We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible stay avoid at all costs.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brimington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Short mid week break. Found staff rude and unhelpful. Noisy rooms due to main road outside. Bathroom not been cleaned and marks found on supposedly "clean" sheets. Took 2 trips to reception to rectify.

Will not be booking again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John35789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

This is why the anonymity of reviews is so frustrating and so open to abuse.

We have no recollection of any such complaint in respect of "trips to reception", and therefore doubt the genuineness of this review.

As for rude and unhelpful staff - are you sure you were at Ringwood Hall?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,041)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

655 - 661 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

This Hotel is beautiful, nothing to complain about I went for a Murder Mystery week-end & it was brilliant. The rooms have very comfy beds. Excellent food bar snacks & breakfast Buffett. Staff very friendly. Ideal setting for a wedding with the beautiful gardens.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to read.

Delighted that you enjoyed your murder mystery evening with us. We find murder mystery events extremely popular and always well attended, so much so that we are planning to run a murder mystery weekend in January next year.

Delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay, in particular the excellence of the food, and that the friendliness of the staff and the general level of comfort exceeded your expectations.

Thank you also for your splendid and very accurate observation that we are the ideal setting for a wedding, most particularly because of our beautiful gardens.

If you plan to come back and see us sometime later in the year, you will be able to enjoy the gardens when they are in full bloom and are truly amazing !!

Maybe return next January to participate in our "School Reunion" murder mystery weekend.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We traveled from Cumbria to stay and what a lovely place, checked in no problem and offer of taking our bags for us. The hotel pool was lovely very clean and relaxing with sauna also. The food was pricy but very very tasty and there was a good amount served! The hotel overall was very clean, fantastic room, clean bright and all facilities needed to help prep for a families wedding day! One small hiccup, we were in a room right outside the delivery and so the wake up call we had declined was provided in other ways but it didn't spoil our stay in any way! We still had an overall excellent stay. :-)

Stayed: April 2014
Thank leannelear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave this lovely review, and delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

A very wise decision to travel the day before the wedding and stay for 2 nights, as it takes so much pressure off wedding guests if they don`t have to drive a distance on the day. Our special wedding reception rates for guests attending a wedding are designed to encourage more than one night stays as the rate is available for as many nights as required.

Sorry about the `alarm call` with the early delivery. Whilst we do have strict rules for deliveries not to arrive before 9am, sometimes drivers are substituted and can be known to break the rule. My apologies.

That said, it seems it did not spoil your stay which is great news and thank you for your very generous praise of our facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed on Weds & Thurs nights with friends for a short break using KGB vouchers when the hotel was relatively quiet. We upgraded to suites which were very nice and worth the extra. Ate in the restaurant the first evening as we had wine included when buying two courses each and the food was good as was the service. Breakfast on both mornings was very good, buffet style with a good selection and there was also the option of ordering a small range of dishes from the kitchen. The staff throughout were very accommodating, friendly and responsive which gives the place a nice feel. The building is impressive and the grounds, although not at their best at this time of year, are extensive and very well looked after. You can easily see why this is a popular wedding venue. We also had access to the spa which was very good. Overall, we would certainly consider staying again. On the second evening we ate at the Rose & Crown in Barlborough, about 5 miles away, which does excellent ale and food, well worth visiting.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Anniemalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

A lovely review - thank you for leaving it. It was a pleasure to read your review and in particular your kind comments about food and service.

Situated in extensive renovated Victorian gardens and parklands, Ringwood is a perfect location for a leisure break and I`m delighted that you agree.

Because of the nature of the building we have a variety of styles of bedrooms, and it is well worth speaking direct to a receptionist when making an enquiry to establish the best style of room for the occasion of your visit. Upgrades to suites and feature rooms can sometimes cost very little extra, depending on the time of week or time of year, and can do much to greatly enhance the experience.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and hope to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Absolutely spot on. Every aspect was faultless, from the staff, to the food, cleanliness, decor, room size, etc etc. We only stayed two nights but really wish it had been longer. Situated conveniently for exploring all that the Peak District has to offer.

Room Tip: Ours was at the back of the hotel overlooking the gardens. Pitch black and silent with the curtains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Le Bert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

What an excellent review, thank you for taking the trouble to leave it on this site following your leisure break.

Delighted to read that you consider every aspect of your stay to be faultless and your recommendation to future clients that we are perfectly and conveniently situated for experiencing the Peak District is greatly appreciated.

Your advice to clients to select one of our garden rooms which overlook our extensive gardens and are peaceful in every respect is appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Just got back from a two night stay for my niece's wedding.....Absolutely wonderful!! Ringwood itself is a beautiful building in a gorgeous setting. All the time we were there the staff were brilliant. The wedding was amazing and everything ran very smoothly, the food & service throughout were top class. Breakfast was excellent.....and to make it even more perfect the sun shone all day.....Thank you all at Ringwood Hall.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank RobertalStacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Wow, what a wonderful review thank you.

We consider Ringwood Hall to be the perfect venue for a wedding because of the combination of our superb setting with acres of parkland, excellent focused staff who provide genuine friendly unobtrusive and professional service, and of course our fabulous food.

Delighted that you had a wonderful time and thank you for your very generous praise. We hope to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed here for two nights for a wedding, we got a wedding discount so the price was fantastic for the room and breakfast, which has plenty to choose from and it was all fresh and well presented. Self service too so no waiting and you can eat as much as you want.

The room was beautiful, the bed was huge and comfortable. The room was large with my own bathroom which was also beautiful.
The room had everything that was needed, large TV, plenty of cupboard space, hot drink facilities, trouser press, hairdryer... they covered everything, even a sewing kit

The hotel was clean and all of the staff are lovely. Greeted by friendly receptionists who were happy to help with any problem. They even said good morning etc when you walked past. The people who came to clean the rooms were nice too, and the people who made the wedding happen were great!

Overall, felt very welcome and impressed at the hotel standard and customer service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

What a super review thank you, and delighted that you had such a great time.

As guests attending a wedding we do offer a very special and competitive rate which we believe represents excellent value for money. Thank you for endorsing that in your review.

That rate includes en-suite accommodation as you describe, a full English buffet breakfast, onsite secure car parking and membership of our extensive Parklands Health & Fitness Suite, which is available to guests even after checkout the following morning.

Delighted to read your comments with regard to the staff welcome. As I have said on many occasions we are fortunate to have a very professional but naturally friendly and attentive team of people here at Ringwood.

It`s our pleasure to make you feel welcome and delighted with your observations and subsequent review.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brimington
1.8 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,487 reviews
6.2 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
862 reviews
20.1 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
242 reviews
22 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,230 reviews
22.3 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ringwood Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringwood Hall Hotel

Address: Ringwood Road | Near Chesterfield, Brimington, Chesterfield S43 1DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Brimington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brimington
Price Range: £76 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ringwood Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ringwood Hall Hotel is a beautiful Georgian grade 11 listed Manor House set in 29 acres of grounds, with six acres of award winning formal gardens. The hotel is easily accessed from junctions 29 & 30 of the M1, with free parking for over 150 vehicles. The hotel is set at the gateway to the magnificent Peak District National Park, while Chatsworth House, Bolsover Castle, Hardwick Hall and the many varied attractions of the Peak District are within easy travel. Ringwood Hall Hotel offers 74 en-suite bedrooms including several suites, four posters and ten feature rooms which have king or queen sized beds, power showers or corner baths. The hotel has a unique Victorian kitchen garden where herbs and vegetables grown are used in the food served in our Coach House Dining Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Ringwood Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringwood Hall Chesterfield
Hotel Ringwood Hall
Ringwood Hall Hotel Chesterfield/Brimington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing