We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost good, but could have so easily been excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brimington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2011

It's totally frustrating to find a nice place like Ringwood Hall only to be let down by attention to detail. We booked one of their apartments, which was very nice, a kitchen with full oven, hotplates, etc. but NO knives for preparation, only cutlery for eating!! When querying this at reception we were told they didn't supply knives. Now, I don't know how many international travellers carry cooking knives in their suitcase, we we are not one of them. We went to open a bottle of wine - no corkscrew!! Reception sent someone down with one, but we had to open the wine then as he needed it for that night. Forget wine the second night we were staying. Apart from the rubbish not being removed from the previous tenant, perhaps an oversight, I would have been more than happy with our apartment

I am writing this review from the brickwall outside our apartment. Not exactly the best place to be as it's quite cold. If you are offering internet service, then quite frankly I expect it to be supplied. I don't expect to have to have intermittent service, or to have to go outside to have a connection, not at the prices that Ringwood Hall charge. If you get the feeling I'm ot happy, you're right.

So, unfortunately, I would have to say Ringwood Hall have not provided, what should have been an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiDiY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2011

Our occasionally intermittent wifi is, understandably, irritating. These are the occasions when I truly wished the hotel was more "purpose" built. Accommodation spread over several acres in Victorian build are wonderful, unique and charming, but not without challenges, even in the high technology of the 21st century.
No excuse for the lack of a corkscrew - of course standard equipment for a luxury apartment, especially as quality glassware and a chilling facility are provided. Most probably removed by the previous guest. I believe we had over 2 dozen taken (by mistake of course) last year!! That said the roommaid who serviced the apartment should have noticed when she checked the inventory. But then she missed the refuse too, for which there is no excuse!!
As for knives. Well, I think the phrase "damed if you do.....damned if you don`t" comes to mind.
The cooking knives were recently removed when an unhappy parent gave us some constructive ffedback about the presence of sharp knives in an open plan appartment accommodating children.
Our appartments located in the gardens with private parking facilities, are very unique, very special and attract considerable praise from our clients. Sorry that you were disappointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,029)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

957 - 963 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2011

I've stayed here a couple of times on business recently and found it to be just the job. Friendly staff, nice big room and an excellent breakfast - no scrimping! The leisure centre is fine and the grounds are lovely. I got a good discount off the normal rate on late rooms. Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mugshot42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2011

Delighted that you found the hotel "just the job".
Our friendly staff do like to make it "home from home" for our guests, especially for those away on business who are trying to avoid the bland souless hotels where they just feel processed!
Sometimes we think we should supply slippers as you check in!!
We look forward to welcoming you back on many future occasions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We have just returned from a marvellous 2 night break at the Ringwood Hall Hotel. We cannot express enough how much we enjoyed our stay. From the moment we checked in we realized the friendliness, the professionalism, and the courteousness of the entire staff. The hotel is decorated and furnished to a high standard throughout and everywhere was immaculate. The buffet breakfast offered a very good choice of everything you could have wished for and the evening meals were exceptional, offering a good choice and everything being cooked to order. The staff were very professional but we felt the most important thing was that they all gave you that personal touch, which you do not find very often these days. They were a credit to the Hotel. The Ringwood is family run and this was evident throughout particularly with the quality of the staff. This hotel is very popular for weddings, particularly at weekends. This is not surprising with the beautiful Hall and the magnificent grounds, which are also immaculately maintained.We found the hotel perfect for a midweek break and for visiting Chatsworth House and the surrounding area. We could not fault anything and the beautiful room and the meals were exceptional value for money. We would have no hesitation in visiting this hotel again and maybe next time hopefully have time to use the marvellous spa facilities or just spend time relaxing in the gardens.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fibonacci24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2011

So delighted that you had such a pleasant break at Ringwood Hall Hotel.
We take a pride in the friendly and attentive service that we provide and we do, indeed, consider ourselves fortunate that the owners invest considerably in the upkeep of the building and gardens.
Thankyou for your lovely comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Myself and my partner decided to stay overnight at the venue whilst attending a friends wedding and we're so glad we did. The "Charlie Markham" feature room had a spacious modern bathroom with large corner bath and a high end finish throughout the room, very impressed!
The wedding itself went perfectly, the food was excellent, the hotel grounds were very well looked after and much larger than we anticipated!

Room Tip: well worth a visit, gorgeous venue with lovely g
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeyp20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

being disabled in a wheelchair ,makes finding suitable accomodation difficult , but my stay here was excellent. purpose built wet room a rare find. the staff very friendly and helpful. the food good
.my wife enjoyed some pampering with a facial and back massage.(booking in advance is necessary)
cant wait to go back again

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cs462772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

I stayed here for four nights, during which I attened a wedding. If you're hosting a wedding then you can stop worrying that it won't turn out good. They are clearly masters at the whole process and even though they had four evening parties on one night across the hotel you still felt that yours was the only one there. And it's wonderful to walk back to the room when you want to change or have a break.

I had a cheaper deal (£65) for a solo room, which turned out to be two beds. As usual for me when travelling solo my room is at the furthest point from reception. However, on the plus side there was a fire escape door nearby that opened up to the gym which was nice and handy. The gym itself is very small and some of the equipment bizarre to work out but I still managed to use it. The pool was small and looked really nice and I wished I'd had time to dive in during my stay.

The staff were very friendly on the whole but I was surprised when checking in that my request for a local map/guides to look at things to do was met with a simple "no". I thought it was South Yorkshire charm but she was very serious and very unhelpful as a result! The emphasis on weddings/parties shows at this hotel because before and after the event the bar areas were nearly always empty. When I checked out on the monday I thought I was one of the last left in the entire hotel so it can feel a bit empty there. Also, I noticed a big variety in the make up of the rooms, with some have baths at the end of the bed! (I noticed this when rooms were being cleaned and not because I was sneaking in I hasten to add!)

There's a fancy restaurant there but I couldn't afford that so when I asked reception for alternatives I was ubruptly told there was a local pub four minutes walk away. I went and it turned out to be a local pub in the middle of a Friday party night preparing to start the Karaoke. I had one of those "is the music going to stop" moments when I entered the pub and it wasn't too friendly to be honest. And they'd stopped the food at 8pm as well. Maybe it would be different with a group but it's definitely a lads type bar at the weekend!

Location wise, it's close to Barrow Hill Engine Shed which is interesting (and free) if you like historic trains. It's only open to the public at the weekends. Chesterfield's new football ground is just a short taxi ride as is the town centre, which is quaint but I only visited briefly. I went to Matlock and Derwent Valley area mainly and that was very beautiful and interesting too. Look out for a John Smedley factory clothing sale as they are sometimes held and I got some very good deals there.

Anyway, II'd describe the hotel as nice and just about ok at the price I paid. There was very little noise in the hotel at night and the shower was good too. The bed was a bit spongey but okay. If you want to do things at night, however, you'll need a car to get anyway really.

To clarify my recommendation I would only do so for a wedding or event at the hotel, or if you're prepared to use it as a base and drive to everything.

Room Tip: Ive yet to work that one so far!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LawrenceDWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Came here with family and young child to a Mother's day event and It was the best Mother's day I've ever had! Wanted somewhere a bit different and special to book for my mum for Mother's day and also myself and it was that in every way. I really enjoyed the structure of the event where we was sat down in the relaxed bar with drinks and food orders taken before taken into the posh light, open dining room for the meal. The service was excellent, very fast and efficient and was on hand as soon as needed. During eating plates were taken straight away and another course fetched as soon as. Service to my little girl was also excellent chair pushed in for her and serviette placed on her knee. Face painting was there for my little girl which she enjoyed and a pianist played gentle music throughout the meal.
The halls grounds was very pretty with all the daffodils and could see the summer flowers approaching, Was very interesting to walk around as there was lots of little what I call 'secret gardens' . Magnificent, open views and overall just had the best Mother's day experience ever. Thank you to Ringwood Hall xx

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debby008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brimington
1.8 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,462 reviews
6.2 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
824 reviews
20.1 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
330 reviews
4.9 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
235 reviews
22.1 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ringwood Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringwood Hall Hotel

Address: Ringwood Road | Near Chesterfield, Brimington, Chesterfield S43 1DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Brimington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brimington
Price Range: £81 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ringwood Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ringwood Hall Hotel is a beautiful Georgian grade 11 listed Manor House set in 29 acres of grounds, with six acres of award winning formal gardens. The hotel is easily accessed from junctions 29 & 30 of the M1, with free parking for over 150 vehicles. The hotel is set at the gateway to the magnificent Peak District National Park, while Chatsworth House, Bolsover Castle, Hardwick Hall and the many varied attractions of the Peak District are within easy travel. Ringwood Hall Hotel offers 74 en-suite bedrooms including several suites, four posters and ten feature rooms which have king or queen sized beds, power showers or corner baths. The hotel has a unique Victorian kitchen garden where herbs and vegetables grown are used in the food served in our Coach House Dining Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ringwood Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringwood Hall Chesterfield
Hotel Ringwood Hall
Ringwood Hall Hotel Chesterfield/Brimington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing