We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and good food”

The Oakmere House Harvester
Ranked #39 of 55 Restaurants in Potters Bar
Price range: US$4 - US$19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: At The Oakmere House Harvester in Potters Bar food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.If you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Potters Bar, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to South Mimms, Welham Green and Cuffley, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good value and good food”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is the first time I've been to the Oakmere for ages, and as its a Harvester now, I knew the food and prices would be good. I wasn't let down, good staff, quick service good food and value for money. Nice view over the lake of Oakmere park as well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColinHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Oakmere House Harvester, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
May we thank you for taking the time to give us such nice feedback, it is good to know that you found your visit to be a pleasurable experience, and we have replied to you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    44
    33
    47
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Packed”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Always packed this place, queues round the corner, chances of a table at any kind of peak-ish time are zero so what's the point? Wood Oven II down the road is a far better bet.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Oakmere House Harvester, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for leaving your review. Your feedback is most appreciated and will be noted by everyone at Harvester The Oakmere House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengeo, Hertford
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good value for money!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We have been to lots of Harvesters and found this to be above average. Nice building off the High Street with lots of parking. Pay and get a refund when you pay your bill. Visited on a Tuesday lunchtime quite a few other customers but not heaving.

Service was prompt and friendly, we requested our drinks to be brought immediately and they were, the meal followed around fifteen minutes later, just right. Used the salad bar as starters. It was attractive, fresh and well stocked. Food was good, I had the chicken and mushroom stack and my wife had fish and chips. Delicious, fresh hot and appetising. With a glass of house wine and a pint of San Miguel the total bill came to just over £18.00. We had a £5.00 promotional voucher which reduced the bill to just over £13.00.

Great price for a decent lunch in nice surroundings. We will be returning. Would recommend.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank flossie1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Oakmere House Harvester, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for your positive review following your recent visit. We are passionate about getting it right and your feedback will help us to achieve this aim. We really hope you will visit us again and we have sent you a personal reply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Cheap cheerful and excellent value”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We popped in Saturday and although busy the staff were all friendly and on the ball. Our glasses of tap water arrived promptly. The salad bar was fresh and inviting, the brown roll I had was delicious and the pasta dish I chose was excellent value at a fiver and tasty and filling. Together with a nice bottle of wine this was a very pleasant meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Oakmere House Harvester, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for your kind review. All the staff here find it very encouraging to see positive feedback, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the experience when you visited us recently. We would love you to visit again, and have replied to you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just average”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

You get what you pay for.

Food took way to long to arrive and they weren't that busy. Food is average. Salad is quite simply tasteless. Initially we were overcharged but as soon as we queried it the waitress knew what was wrong without being prompted. Begs the question as to why she didn't get it right first time. One of the few times I haven't tipped

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SirBagalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Oakmere House Harvester, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to Harvester The Oakmere House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Oakmere House Harvester also viewed

Potters Bar, Hertfordshire
Potters Bar, Hertfordshire
 
Potters Bar, Hertfordshire
Potters Bar, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Oakmere House Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing