We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Radlett
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed for just one night but great value and so much more personality than a premier inn for less money.....well appointed room and good bathroom... Aircon and windows that actually open unlike so many chain hotels.... Friendly staff and secure car park and all a stones throw from watford. All in all what more could you want!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heesey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    34
    12
    3
    7
See reviews for
26
43
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

our extended family stayed here (all 13 rooms) last weekend for a birthday celebration, and we also booked the function room which we used over a period of 24 hours. the service from all the staff was good, but from the two managers it was totally faultless. nothing was too much trouble: support for various religious requirements; constant refills of jugs of water; requests to put things in and take things out of cupboards/offices/fridges; a variety of payment requirements from guests; and always with a cheery smile. breakfast was all good, although hot food took a long time to arrive. my only gripe: on both mornings as we walked through the bar to the restaurant, there was broken glass on the floor left from the night before. we had quite a lot of young children and toddlers in our party, and it was just not safe. I'm sure this would be an easy one to sort out.

Room Tip: there are a small number of rooms where the windows overlook the pub's outdoor seating area - in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahbuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Myself and 3 other family members stayed here 14th June before going to lords for the cricket on Sunday 15th., rooms were very clean and spacious, ALL STAFF were very welcoming and polite and couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was prompt non greasy and very nice indeed. I highly reccomend staying here as it's very good value for money all round. I will certainly use this hotel again in the future. Manager is doing a great job

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pangbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

A good Hotel/pub with rooms. Staff very helpful and friendly and helpful. Food very good in the restaurant in the evening.Served 14 of us and all meals came together and hot.
Bar snacks interesting and also good.Breakfast was freshly cooked and to a very good standard.
Rooms comfortable with a ironing board, helpful when you have creased luggage.
Word of warning if you have walking difficulties there are a steep stairs to the rooms.

Room Tip: If you have a room facing the front do not open the window,use the air con!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night mid week after myself and my husband had been to the harry potter studio tour. The hotel is in a lovely location and very easy to find. It has a nice private car park which you need a code to get in. It advises you ring a number and they will give the code.... the phone rang and rang and nobody answered. It's only because a car was leaving the car park that we got in without having to find somewhere else to park and go into the hotel. Check in was nice and easy and the room easy to find. The room was a good size and nice enough. My only niggles were the room had some damp on the wall, the bathroom had obviously had some poly fillering done and it wasn't painted over and we could not get the air con to work and room was very warm (we opened a window though).

We ate in the bar for our evening meal and breakfast the next morning. Both times the food was fab and service was great! They also let us take a drink from bar back to our rooms which we appreciate!

We would definately stay again if we were heading down to the area!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachael1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here on a Saturday night as we were in the area for a wedding reception. The hotel is in the perfect location. Lunch and breakfast was lovely. Rooms spotless and great power shower. The whole place is very clean and tidy and nicely decorated. Staff very polite, friendly and helpful. Seems a very popular place and rightly so. Would recommend and would stay again.

Room Tip: Designated car park for residents - just ask for the code when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Took half an hour to be checked in by a girl who appeared to know or care very little.
Non existent bar staff.
When checking out all of the drinks bought by the party of guests with whom we were staying were on my bill. When I pointed out that this was incorrect I was told that I should sort it out. They apparently had no responsibility for this error and clearly did not care.
Overall the performance and work ethic of the staff was very poor.
Generally I not receive value for money.
Will not be returning

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodM812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_and_Kayleigh, Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I have to say I am very disappointed to learn that you did not think your stay was good value. I do have a couple of points to make with regards to your comments.

1. Our bar was closed when you returned from your wedding - hence no bar staff - one imagines that you and your guests might not remember this too clearly as it had certainly been a long and 'tiring' day for you all.

2. We decided to serve your party in order to stop you all shouting - you and your party decided not to give individual room numbers for drinks with them all saying 'just put everything on one room and we'll sort it out in the morning' - which is exactly what happened!

3. Our receptionist would not have been privy to the goings on of the previous night and would only have a completed room account to issue, which in this case had the 'group round' on yours. I am sure you mean to say that it took half an hour to check out - I happened to be the person that checked you all in before 11am and recall it took only a few minutes. When every room has breakfast together then decides to check out together I'm afraid it can take time to check out and especially with the added pressure of removing or transferring items between rooms. I apologise if this inconvenienced you.

4.One of the ladies in your party had a small child with her and had not been partaking in the frivolities, may I suggest you clarify with her as she was good enough to apologise on everyone's behalf and explained to all of your party at check out the reason you had one big drinks bill.

kind regards,

Mark Crookshank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radlett
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn St. Albans/Bricket Wood Hotel
4.6 mi away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
7.2 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
3.4 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Property: Red Lion Hotel
Address: 78-80 Watling Street, Radlett WD7 7NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Radlett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Radlett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion, situated in beautiful Radlett Village, Hertfordshire is a 13 bedroom coaching inn for the 21st century.With 13 individually appointed, en suite modern rooms & complimentary Wi-Fi throughout, our rooms offer a home from home to travellers, whether on business or for leisure.Situated just 2 minutes from Radlett train station, London St Pancras & the underground are a short 25 minute journey making The Red Lion the ideal base to explore Hertfordshire, the capital & the beautiful surrounding area.You can always be assured a warm welcome & a great stay and room rates include a lovely breakfast from our continental buffet or a hot dish from our a la carte breakfast menu.Our dining options include our modern contemporary dining room, our popular bar areas & when the weather permits, alfresco on our terrace.With varied dishes to suit all palates, our kitchen team have created a seasonal, modern & traditional blend of meals which represent great quality & value.We look forward to welcoming you to The Red Lion, Radlett. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing