We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated ”
Review of Tamarind Thai Cafe

Tamarind Thai Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: 01923 897740
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

So this places always looks busy and that’s because it is tiny. We got out upstairs which has no atmosphere - would never guess it was a Thai restaurant by looking at it - just four tables, no music or decor. If you are sat upstairs also expect slower service. I ordered beef massamam but was later told they had ran out so I had chicken, this was literally chicken and potatoes in a sauce, no vegetables at all. To be fair you get a lot of rice, but it’s three quid for a portion of steamed rice it’s not even coconut rice so I suppose it’s quantity over quality. I can’t lie my friend had noodles with duck and the duck was delicious and that is the only reason this is getting two stars otherwise it would be a big fat one.

Date of visit: September 2018
3  Thank kellylou14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2018

Went last Saturday - it was really busy but we still had very good and friendly service - the food was delicious and not overpriced. We have already booked to go again.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

First of all £3.50 for a 330ml beer is way over priced in my opinion

Starters were very good but the chicken in my main was tough and over cooked

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank chriscrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Located a short walk from the station, this place has become our first choice when we don't want to cook after a long day at work.
We have always found the food to be of high quality and reasonably priced. Service is very swift and the staff are friendly and welcoming.
The decor is fairly basic, leaning more towards a cafe than restaurant so it's not somewhere we would go on a dedicated evening out or special occasion.
It can get very busy so it's best to either arrive early or book. They also do take-away but it's collection only.
We look forward to returning in the near future.

Date of visit: August 2018
3  Thank CharlotteAlice83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

We were looking for a Thai Restaurant with good food and stumbled across Tamarind on line. It’s cheap and cheerful but good food and friendly service.... starters were to die for. Main courses could have been a bit spicier but we will definitely be back to try some more

Date of visit: August 2018
3  Thank 196nikkiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamarind Thai Cafe also viewed

 
Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire
Watford, Hertfordshire
 
Watford, Hertfordshire
Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Tamarind Thai Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing