We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Lion Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Watford(Watford)
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elstree Inn(Borehamwood)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Ibis London Elstree Borehamwood(Borehamwood)(Great Value!)
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Borehamwood Studio Way(Borehamwood)(Great Value!)
US$52
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel(Watford)(Great Value!)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Village Hotel London Watford(Elstree)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
72
44
17
3
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
44
17
3
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubcafetiere coffeeshower controlsground coffeemy other halfpoached eggscar parkwhilst visiting familypleasant surroundingslovely hotelmodern bathroomgood sizebreakfast was includedthe room was nicelocation was perfectcheck in was easystayed here for one night
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed for just one night but great value and so much more personality than a premier inn for less money.....well appointed room and good bathroom... Aircon and windows that actually open unlike so many chain hotels.... Friendly staff and secure car park and all a stones throw from watford. All in all what more could you want!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

our extended family stayed here (all 13 rooms) last weekend for a birthday celebration, and we also booked the function room which we used over a period of 24 hours. the service from all the staff was good, but from the two managers it was totally faultless. nothing was too much trouble: support for various religious requirements; constant refills of jugs of water; requests to put things in and take things out of cupboards/offices/fridges; a variety of payment requirements from guests; and always with a cheery smile. breakfast was all good, although hot food took a long time to arrive. my only gripe: on both mornings as we walked through the bar to the restaurant, there was broken glass on the floor left from the night before. we had quite a lot of young children and toddlers in our party, and it was just not safe. I'm sure this would be an easy one to sort out.

Room Tip: there are a small number of rooms where the windows overlook the pub's outdoor seating area - in the summer these rooms are noisier at night.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sarahbuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Myself and 3 other family members stayed here 14th June before going to lords for the cricket on Sunday 15th., rooms were very clean and spacious, ALL STAFF were very welcoming and polite and couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was prompt non greasy and very nice indeed. I highly reccomend staying here as it's very good value for money all round. I will certainly use this hotel again in the future. Manager is doing a great job

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A good Hotel/pub with rooms. Staff very helpful and friendly and helpful. Food very good in the restaurant in the evening.Served 14 of us and all meals came together and hot.
Bar snacks interesting and also good.Breakfast was freshly cooked and to a very good standard.
Rooms comfortable with a ironing board, helpful when you have creased luggage.
Word of warning if you have walking difficulties there are a steep stairs to the rooms.

Room Tip: If you have a room facing the front do not open the window,use the air con!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night mid week after myself and my husband had been to the harry potter studio tour. The hotel is in a lovely location and very easy to find. It has a nice private car park which you need a code to get in. It advises you ring a number and they will give the code.... the phone rang and rang and nobody answered. It's only because a car was leaving the car park that we got in without having to find somewhere else to park and go into the hotel. Check in was nice and easy and the room easy to find. The room was a good size and nice enough. My only niggles were the room had some damp on the wall, the bathroom had obviously had some poly fillering done and it wasn't painted over and we could not get the air con to work and room was very warm (we opened a window though).

We ate in the bar for our evening meal and breakfast the next morning. Both times the food was fab and service was great! They also let us take a drink from bar back to our rooms which we appreciate!

We would definately stay again if we were heading down to the area!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachael1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews