its own terrace. It was spacious, well equipped and spotlessly clean. The bar area was cosy with comfortable sofas and chairs and a range of books magazines and board games on offer. The restaurant serves amazing food all made fresh to order and using local produce where possible. We had a wonderful stay and cannot wait to return.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rogue300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post your lovely comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the all the little extras. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
284 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Congratulations to the general manager, Richard Hartley for creating a 5 star wonder in this idyllic backwater. On arrival we were greeted with warmth and charm. Our room in the Boathouse was a little on the small side but tastefully furnished providing everything we needed. Bathroom freebies were nice to use, no cheap tack in this place. We had dinner here and my only observation would be the portions are a little on the mean side, we did point this out at the time but there was no response. However the cooking was superb and to a very high standard, presented elegantly on the plate. We slept soundly to the sound of the waves by our window. We can't wait to return to this fabulous hotel.

Room Tip: Try and ask for the table by window overlooking the jetty and fishing boats, its the inly one with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caribbeanskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for posting your great review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Having stayed here many times, sadly this stay has been disappointing. The location is superb and staff friendly until tonight. I was looking forward to curry which was a small portion with a few potato cubes and when I asked gently if I could have a portion of rice was quickly sent back to my table and told that there was no rice in the kitchen! I don't know anyone with no rice in the kitchen! Sadly our bathroom ceiling is now flaking and needs painting. I find this very sad as this was once our favourite hotel and we saved every year to come here. Can't they save for a tin of paint and a clean greaseless headboard for the bed? Come on Lugger!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mezzodiva67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay.

We are saddened to read that on this occasion we fell short of our high standards of service.

I think there has been a breakdown in communication with regards to ordering rice with your dinner and I am sorry if this was not passed on correctly.

I do apologise for the standard of décor in your room on this visit. I am delighted to write that we have now started our refurbishment programme for The Lugger and over the coming months we are re-decorating throughout the public areas, corridors and bedrooms. I have made your room our priority and am pleased to say it has now had a new headboard added and is in the process of being painted throughout.

It is our wish that you consider visiting The Lugger again in the future and if you would like to contact me directly at the hotel, I will ensure you have a most enjoyable stay in the newly refurbished Lugger and receive the service for which the hotel is renowned.

Thank you again for posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I stayed here for a couple of nights on business and would certainly stay again either on business on for a weekend break with my wife.

Finding it can be a challenge if you don't have sat nav or are not used to Cornish lanes ( and I wouldn't want to try it in the dark for the first time ) but you suddenly find yourself coming into the village and the hotel is right on tend tiny harbour. It has a good sized car park , but if you are late it can be tricky to park.

Staff were very friendly and my room nicely fitted out with lots of extras such as fruit , hot chocolate and marshmallows to make it feel special. Good bathroom with nice fittings , bathrobes and toiletries -.

The restaurant looks out onto the sea and had excellent food albeit expensive and a little starchy for more than one night. The village pub just up the road offers an excellent alternative and beer garden with babbling brook if the sea view , conservatory and other terraces are not enough.

As an added bonus for some , there is no mobile phone signal anywhere in the village but good wi fi in public areas ( extending to my room in the next building ) and a short walk up the nearby coastal path will get you a signal if you really are desperate to make a call - or just enjoy the view

Room Tip: They are all different and prices vary - so ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flynn59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for posting your lovely comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your business trip and we look forward to welcoming you and your wife back for a leisurely break in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
179 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I had some work down in the South West and asked a colleague where to stay. "The Lugger" he said, so I booked. Didn't really know what to expect but was pleasantly surprised at the location, the parking, the reception staff and, in the morning, the choice and quality of breakfast. As I was only there for one night I didn't get to sample the evening meal as I went up the road to the local pub, the Ship Inn. As a lone traveller looking for some peace, this was as tranquil as it gets. Clifftop walks either side of the hotel if required. The room and public areas were very clean though I had a wall view from my window so I think that anything more than one night it would get claustrophobic. That's the only negative and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a bigger room, or at least one with a view of something.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thanks for posting your review it's lovely to read that you enjoyed your short stay with us. Hopefully next time you will be able to stay a little longer and enjoy the restaurant in the evening and get a chance to explore the surrounding area.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We have stayed at the Lugger twice, following reviews in a Sunday newspaper travel supplement several years ago, and it is a beautiful spot with characterful accommodation but it can sometimes disappoint with slack service and less than perfect food. Breakfast on one occasion was slow and cold, when served, and attitudes seemed to have changed with their good publicity and success. Several times we have tried to book out of season but despite having availability their reluctance to book one nights have frustrated us, and made us reluctant to return.

Room Tip: Upgrade to enjoy more space, the basic room can be claustrophobic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devonb_1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for posting your comments following your stay.

I am sorry you had a disappointment during one of the breakfasts and thank you for letting us know so we can improve in the future.

We do restrict our stays to two nights on a Friday and Saturday, as do most hotels, however one night stays are available for all other nights.

The majority of special offers we promote are a minimum of two nights so more can be added into the package for our guests giving better them a better discount.

If I can assist with your booking next time you are visiting the area, please contact me directly at the hotel and I will gladly help.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portloe
3.8 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
473 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
7.5 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
13.7 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,335 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Rosevine
The Rosevine
#2 of 2 in Rosevine
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lugger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lugger Hotel

Property: The Lugger Hotel
Address: Portloe TR2 5RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > Portloe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lugger Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lugger is nestled at the foot of a valley with picturesque cove and tiny harbour. Portloe is part of the beautiful Roseland Peninsula, surrounded by cliffs and headlands which form part of the Cornish Coastal Footpath. The Lugger sits right at the water’s edge in the very heart of the village and has been recently transformed following a major renovation programme. All the public rooms have been refurbished and greatly improved to offer comfort and functionality in the truly unique setting of this historic harbour. Luxurious touches throughout have helped the hotel to gain multiple awards, The Lugger has been named ‘Best Seaside Hotel’ by The Sunday Times, has featured on the Condé Naste Travellers ‘Hot List’ and also features in the Mr and Mrs Smith and Hip Hotels guidebooks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Lugger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugger Hotel Portloe
The Lugger Hotel Portloe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing