We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Springwell Barn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rickmansworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Springwell Barn
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

A true gem, lovely peaceful setting beside the canal, yet good access to motorways. The annex room a delight, a very clean modern yet cottage rustic self contained room with comfortable bed, divine linen. Room has kitchen facilities, but the breakfasts provided are delicious. Highly recommend this gorgeous bed and breakfast. Terri and Ernest nz

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ernest S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

I stayed at Springwell Barn nearly every week for one year whilst I was commuting from France for work!
Springwell barn is tucked away beside the Grand Union canal in Rickmansworth and gave me a warm and wellcoming pied a terre whilst working in the UK. Very well situated - it was easy for me to reach the M25 to get to my place of work. It is very close to the town centre, only a few minutes drive ; Rickmansworth has a few foodstores and a good selection of restaurants.
Also when I needed to work from the barn, I was able to do so with reliable access to the internet.
Justine always made sure that I had everything I needed to feel comfortable and made me feel at home. A couple of times, I aslo stayed there with my family whilst visiting friends and family in the area. I highly recommend this little haven.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed for a few nights while visiting family in Rickmansworth and sightseeing in London. Never knew this kind of place existed, brilliant. Warm welcome from Justine who looked after us very, very well. Great breakfasts!

Backing onto the canal, they have a few canoes and a paddle board, great for the eldest of our children (14) not to mention the 'death slide' (flying fox). Cot for the baby was a help, and the barn was clean and fitted out well. TV, fridge and kitchenette was handy. Fantastic surroundings. Very close to Rickmansworth tube (by car) and also the M25 motorway. Recommend this place highly!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hedgiemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I had the pleasure of staying overnight. The experience was amazing down to the beautiful surroundings and the warmly welcome. Springwell Barn is a gorgeous wee place which has the gift of feeling like it is situated in the countryside but only minutes from the motorway. Cannot recommend this place enough.

As Arnie said - "I'll be back".

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Whilst searching for that elusive ground floor B&B accomodation at an afordable price, we stumbled across Springwell Barn situated twixt Rickmansworth and Uxbridge beside an idyllic unspoilt area of the Grand Union canal. What a gem and certainly a place to recommend to all our friends, especially if they have mobility problems.
We stayed in the self-contained en-suite Annexe room ... having an enormous comfortable bed (often a rarity in many b&b's today), with a kitchen dining and lounge area. Our hosts were a delightful welcoming young couple who made our stay in part of their wonderfully restored 17thC English barn, a most agreeable experience. We will return next year ... if only for the scrumptious breakfasts, great views, peaceful lifestyle and to renew friendships. Thanks.

Room Tip: Choice of 2 large ground floor rooms, but Annexe has easier direct access for those using a wheelcha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogSueStewuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

What a beautiful place to stay, seculded, peaceful, yet only (max) 10 mins from M25!
We were looking for somewhere localish to stay for our wedding night, and Justine couldnt have been more helpful.
We stayed in the annexe, which has a seperate door to the rest of the house allowing you to come and go at your leisure. We were able to drop our car off the night before the wedding and we were able to let ourselves into the annexe the following night without having to disturb anyone, or anyone disturb us.
The room, more of a suite, had a kitchenette and sofa, shower room and everything else you would want in a room.
The full English breakfast was delicious and to order (from the night before).
It is the higher end price wise, but for a special occasion, it was perfect, we were only sorry we couldnt spend longer enjoying the area!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beary88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Totally blown away by this property! Stunning location. Very warm welcome. Both rooms beautifully decorated, well equipped and spotlessly clean. Delicious breakfast. Don't serve evening meal but they were more than happy for us to get takeaway delivered. Larger of the rooms has kitchen and living area. This is a fantastic place to stay made extra special by the beautiful location and wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rickmansworth
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Watford (Croxley Green) Hotel
4.6 mi away
Best Western White House Hotel
2.7 mi away
No photo provided
Leafy Suburban Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Rickmansworth
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springwell Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springwell Barn

Address: Mrs J.Nye, Rickmansworth WD3 8UW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Rickmansworth
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rickmansworth
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Springwell Barn Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing