We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Craic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brimington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Dawn and I got married on the 6th of July 2012 in Ringwood Hall in the Ringwood Suite. We booked it in September 2010 and for nearly two years leading up to the wedding the staff were absoluetly fantastic. I would call them professional and so much more, they became our friends. They are a business and like any business they want to make money, but the difference is the personal touches and greetings they gave us on every occasion we went to see them. John was our first appointment and after meeting him we booked on the spot. We met all the wedding staff over the next two years. We watched the staff in action at other weddings as we waited for appointments. Never once did we feel like we had chosen the wrong venue or people. We stayed from the 5th to the 8th July with our wedding on the 6th. The hotel facilties were more then adequate to meet the needs of us and our wedding party. Three nieces and nephews all under five years old loved the grounds and swimming pool facilites and Chesterfield is minutes away to vist the Spire and markets. Debbie was our MOC for the wedding and was fantastic, always on hand when needed and always ready to advise of timings etc.

John Ferguson had promised us sunshine for our wedding day as we were getting married in the grounds, unfortunatly he couldnt keep his promise but the staff did an amazing job of turning the Ringwood Suite around in time to host the ceremony and then again to host the wedding Breakfast.

From the cleaners up to the management everyone deserves credit, always friendly and welcoming and a major credit to the hotel.. I've not even mentioned the rooms, they are superb, dont take my word for it.. go and see for yourself and fall in love with the place like we did.. a must see

Stephen & Dawn Clarke

Room Tip: We had the Hardwick Suite, beautiful room
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Thankyou Dawn and Stephen for your amazing review which we were thrilled to read.

It really was our pleasure to liase with you throughout the two years leading up to your wedding day as you were such a lovely couple, full of fun and a pleasure to work with.

It was very disappointing that the sun did not shine (although we try never to promise this !!) and that despite the constant rain you did not let that spoil your day. In fact, if anything it increased the sense of togetherness within you group of family and friends.

Your kind words in respect of all the staff throughout the hotel are greatly appreciated and we are delighted that you "fell in love with us" and we hope that you will keep returning.

Typically the following day was dry and sunny, but at least your close family and friends stayed over the weekend with you to celebrate your mum`s birthday, so you were able to enjoy sunshine in the gardens the following day.

I hope you don`t mind me adding that your wedding took place on the same day with the constant rain as the wedding generating the two earlier reviews about our wedding organisation being poor. Hard to understand such conflicting information !!

Looking forward to seeing you on the 6th July 2013 as I know you will be returning as we have discussed, but maybe before then if you get the opportunity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,025)
There are newer reviews for Ringwood Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

871 - 877 of 1,025 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

We celebrated our wedding on Sunday 15th July 2012 and would like to convey our thanks to all the staff at Ringwood. We took advantage of a late availability deal but even though we did not have a great deal of time to plan the wedding we were greatly helped by Mandy and Lindsay the wedding co-ordinators. We stayed on the Saturday night with some friends and family and from the minute we walked in the service was superb and nothing was too much trouble for the wonderful staff. On the day of the wedding the organistaion was superb and a special thanks to our MC Lyndon who was very professional and despite some last minute timing changes made sure everything ran smoothly. The food was excellent all weekend and all our guests who stayed commented on how much they had enjoyed the weekend. I cannot recommend this venue highly enough for a wedding and for anybody who is thinking of booking a wedding here don't hesitate! Nick & Julie Atkinson.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to put your lovely review on, and in particular for expressing your appreciation for the support and advice that you were given by both Mandy and Lindsay as you planned towards the day. Late availability bookings do tend to have a short lead in time but that can be quite fun as it`s almost like a whirlwind of excitement as plans come together much more quickly. Of course the huge advantage is in respect of the discounts to normal brochure prices which is also a great help.

Your recommendation is greatly appreciated as is the special mention made of Lyndon.

Delighted that you had such a wonderful day with every aspect of the presentation and service being excellent, and we look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back we hope on your first wedding anniversary if not before.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Just a quick note to say thank you very much to everybody at Ringwood Hall for helping to make our event such a success.

Everyone had a fantastic time & thoroughly enjoyed their stay at the hotel. The location, accommodation, conference facilities & food were all wonderful. Staff were friendly & efficient but refreshingly down to earth & managed to be attentive without being intrusive.

It is good to know that sometimes that which is promised on a website, really is what will be received.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HooDentalCare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Delightful review, thankyou.

Great to know that you had a successful event and your description of the staff in particular is exactly what we aim for.

We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed here for a wedding in July. Lovely old building and the room we stayed in was excellent, good size and immaculate. Any criticisms I have are focused around the wedding we were attending. I know the hotel can’t be responsible for the horrendous weather we are having this summer, and the planned outdoor ceremony had to be rescheduled indoors, but...... we arrived an hour before the ceremony, no-one to tell us where we should go, the board in reception actually still showing that the wedding was to be held in the garden!!!! How long does it take to print a new notice? We stumbled upon the room/bar that had been allocated to our couple, smaller than my lounge to be honest, already full and people waiting to be served. Given that my partner and I are not alcoholics (yet) and only wanted a coffee at most at 10.30 in the morning, we decided to pass on a drink and just wait, and found a seat in the corridor. As the time for the ceremony approached this areas became quite crowded and potential unsafe in a fire/evacuation situation. The Ceremony itself was lovely, but then back to hanging about in the corridor with no indication from the organiser of when the wedding breakfast would be served. It turned out to be a two hour gap, fortunately we had overheard someone saying this and we went back to our room to chill.

The wedding breakfast itself was fine, promptly served and tasty. The evening reception was an ample buffet, with a good selection. As others have commented bar service is slow, and prices a little steep. These two factors helped me spend less than would otherwise have been the case. I am afraid I am one of the lucky Brits who have travelled abroad where you don’t have to queue and fight to give bar owners and hoteliers your money, you actually get service. Not a specific criticism of this venue, just one of my pet hates about British bars.

As Dave has pointed out in his review, breakfast was a case of hide and seek, again no information as to where it was, other than wrong information in the bedroom guest information book. It had been moved into what seemed a makeshift area/conservatory. We were told that tea/coffee would be served to us, but if we had waited for the waitress to appear we would have been having lunch, not breakfast. I took the bull by the horns and fetched our own, warm not hot, coffee. Luckily we were down for breakfast early and didn’t have the wait that others must have had for the toaster. The buffet itself was adequate, no real complaints on the food.

We got a ‘discounted’ rate of £96 and I have stayed in better run places for less on various deals but overall I guess this rate is not outrageous. Just a bit more consideration from management towards guests would improve the overall experience.

A friend has a wedding booked here for next Spring; it will be interesting to see if any improvements have been made by then.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terry57Retford_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

I think we can safely say that your observations almost in their entirety were as a direct result of the horrendous constant rain on the 6th July.

Couples hoping to "tie the knot in the garden" have of course to rely on the weather, and as a team we endeavour to leave that decision to the last possible minute to try to eliminate any disappointment a couple may have, though in the final event the decision lies with the Registrars. The back up room as you say has to be perfect too........delighted that you thought so.

Unfortunately this particular day saw uninterrupted rain which, coupled with the bride and groom` s request that no guests should enter their wedding breakfast room, the Coach House, before the wedding breakfast was served did result in congestion. Had we been able to utilise their private Coach House bar as most couples are happy to do where the bar space is extensive and able to accommodate three bar staff, the organisational difficulties that you encountered could have been overcome.

We do try to explain this to all our couples but occasionally clients choose not to take our advice, relying on the weather conditions enabling them to gain access to the gardens. On this particular day the ceasless rain did not allow for this to happen. Very disappointing for everyone, not least the bride and groom.

As we will be welcoming you back in the spring of next year we hope that your experience on that occasion proves to be one that you enjoy more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We stayed overnight on 9th June. There were weddings going off but still managed to get drinks in the bar in the afternoon before going out. I think you have to accept this place for what it is - an old building. It will never be fully soundproofed. We were kept awake in the earl hours by the wedding guests and then the fire alarm went off. it actually went off 3 or 4 times in the next hour. Not the hotels fault but it would have been nice to have a quick call round the rooms to tell us whether we had to get dressed or not. We got dressed twice and each time it went off so we didn't bother again. We could then hear staff running around banging doors for the next hour - obviously trying to get a handle on what was happening - it would have just been nice to know ourselves. Anyway breakfast the next day was lovely. Staff very attentive. Then a lovely stroll round the fabulous gardens. The only other thing i could suggest is a staggered system of checking out as everybody left it to latest check out time and then there was a huge queue in reception. Would stay again though - one of those things you treat yourself to for special occasions.

Room Tip: Four poster room with Jacuzzi bath.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mejola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Delighted to read that your overall experience was one which would tempt you to return again, and that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay.

The fire alarm incident was as you probably gathered, as a direct result of overly excited wedding guests. Sorry for any disturbance to your sleep.

The downside of not being purpose built is of course massively overwhelmed by our stunning garden setting which we are pleased to read that you enjoyed. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and thankyou for taking the time and trouble to give us your reveiw.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The room in the garden is lavishly decorated with a large bath in the bay window the bed was extremly comfortable and spacious it was very clean and well looked after, unfortunatly it is very close to the road and although double glazed the early morning traffic woke me from my beer induced stumour very early, not a problem I thought read the paper I had ordered while the wife wakes up, but it never arrived. (i was told later this is because weekend papers dont fit in the paper holders outside the rooms and the staff were worried the paper would get wet with all the rain.Perhaps a supply of plastic carrier bags that would hang outside the room would cure this.
Being a regular hotel stayer I have long since become accustomed to buffet breakfast but to have flasks of stewed hot drinks waiting on the tables (and queueing in the make your own toast section for breakfast not for me!!) So to the juice table for juice and an fruit infusion no glasses no hot water mentioned it to a young lady and some glasses were brought from another room direct from the dishwasher and red hot, the water however was not and the fruit tea never did infuse, The fruit was nice the scrambled egss and bacon were good the sausage over cooked and the beans and tomatoes tepid.
For the price a little disappointing.

The place is geared up for weddings in fact the reason we stayed on this occassion. the buffet was fab the wedding breakfast was ok and the staff very attentive the shortage of bar staff behind all the bars seemed a problem as we had to wait ages to get served at both bars before and after the wedding and before and after the wedding breakfast The beer a little pricey for boddingtons,The wine was average price for the venue and the shots must have been cheap as large quantities seemed to be being drunk or sniffed (Gas Chambers) at various times at the bar
not something to be encouraged at a family venue.I run 2 pubs Food led no where near as upmarket as this hotel and refuse to serve jaeger bombs or gas chambers to any one and because of the practice have stopped stocking sambuca so the staff can't be tempted in my absense.
A little more communication as to were breakfast was being served and a pre warning that some off the rooms are in the garden and annexed from the main building involving a walk back to the main hotel for breakfast etc would have been handy.Several people were wondering around trying to find breakfast and walked in and out of reception and the bar but no one proffered any direction. I was lucky i heard a cry of ureka from another guest and followed her.
Room 410 Friday the 6th of July.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in away from the road the conservatory has some smaller tables for breakfast find...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveW824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

An interesting review thankyou, with some constructive feedback that will certainly be looked into.

We are a very popular wedding venue, and delighted to read that you enjoyed the wedding breakfast and evening buffet, and found the staff to be very attentive.

We do have to move breakfast between two different rooms dependant on the number of guests resident, and whilst they are almost adjacent to each other the nature of the building is such that guests do not always pass reception to access breakfast, so perhaps we should be advising guests on check-in of the exact location of their breakfast the following morning. Sound advice which we will adopt going forward.....thankyou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This is our fourth stay and once again it's been fab. The Ringwood has a lovely feeling in the hotel and even though it was raining, the grounds as always looked stunning. We arrived late evening and slept well. The staff are lovely, polite, friendly and local. The hotel is old and yes some areas might need working on but it all adds to the charm. It's always clean and service provided is always correct.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatbobTinks007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brimington
1.8 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,429 reviews
6.2 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
798 reviews
20.1 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
307 reviews
4.9 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
228 reviews
22.3 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ringwood Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringwood Hall Hotel

Address: Ringwood Road | Near Chesterfield, Brimington, Chesterfield S43 1DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Brimington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brimington
Price Range: £77 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ringwood Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ringwood Hall Hotel is a beautiful Georgian grade 11 listed Manor House set in 29 acres of award winning grounds. The hotel is easily accessed from junctions 29 & 30 of the M1, with free parking for over 150 vehicles. The hotel is set at the gateway to the magnificent Peak District National Park, while Chatsworth House, Bolsover Castle, Hardwick Hall and the many varied attractions of the Peak District are within easy travel. Ringwood Hall Hotel offers 74 en-suite bedrooms including three apartments, several four posters and ten feature rooms which have king or queen sized beds, power showers or corner baths, while all overnight guests enjoy complimentary membership to our Health & Fitness Club with indoor pool, sauna, steamroom and well equipped gymnasium. The hotel has a unique Victorian kitchen garden where herbs and vegetables grown are used in the food served in our Coach House Dining Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ringwood Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringwood Hall Chesterfield
Hotel Ringwood Hall
Ringwood Hall Hotel Chesterfield/Brimington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing