We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food in an average pub” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Builders Arms

Builders Arms
Ranked #32 of 51 Restaurants in Potters Bar
Cuisines: Pub, Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London
Level Contributor
89 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Average food in an average pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Used to be my local 25 years ago and I was quite excited to return. McMullens beer was still there which was a trip down memory lane but the food was nothing to write home about - although it was served with a smile.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clive063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    7
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pleasant pub, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Went here for the first time on a Friday for lunch with some friends. It was off the beaten track and if I hadn't have been told about it I wouldn't have known it was there. It's a McMullens pub, so food was just normal 'pub food' but was nicely presented and the staff were extremely pleasant and friendly. It was quiet, which we considered great, (lovely to hear yourselves talk) with a few people scattered around the pub.Don't know what it's like a busier times.Would definitely go again though.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Way2go20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Pub, Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Definitely recommend this pub for its food and ambience. Lots of parking, good selection of beers. Great selection of food on the menu and staff were helpful and courteous. Worth a visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank louise_payne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“My Local”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

I was very surprised by the review from ihscontrol but do understand that from time to time things can go wrong, even in the best places. I use the Builders' Arms as my local and find the food is generally good quality and fair value. It is not cordon bleu, but the specials are usually well prepared and in decent portions. The staff are friendly and efficient and try to be accommodating. The range of McMullen's beers is good, as are the wines. Sunday lunch is available in three sizes, small, medium or large to cater for different appetites. It can be quiet, as it is in the middle of a upper-market residential area, away from the town centre, but that can be a plus point if you don't want a crowded pub. The interior is traditional, although modernised a few years ago and has an eclectic charm. I have found most of my friends always say how nice to find a traditional pub that has not been turned into a gourmet theme place

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice Pub, Nice Service,Terrible Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

I ordered the double burger and it arrived totally incinerated. The waitress took my complaint to the chef and the answer was that he wold have a word with the butcher! I suggested that they removed it from the bill which they did. I was offered an alternative, but that would have put me out of sync with my wife who was eating an okay scampi. We were offered a free dessert and decided to share a Belgian waffle. It wasn't cooked in the centre! Truly horrible. We spoke to a couple of friends who are regulars at the pub. They said that they never ate there s the food was so bad. A pity, because the service is friendly and the ambience is good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lhscontrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Builders Arms also viewed

Potters Bar, Hertfordshire
Potters Bar, Hertfordshire
 
Potters Bar, Hertfordshire
Potters Bar, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Builders Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing