We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous Moor”
Review of Trehellas House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trehellas House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washaway
Certificate of Excellence
Sunnyvale, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Marvelous Moor”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The Bodmin Moor is a fantastic place and it was a real pleasure to return to this delightful hotel for a delicious dinner, excellent wine, beautiful rooms and a staff that is eager to be of help. While close to a main roadway, our room was very quiet. Lovely walks may be taken from the hotel, so no vehicle is necessary. The bus stops close by, so getting to various other places is easy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shareen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    98
    32
    5
    4
See reviews for
33
191
21
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This lovely little hotel just keeps on giving. Please forgive me going on about this place but better value cannot be found anywhere in Cornwall.
Alastair and Debra are charming hosts and you feel like you are coming home.
The food whilst not haute cuisine is always delicious and plentiful. I restaurant seems busy with non residents which I always think is a good indication of it's quality.
The road is a busy one and perhaps some would find it disturbing, but good secondary double glazing keeps the noise out although as it was hot I would have liked to have opened it but too noisy.
I think the bedrooms need a bit of updating and please curtains that keep out the ever present security lights would be much appreciated

Room Tip: Charlestown is a nice room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alibear659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our night stay was outstanding. The room with a huge Queen size bed was very comfortable and there was an enormous bathroom. The food was excellent, staff very approachable, and we really enjoyed our stay. We would have stayed longer, but due to the Cornwall county show, the hotel was fully booked. We would certainly recommend this venue.

Room Tip: Can only comment on the Lostwithial room, that was excellent for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Beautifully decorated cottage-style building with dining room in the conservatory.

Even though the restaurant was not open they brought a cheese and biscuit platter up to our room as we were too tired to go out.

Very handy for the Camel Trail cycle trail which was accessed by a steep country lane about 400m up from the main road.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Benji4b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The room was one of the cottage rooms and was fine. It did face onto the main road but this did not disturb us. The breakfast was served next to the restaurant in a bright open conservatory area and was fine. We ate in the restaurant at dinner with only 2 other people and had a very disappointing meal and would not recommend it, maybe we just had a bad night !!!

I later saw that booking for the next day was half of what we paid by booking a month or so in advance !!

Room Tip: if a light sleeper check the room location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here for 1 night while travelling through Cornwall, from the moment we arrived we were met by friendly welcoming staff and that continued through out our stay. The room was clean and comfortable. We ate in the restaurant and was offered a drink in the comfy lounge before been shown to our table, evening meal and breakfast was excellent as was the service from all the staff, would recommend this hotel and would stay again. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bishops stortford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed for 4 nights for a base to tour Cornwall.We had a very clean and comfortable room in one of the cogttages on site.The staff are very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent.All in all a very enjoyable stay and very good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leslie030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washaway
1.9 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
185 reviews
3.8 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
286 reviews
8.4 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Westberry Hotel
Westberry Hotel
#5 of 9 in Bodmin
237 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Wadebridge
Travelodge Wadebridge
#2 of 4 in Wadebridge
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trehellas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trehellas House

Property: Trehellas House
Address: Bodmin, Washaway, Bodmin PL30 3AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin > Washaway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washaway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Trehellas House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1745 this lovely building still retains its charm with its original stone floors and converted courthouse on the first floor. Now a comfortable hotel located close to Padstow & Fowey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Trehellas House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trehellas House Hotel Washaway
Trehellas Hotel Bodmin
Trehellas House Bodmin/Washaway, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing