We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay for 2”
Review of Hotel van Dyk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel van Dyk
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clowne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Having booked here for a cheeky night away we was rather surprised by it all a lovely meal created with love and passion lovely rooms very clean and welcoming and lovely staff highly recommend to friends and family and will defiantly be return for another stay and meal

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supernurse13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GailEyreHotelVandyk, Owner at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

We are glad that you chose hotel van dyk for your cheeky night away, thank you for your compliments and look forward to welcoming you both again when you can sneak out for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

We had another celebration meal at Van Dyk's and were just as thrilled as last time. The management advertise it as "affordable luxury" and they provide exactly that. We go early as you cannot book a table for two in the Grill Room but this quite suits us anyway. The setting, including the superb toilets, is very clean and well presented if a little bit fussy for some tastes. There is, however, quite an informal, relaxed atmosphere with service that is very attentive and well organised but not pushy or patronising. The meals are beautifully presented and very appetising. My wife was going to treat herself to a steak and she was guided towards a fillet, not on the menu and a bit more expensive, £27, but was perfectly cooked and well worth the money. As it was my birthday I indulged in a desser and the mini toffeee apple creme brulee was about the most deliciously sinful delight. On our previous visit we had been introduced to their reward club meaning that we received a 20% discount as it was mid-week ensuring that the whole bill for 2 starters, 2 main courses, 2 desserts coffee and a bottle of Merlot and a sparkling water was just over £80. Affordable luxury indeed. we plan to go back for my wife's birthday and try their poular fish and chips, if I have walked off the effects of the creme brulee of course!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnescyril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GailEyreHotelVandyk, Owner at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, your compliments have been passed on to our chef's and to the staff, our pad specials are available at the weekend additional to our chfs recommendations and standard menus.
Our loyalty card is a fantastic way of us saying thank you for your continued custom and loyalty to our hotel, we introduce different monthly offers and discounts for everyone who has a card and everything you spend gives you points to spend anytime you wish.
My family and our team all look forward to welcoming you back to try our fish and chips very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My family and I were guests at a friends wedding We were asked by the bride and groom to stay overnight and enjoy thier SPECIAL DAY. They booked us a FAMILY room knowing that we have a 14 year old son. After the ceremony we went to get our keys for our room so that we could relax and chill out for the afternoon, only to be told out SON was too old to stay in the room and that we would have to pay for another room for him to sleep in at £150. We refused this and were not allowed the keys to our room. After many discusions with some patronising staff and after many upset people including the bride and groom, at 10.30pm at night we were offered a room free of charge. Too late the day had been ruined for us. I wrote to the Hotel via recorded delivery and had no reply until two months after when I rang and spoke to the owner. But after all of this and the amount of money that must have been taken at the hotel on this supposidly SPECIAL and UNFORGETTABLE DAY, we were charged the full amount £150 for the room which we were not even allowed to have the keys for. I find this amazing that we were not offered somthing in a form of componsation towards a ruined day for us. Please beware if you are booking at this hotel apparently YOUR SON /DAUGHTER is not allowed to sleep in the same room as you after they reach 14 and you will not be advised of this. Very Unhappy disappointed and will not advise anyone to use this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GailEyreHotelVandyk, Owner at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Our z beds, due to safety reasons, are only suitable for children 12 years and under, this is told to everyone who request them. You were told that a single room was available next door to the room you had booked which your son could have, this was priced at £99 with a £20 discount making the cost £79 including breakfast for that room not £150 as you have stated, you were not offered a free room at all, you had been offered a room which the groom had booked and paid for their band to use for showering and changing, this was offered to yourself by the groom after you had complained to numerous guests that evening including the bride and groom. You were not refused the keys to the room you had booked, you were just told that a z bed could not be put into this room for your son. Our 48 hour cancelations policy meant that you would be charged in full if you chose not to stay at our hotel, this is told on booking and printed on all receipts.
My Reception staff, events manager and also myself tried very hard to please you on this night, but were told by yourself that no matter what we did or said you would not be staying or paying any amount for the room which you had booked, the result of this was that your evening had been spoiled only by yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We got married here in August, and it was the most perfect day. Much of this can be attributed to the wedding planners, Natalie and Angela and the amazing chef they have. We booked our wedding 8mths before, and had several meetings, mainly with Natalie. She was really helpful and seemed to understand what we wanted from the day. Angela ran most of our day and was excellent.

Venue - the room looked amazing, and we were fortunate enough to use the outside terrace for drinks and canapés, the garden may be small but it is lovely and is great for having pictures taken, yet still feeling like you are party of the party - I.e. you are not dragged to some remote location away from everyone else! The ballroom when done up is truly stunning.

The food - one of the main reasons we booked van dyks is we love going their for meals - the food on the day did not fail to disappoint. So many of our guests commented that this was the best food they had experienced at a wedding. The choice we could pick from was also very good, and the choice for the evening buffet was also good.

Service - service on the day was faultless. There is nothing further I can say on this!

Hotel rooms - I think they are all different, the bridal suite was amazing, and the other rooms we saw all looked great, all a good size and nicely furnished. Isn't we had had more time to spend in it!

Breakfast - again this did not disappoint, we had the added extra of breakfast afternoon tea style which was lovely.

If I was to describe our day I would say perfect and faultless, I would recommend this as a wedding venue to anyone.

It really annoys me when people complain about the price of drinks here - they are exactly what you expect to pay at any quality hotel!! The price of the food in the grill is very reasonable, if you want cheap drinks go to wetherspoons.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMTSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GailEyreHotelVandyk, Owner at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Congratulations to you both on your wedding day, my family and I would like to thank you for choosing hotel van dyk for your special day.
Thank you for your wonderful review, your compliments have been passed on to everyone and have been received with much pride.We all look forward to welcoming the two of you on many future occasions.
Wishing you health and happiness in your married life together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

I didn't stay at the hotel for the wedding bu overnight, based on the rest of the hotel, I wish I had. We arrived at Van Dyk's at lunchtime, as the ceremony was at 13.30. It looks very unassuming as you turn onto the drive from the road, but the gardens & decking area are very pretty & made for some lovely photos.
The hotel itself is very stylishly decorated, and the staff are very helpful & polite, nothing was too much trouble. The wedding meal was absolutely beautiful, and I will be back to sample the normal daily menu.
The drinks are obviously pricier than normal, but that is to be expected in such a venue.
This was honestly one of the best weddings I have been to in a long time &, apart from the fabulous company, it was the effort put in by Van Dyk's & their staff that made it so special.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Racey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GailEyreHotelVandyk, Owner at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for your review, your compliments are very much appreciated by everyone, we are all happy to know that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My wife and I attended our grandson's wedding at Hotel Van Dyk and - from the moment that we arrived to the moment that we left - we were overwhelmed by the standard of service. The food, from welcoming drink and canapes to the wedding toasts and - later - the evening buffet, was delicious and the staff were first class and very friendly. Every detail had been well thought out and carried out so fluently and, apparently, effortlessly. We would certainly recommend Hotel Van Dyk to anyone, without hesitation. Keith B.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbingle_943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GailEyreHotelVandyk, Owner at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we are all pleased to hear that everything went to plan for your grandson's wedding day, here at Hotel Van Dyk we all take great pleasure in helping to make your special day memorable. On behalf of my familiy and our team i would like to say Congratulations to your grandson and his new wife and wish them much happiness and good health in their future life together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Had a meal here at the Grill with a couple of friends last Friday night. The venue is beautiful with many little nooks and crannies where you can sit. Food was lovely and service excellent. Disappointed to be charged £1.60 for a pint of soda water to have with the wine though- around where I live, it is free! Naturally, drinks were a tad more expensive but this was, in my opinion, a bit much. Also, had Lemon Meringue for pudd, but no meringue to be seen! Delicious nevertheless. Would recommend as a treat once in a while.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Janini45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GailEyreHotelVandyk, Owner at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

We are all happy to know that you enjoyed our hotel and our food but sorry to learn that you felt the dessert wasn't satisfactory, if you make someone aware we are always willing to change any dish that is unsuitable for whatever reason as we want you to enjoy your whole experience here at Hotel Van Dyk. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clowne
7.5 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,487 reviews
11.7 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
864 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
5.4 mi away
Best Western Lion Hotel
9.5 mi away
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Hellaby Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellaby
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel van Dyk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Dyk

Address: Worksop Road | Clowne, Clowne, Chesterfield S43 4TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Clowne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clowne
Price Range: £93 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel van Dyk 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Van Dyk is an outstanding example of a grade II listed building,it is family owned and managed and the impressive facade and opulent interior, provides an elegant atmosphere, for the ultimate dining experience within Albert's grill room or the Bowden Restaurant. The 15 individually designed ensuite bedrooms compliment the hotel perfectly, for any guests wishing to stay within Chesterfield area.Located near to the M1 and A1 motorways,the hotel provides the ideal location for casual or eligant dining,evening live entertainment show's as well as Small business meeting's and lunches, whilst also offering tailor made packages for Weddings, Private Parties and festive Celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel van Dyk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Dyk Hotel
Van Dyk Chesterfield
Hotel Van Dyk Clowne, Chesterfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing