We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for weddings”
Review of Hotel van Dyk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel van Dyk
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clowne
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect for weddings”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I had my wedding reception here on the 16th August...Natalie and her team were AMAZING from start to finish everything was professional and of a very high standard; they dealt with things quickly and not once did we feel we needed to deal with anything that arose on the day. The honeymoon suite was stunning and the rest of the rooms were beautiful. The venue itself gives the ambience of old Hollywood glamour and was exactly what we wanted. The food was amazing and all of our guests loved it. Thank you so much for making our wedding reception perfect.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank giraffe1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    59
    66
    36
    46
See reviews for
158
99
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I purchased a voucher from amazon local for afternoon tea for my husbands birthday , the voucher was £29 for 2 people giving me a discount of 50% , this was the most expensive afternoon tea on offer and I was expecting something very special . On arrival we were Seated and the service was ok but we were so disappointed with the tea . There weren't enough sandwiches at all and although the cakes were nice they were nothing special , it just wasn't worth £29 and I can't imagine anyone paying the full price of £58 for what we had . I was so very disappointed .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Remembered this place from years ago and thought it central to meet up with old friends. Sat outside with drinks whilst we perused the menu, and ordered almost everything to suit all our appetites, little and large. Inside the restaurant was busy, but the service was perfect, all courses served correctly and it seemed as though nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Finishing with our coffees and tea outside, one of my friends commented so glad she came, had been put off by a previous review!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank golfmadviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Called in last week with some business contacts and had a great time, we had a table in the corner so we did not disturb anyone, quick service as we needed to be away quickly, the food choices, we shared, where excellent, the waiters knew we where on a time line and sorted it perfectly...well done, got to be one for lunch

Room Tip: Nice place, close to motorway, food very good and staff looked after us, makes a change from the big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Visited Van Dyk last Wednesday evening, for a 60th birthday meal, and sadly the whole event was far below what I would have expected from the hotel. The restaurant wasn't busy, and we were show to our table immediately. We ordered wines, both red and white - the wine waiter seemed to have no idea what to do. We explained that we each needed two glasses, as we were starting with white etc. We had to wait 45 minutes for our starters, and then when they arrived one was cold, two were tepid, and one was microwave hot. The cold dish - ham and eggs) was a real disappointment, as it was really tasty. A second bottle of white wine had been ordered as we had waited so long, and that was just dumped into the ice bucket -not even opened.
We had struggled to choose our main courses. The pork was off, no lamb, two beef choices (one was Bourguignon - and this was a very warm evening) and about six chicken dishes.) One of our party went for a cut of beef I had never heard of (cote de boeuf), and looked like an old goat's leg when it arrived, and apparently wasn't as good as that. Two went for fish and chips, which were OK, but tepid, and one for jerk chicken, which was OK.

One pudding was OK and the cheese was fine.

As you can read, it just was a very average to disappointing evening. The service was poor and attention to detail non existent. I expected better from this lovely restaurant.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Woofh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Went here for a meal as we are interested in getting married here, and was not disappointed. The service was perfect and the food was sublime! The hotel itself is perfect and beautiful, and the surroundings are also nice. I genuinely cannot fault the place. Thanks for a great time!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexgw91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Chose the restaurant for an anniversary celebration. We'd dined here previously and enjoyed nice food and exemplary service.
However, we started the evening with champagne and both the white and rose were decidedly lacking in sparkle for the £20 plus price tag. I commented on this to the barman who said there was no way of telling how long the bottles had been opened !
The meal in the restaurant was professionally delivered as you'd expect at circa £50 per head.
The problem occurred with the crab cakes of which 2 out of 3 contained fragments of shell :(
I commented again on both occurrences and my disappointment at the point of payment and was met with a surly response. "Did you drink it - did you send the crab cakes back ?
Well no I didn't. I wanted a stress free enjoyable meal and that is not what I received.
The reaction was less than professional and unsatisfactory and not at all what I would have expected.
Very disappointing.
Would I send things back mid meal next time ? No. I wouldn't risk visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
10 Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clowne
7.5 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,348 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ibis Chesterfield North
#1 of 1 in Barlborough
529 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
214 reviews
11.7 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
732 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel van Dyk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Dyk

Property: Hotel van Dyk
Address: Worksop Road | Clowne, Clowne, Chesterfield S43 4TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Clowne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clowne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel van Dyk 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Van Dyk is an outstanding example of a grade II listed building,it is family owned and managed and the impressive facade and opulent interior, provides an elegant atmosphere, for the ultimate dining experience within Albert's grill room or the Bowden Restaurant. The 15 individually designed ensuite bedrooms compliment the hotel perfectly, for any guests wishing to stay within Chesterfield area.Located near to the M1 and A1 motorways,the hotel provides the ideal location for casual or eligant dining,evening live entertainment show's as well as Small business meeting's and lunches, whilst also offering tailor made packages for Weddings, Private Parties and festive Celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel van Dyk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Dyk Hotel
Van Dyk Chesterfield
Hotel Van Dyk Clowne, Chesterfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing