We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trehellas House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Trehellas House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washaway
Certificate of Excellence
Prayssac, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thank you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Never done this before but wanted to thank every one at Trehellas house hotel for the most fabulous stay. we booked fairly late for Christmas and new year enjoyed every minute of it.
We eat great food, our room was lovely and the staff could not of been more friendly. They all worked very hard to ensure we had a great time.
Highly recommend

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NIcky522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    94
    30
    5
    4
See reviews for
33
181
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wadebridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Sunday lunch which was also my birthday, was a most enjoyable meal, with well cooked fresh food (you can always tell!), a good welcome awaits patrons from all the staff and the service cannot be faulted. Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

We have been here before, once for evening meal and once for roast on a Sunday. The evening meal was about 2 years ago and was very good, as was the roast.

We visited here recently, the place has gone downhill. We had a roast on Christmas eve.

The beef was overdone, the Yorkshire and roasters were pre made and cooked from frozen.

The main course was no better than aeroplane food. Very disappointing.

This place is not cheap, but the quality of the food is no better than Weatherspoons.

Will not be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PH1LL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrehellasHouse, Owner at Trehellas House, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
I have waited to reply, as we catererd for 1500 + Pre christmas meals in December 2012, and this is the only negative comment as ot the 30th January 2013. You were asked during your main course if everything was ok, as we ask everyone, everything ok. I processed your account at the end of the meal and asked the same question. You did grunt a response which i didnt quite understand but it was not negative.
Before you write reviews you should take it up with the hotel or restaurant prior and give them the chance to sort out. I would have in this instance taken you into the kitchen and shown you that our potatoes & yorkshire puddings are not frozen but freshly cooked from fresh ingredients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton keynes
Level Contributor
118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed for one night at Trehellas Hotel & Restaurant. We arrived at 13-00 hours and had to leave at 14-00 for an appointment. We thought that we would have time to change and have a light snack, but discovered that the chef did not arrive until 14-00. The young lady on reception was very pleasant and helpful, and arranged for us to have coffee and biscuits. The room was very good but rather cold due to the weather and the fact that two of the four windows would not close properly, resulting in about a one inch gap exposing the elements. A heater was requested and promptly found.

We had booked a table in the restaurant for 19-15 and decided to have a leisurely drink in one of the cosy lounges first. We arrived at 18-30 and ordered two gin and tonics. The evening started very well, because when they arrived the tonic was seperate to the gin, allowing us to decide how much tonic to add. So very often it arrives with some of the tonic already poured. I like to taste the gin! A young lady took our food order and we ordered another drink about 10 minutes later. Before the drink arrived, we were told that our first courses were ready and that they would bring the drinks to us. We did not want gin and tonic at our table, so cancelled it, after all it was only 18-55 and the table was not booked until 19-15. What we would have liked is to have had another drink in the lounge and been able to order some wine for the meal in advance instead of at the table, resulting in the wine not arriving until after the first course. We had scallops with black pudding and a pea puree, and a pea risotto to start. What I found really odd was the fact that this was served with slices of fruit bread and an oil and balsamic dip. The dip was fine, but fruit bread, I dont think so. The fruit bread was then taken away and no furher bread arrived. For our main courses we ordered plaice ( which they kindly took off the bone) and venison. The food was good and well cooked. I had the scallops followed by the plaice, which was good, but when I order fish, I like to be able to taste the fish and not have it overpowered by spicy purees and accompaniments. I like spicy food when I am expecting it, but when there is no mention of "spiced" on the menu, then I am not happy. For desserts we had cheesecake and the cheeseboard. The cheesecake was fine, and so was the cheeseboard except that the five cheeses, slice of butter, 8 very thin and similar biscuits, grapes, celery and a ramekin of chutney were all crammed onto quite a small plate. Presentation and a variety of biscuits would have improved this immensly. After a good nights sleep we found ourselves back in the dining room for breakfast. The breakfast was excellent. Good hot food, hot plates, toast, juice, coffee, yoghurts, cereals and service,. Just what we needed for our long journey home.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank global traveller number one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

We have just returned from a weekend in Cornwall staying one night at the Trehellas House Hotel & Restaurant at Washaway, Bodmin before moving onto St Ives.
From the minute we were greeted by a lovely, friendly young lady on reception to the minute we checked out we thoroughly relished every minute the Trehellas House experience. The building is very old and full of character. It has quirky little nooks and crannies. It has been very tastefully and thoughtfully restored and has been kept loyal to its history whilst providing all the creature comforts.
We stayed in The Courtroom Suite. When we were shown to our room I can honestly say it took my breath away. It is stunning, as well as vast. It is again furnished with high quality items of period furniture. There was a lounging area with 2 x 3 seater sofas, 2 'Lazy Boy' leather armchairs, coffee table and flat screen TV and DVD player. There is a hospitality tray with a lovely selection of teas etc. The huge bed is on a raised area along with Chaise Longe and dressing table. The bathroom was, again, enormous with full sized bath, separate shower cubicle, bidet, WC and basin as well as free standing towel rail, occasional table and large armchair. Nice complimentary toiletries were also supplied and lovely fluffy towels.
Free WIFI was available throughout the Hotel.
We dined in the restaurant that evening. The food was fabulous, very nicely presented and served by very efficient and friendly staff. All of the produce is locally sourced and cooked to perfection.
Breakfast next morning was superb. Served in the bright and airy conservatory. A lovely buffet table with a large selection of cereals, fresh fruit, yogurts, juices. A very comprehensive breakfast menu to choose anything from a full English to smoked salmon and eggs. All cooked fresh to order and excellent quality produce. Piping hot with toast and tea or coffee in abundance.
The Hotel is set in beautiful picturesque countryside. We drove into Port Isaac (filming location of Doc Martin) which was about a 20 minute drive. Padstow is approx 14 miles away and so the location is ideal to explore the Cornish coastline and inland alike.
All in all, the Trehellas House Hotel & Restaurant more than exceeded our expectations. we will definately be returning and next time stay for 3 or 4 nights. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I cannot praise this place enough.
If you like Olde Worldy, traditional, period features you will love it here. If you like ultra modern, Ikea flat pack you'll hate it. It certainly floated my boat. Loved every minute.

Room Tip: The Courtroom Suite is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debdeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

Wet Wet Weather, Bargain Break, what a Bargain, a returning emigre home to Cornwall for a short break. Sadly the weather was so disappointing, but a little gem at Washaway washed away the moans about the weather.

Just excellent. A few minor niggles, but nothing worth mentioning. Nothing is perfection after all.

Room Tip: GradeTwo listed, but with double glazing keeping out any traffic noise (quiet ish road anyway ) We s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

I booked the Trehellas on short notice for a business trip - was a really lucky find. I had a single room in an outbuilding (converted stable?) which was big enough, if only just, with a very comfortable bed. I got there late so ate at the hotel; there is no bar, which is a bit odd and a bit of a shame. There's a lounge where you can see the menu and have a drink, but it's not like a proper bar. The menu was a bit odd: not cheap, with starters mostly around the £7 mark and main courses from about £15 - £25, but there is a set meal of steak and chips followed by sticky toffee pud for £15; that's what I had, and the steak was cooked just right - nice and rare - with excellent chips. I didn't really want a proper restaurant meal - as I was on my own I'd have been happy with a bar meal or similar, but this is a small hotel and so the choice is always going to be a bit limited. Breakfast was good with a range of cooked options including smoked haddock and the traditional full English; I had bacon and a poached egg, the service was fast and the food good. Home made preserves on the table was a nice touch.
I would stay here again - it's a nice friendly hotel without being too informal. The best features are the quality of the food, and the gardens looked well worth a visit if it ever stopped raining (so far, when I've been in Cornwall, the weather has been torrential). The worst features are the room temperature (was a bit cold) and the fact that there's no bar / informal bar meal option.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washaway
1.9 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
3.8 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
8.3 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bodmin Hotel
7.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley
BEST WESTERN Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trehellas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trehellas House

Property: Trehellas House
Address: Bodmin, Washaway, Bodmin PL30 3AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin > Washaway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washaway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Trehellas House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1745 this lovely building still retains its charm with its original stone floors and converted courthouse on the first floor. Now a comfortable hotel located close to Padstow & Fowey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Trehellas House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trehellas House Hotel Washaway
Trehellas Hotel Bodmin
Trehellas House Bodmin/Washaway, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing