We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recharge your batteries here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lugger Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lugger Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portloe
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Recharge your batteries here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

If you are looking for a hotel right by the sea look no further – The Lugger is perched on the the very edge of the rocks above the slipway in Portloe. The final 1.1 miles of road into Portloe is not for the faint hearted or bad drivers. There is barely room for one car and if another car comes the other way, beware passing places are few – we reversed around 400 metres on one occasion.
The hotel car park is tight and manoeuvring both in an out takes time and patience.
There are many positive things to say about this hotel though and just a few niggles that prevent it from being the perfect getaway.
We stayed in room 203. Our windows (bedroom and bathroom) looked out onto a terrace with outdoor furniture. Turns out this terrace is a private terrace for room 201 which can be accessed via an outdoor stairway just outside the entrance to reception and from a window in room 201. This seemed odd on two counts – our bathroom window didn’t have frosted glass so we had to be sure to keep the blinds closed the whole time and the terrace was hardly private as our bedroom window looked out over the terrace. I enjoyed sitting in the window seat to read however I was very conscious that our neighbours would feel a lack of privacy.
The public terrace off the dining room was damaged in the winter storms and has yet to be repaired which was disappointing as we had fabulous weather during our stay and a drink on that terrace would have been fantastic.
Our room was comfortable and nice touches like fresh milk in the fridge (I hate those pots of long life milk), along with complementary bottles of water, little cookies/pastries left in our room to have with a cup of tea on arrival back after a day out, the bed turn down service with hot chocolate (complete with marshmallow), weather forecast for the following day and an amusing story/joke to make you smile.
The fridge however is in the wardrobe reducing the hanging space considerably. The only other storage space in the room is a 2 drawer chest. We stayed 4 nights and if we’d stayed any longer we’d have needed more storage space for clothes.
Aside from not having a frosted window and having to keep the blind permanently closed no complaints about the bathroom. Lovely toiletries, fluffy towels and a great power shower.
We booked half board basis so had dinner in the hotel each night of our stay.
As mentioned the dining room looks directly out over the sea which is stunning. The food was very good, well cooked and beautifully presented. The portions are small and there were two occasions when this bordered on the ridiculous. One morning I ordered the haddock and poached eggs for breakfast. The piece of haddock that accompanied the two (perfectly poached) eggs measured no more than 3cm by 3cm and could have been eaten as one mouthful. One evening for dinner I ordered the ‘scallops’ (plural) when ‘they’ arrived it was one scallop cut into three slices with some citrus fruit and that will set you back £8.50!!
We thought the dinner menu was limited and remained basically the same for the 4 nights of our stay (some slight adjustments were made to presentation and accompaniments) – lamb, steak, two fish dishes and a veggy option. If you don’t like fish, I do but and my husband is not a fan, this meant that he had the steak three times. We asked on the 3rd evening if the menu was going to change at all and we were asked what we’d like. We suggested a chicken dish. The following evening the person taking our order told us that the chef had prepared a chicken dish for us. It was delicious. We noted that other couples had lobster which wasn’t on the menu. We weren’t offered lobster so I guess those couples must have just asked like we did for the chicken. If you’re there for a few days and have tried all the things you like, I’d suggest asking, if there isn’t anything else on the menu that takes your fancy. It’s unlikely that you’d have an alternative on the night you ask though as my husband asked for chips with his steak as he’d had them the previous night and the server said she’d check if they had any potatoes!!!

The little niggles aside though, overall we loved this place, the location and the staff who are all friendly and helpful and we will visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Many thanks for postng your review, we are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay. We are currently looking at ways we can get round the situation with the windows of the room so this will not be an issue in the future. Myself and Head Chef are looking into the portion sizes of some dishes on the menus. Our dinner menu changes each month, however we will gladly order something in should any of our guests so wish on a particular evening, including crab and lobster. Unfortunately we have been delayed with repairs to the terrace due to circumstancess beyond our control, however we are pleased to say the works are starting on the repairs next week. Thank you again for posting and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Lugger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    203
    79
    66
    22
See reviews for
48
632
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

A short stay here 2 days ago was a well spent break,we booked last minute but had a splendid time. The staff and accomodation were v pleasant and efficient.Our requests for drinks and nibbles after a couple of lengthy coast walks,were no problem! The "Rattlers" cider went down a treat.Our room was comfy and clean and the food was 1st class.!!!Thankyou x

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matron13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your break here at The Lugger, many thanks for posting your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was our second stay at the Lugger the first being 26 years ago on our honeymoon! We have stayed in or near Portloe since at various cottages with our children and are well used to the narrow lanes. Some reviewers here have found these difficult but Cornwall is full of narrow lanes and I don’t think Portloe is unusual in that. Don't let the lanes put you off coming. There are some great costal walks however some of the paths are very over grown which has not been our experience in the past. Portloe was very quiet when we were here and there was little traffic going through the village itself. We love quiet places so it was perfect for us. Our room was spacious and the bed was enormous and extremely comfortable. Best 2 night’s sleep of the holiday. Our bathroom was right next to and overlooked someone’s private balcony which was a bit strange and slightly uncomfortable. It did mean we had to keep the blinds in the bathroom closed all the time. We did get over it though and it’s great to stay at a hotel that knows what a good shower should be like. Our bedroom overlooked the harbour which you could just about see over the private balcony. Next time I come I am staying in the room with the balcony as this room seemed to have the best view in the hotel. There are 2 parts to the hotel and we stayed in the main block. I think it is worth paying slightly more for a better room here. We had a DBB deal on the first night of our stay and it was a good deal. The food was fine although the dining room did lack any atmosphere. I felt a bit like I do in libraries when you immediately speak in whispers! However all the staff were lovely, cheerful, very helpful and professional. The second night we ate in the Ship in Portloe. The atmosphere was much more relaxed and the food here was brilliant. It was quite interesting to see that most dinners were those staying at the Lugger. Do book at the Ship if you go as it does get very busy. Breakfast at the Lugger was tasty but as someone else has said the cooked breakfast was not very plentiful. I was a bit surprised when I ordered poached egg and bacon to only have one egg and 2 very small rashers. There was no problem when I ordered another egg and made sure the next morning I made it clear how many eggs I wanted. The dinners that included my husband who ordered the haddock didn't get much more than a mouthful so I do think this is an area that could be improved. A lovely area to have breakfast is the bar area overlooking what was the balcony. The balcony at the Lugger was washed away in the awful storms last year and this is a real shame as there is nowhere to sit outside to watch the sea. Although the hotel have got another balcony in the other half this overlooks the entrance to the car park and it’s just not the same. I do hope that they are able to repair the sea balcony at some point as it is a real feature of the hotel. In all we had a fantastic two days stay, met some lovely interesting people and will make sure we don’t wait another 26 years before we visit again.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a superior room or above and ask for one with a view of the harbour or the sea. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spike5432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay. Myself and Head Chef will look in to the portion sizes of certain dishes on the menus. The next time you are visiting the area, call us directly at the hotel and we can check the availability of the terrace room for you. We are pleased to say the work on our terrace overlooking the harbour is due to start next week. Thanks again for posting and see you again sooon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I have just returned from a weekend break at The Lugger and having travelled extensively both in the UK and worldwide, I would say that it would be difficult to find a more perfect location for the money. First the good bits: Beautiful rooms, fluffy pillows and comfortable beds, best shower I have had in a hotel in a long time; little touches like home made cookies/cake & magazines in the room; very relaxed atmosphere and large squashy sofas where you can relax after a day out with a glass of wine. The restaurant was superb with an amazing view, fantastic food & service. Stunning coastal walks right from the front door. The bad bits: errrm, really can't think of any to be honest. Overall - 1st class British eclectic seaside chic. Word of warning though, the roads on the way there are extremely winding & narrow so be prepared as you may need the passing places!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redcoachh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for posting your lovely comments, it's great to read how much you enjoyed your stay and do we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemingford Abbots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

As part of our honeymoon tour of Cornwall we stayed at the Lugger.

We had a fantastic time there, food great, accommodation comfortable and superb view out of our window. We loved the fact the local fisherman carried on working right outside your window...even early in the morning!! all adds to the cornish feel !

Staff all friendly and great service, highly recommend this hotel, we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank briggo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
We are so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay here at The Lugger. It is great to be able to watch the fishermen at work and setting sail in the mornings. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Picked this small coastal hotel as it has been given good reviews in the press. Small compact and based by a small harbour. The room we had was in the main block there are others separate from the main hotel. Comfortable if cramped room . The en-suite strangely was adjacent to another room's private terrace ?? The staff are friendly and efficient but not very well drilled and can someone invest in a new belt for one of the waiters. Food was good if on the meagre side wine list was short but perfectly adequate. On the whole a really nice place to stay but could be magnificent with a little effort.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P5OGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Please be assured we take note of all guest feedback and use it as a guide for the training and development of the Team and where we can improve on the services and amenities we provide. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Thanks again for posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
497 reviews
240 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed in a sea view room which was lovely. Fantastic view of the harbour. Really comfortable beds, good size bathroom. Superb service throughout. Nice lounge areas for pre-dinner drinks. Our evening meal was excellent, the best of our 2 week Cornish trip, and amazing value for money with the DBB option. Great location if you are walking the SW Coast path. NB if moving onto trewiithian get evening meal supplies in the local shop here, otherwise you have a long walk to eat at the end of the next day! We've stayed on lots of super hotels and this joins the list, I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sophia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H, General Manager at The Lugger Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Many thanks for posting your lovely comments, we are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. The DBB option is great value to enjoy our 2 Rosette restaurant and The Lugger is indeed a great base for exploring the coastal footpaths. Thanks again for posting and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portloe
14.0 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
3.9 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#2 of 6 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lugger Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lugger Hotel

Property: The Lugger Hotel
Address: Portloe TR2 5RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Roseland Peninsula > Portloe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lugger Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lugger is nestled at the foot of a valley with picturesque cove and tiny harbour. Portloe is part of the beautiful Roseland Peninsula, surrounded by cliffs and headlands which form part of the Cornish Coastal Footpath. The Lugger sits right at the water’s edge in the very heart of the village and has been recently transformed following a major renovation programme. All the public rooms have been refurbished and greatly improved to offer comfort and functionality in the truly unique setting of this historic harbour. Luxurious touches throughout have helped the hotel to gain multiple awards, The Lugger has been named ‘Best Seaside Hotel’ by The Sunday Times, has featured on the Condé Naste Travellers ‘Hot List’ and also features in the Mr and Mrs Smith and Hip Hotels guidebooks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Lugger Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugger Hotel Portloe
The Lugger Hotel Portloe, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing