We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite fair but in no way exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brimington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here during a 2 day business conference. The hotel is in a beautiful garden setting. The building and rooms are generally fine, but some are starting to look tired. Staff are very pleasant and helpful. I asked to exchange my allocated room since there were 3 air conditioning units on a flat roof immediately beneath the window. Fortunately the hotel was not full and I was re-allocated with absolutely no argument.
Food was disappointing, mass catering seemed to show itself with unimaginative menus ( lunch choice of lasagne or vegetable lasagne or Cheney over cooked pork chops), evening meal was little better with dried out slices of roast beef. Day 2 lunch was a joke with only wraps and horrendously undercooked jacket spuds.
I won't be returning in a hurry.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TimKNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

It is disappointing that we failed to impress you on your recent stay with us during your business meeting. However having contacted the organiser we understand that your personal constructive feedback is not mirrored in theirs. However, you are entitled to your opinion and express it accordingly.

That said, a real paradox for me is the fact that the room you occupied whilst staying with us was actually the one the AA Inspector stayed in on the occasion of our annual overnight inspection this year in early May, and he commented very favourably on the presentation of that room. In fact we retained, as a result of that inspection, our very impressive 86% merit score for the fourth consecutive year. Considering that the country average for 3 star rated properties is 77%, we are naturally well pleased with this recognition.

On a brighter note thank you for your positive comments with regard to the attitude and helpfulness of the staff, and as importantly the presentation of the hotel and its setting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,036)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

622 - 628 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

We booked Ringwood in May 2013 for our wedding in April 2014. Unfortunately we began to have concerns with the place as soon as we had paid our first deposit of £500. When we went to Ringwood for open days/meetings we kept asking if we could look at the bedrooms to which we were always told that none were available! We took the view of “how bad could they be” – BIG mistake. When we finally got to see them we were really disappointed. Our view is they were tired looking, some were in desperate need of a lick of paint and they did not live up to expectations. We then took the view of “oh well its only somewhere for our guests to sleep”. We then had to pay a further deposit of £500. It was around this time, after we had visited Ringwood a couple more times, that we started to notice other things such as one employee who brought us a drink stunk of BO, had filthy fingernails, had dirt and food slopped down his top and had trousers on which looked like they hadn’t been washed. Again, we thought “oh well we’ve paid £1k already so hopefully he won’t be working on our wedding day”. We then went on to pay a further £1,000 deposit. We then went for the wedding food tasting and what can I say…..we could NOT believe the quality of the food that was served. I cannot begin to explain how utterly disappointed we were. The food was revolting! If I had to try and describe it I would say worse than the slop we got served at primary school. I was devastated. I left Ringwood in tears and continued that way for the rest of the day. The food was not what I would have expected from any hotel, let alone one that catered for weddings. The food was basic “2 for £5” pub food at best (and that is being generous). There was absolutely nothing special about it in the slightest. We were so disappointed by this that I put my concerns in writing to the manager and advised her that we would not be having our wedding at Ringwood anymore. I couldn’t stand the thought of stepping foot back in the place, never mind getting married there!

We asked if we could have our £2,000 back however, as guests had booked hotel rooms to the value of £790, I said that I would be willing to refund our guests personally and let Ringwood keep the £790. We were asked to attend a meeting and in summary we were told:
• The manager would personally coordinate the wedding for us;
• She thought our expectations were too high and that “there isn’t really any way to make a sticky toffee pudding look good” – I disagree. First off it could be served in something other than a cereal bowl. It could have less than the ton of instant custard that was dumped on it and, it could have been made to look like it wasn’t so obviously tipped out of a microwave carton;
• She said she knew exactly who the scruffy and smelly member of staff was but “he has been here for years and lives for coming to work”;
• She disagreed that the rooms were scruffy in general but some were to be painted; and
• That Ringwood was a business hence why they would not refund deposits – despite Ringwood’s false representation, our complete dissatisfaction and it being for our wedding!

The outcome was Ringwood would not refund our deposit so we lost it. There was absolutely no way I could bear the thought of paying them an additional £6k on top of what we had already paid for such a rubbish service and quality of venue. We eventually got married in April, on the same day, at a different venue which was amazing!! We are so so so so so glad that we left Ringwood. So a word of warning – DO NOT BOOK RINGWOOD HALL FOR A WEDDING!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank HAB814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Every hotel manager`s worst nightmare, a one sided review with no real opportunity to present a balanced overview, particularly in light of the fact that the event never even took place here at Ringwood Hall.

Clearly this criticism is so NOT typical of the service and professionalism that Ringwood attracts so much praise for, and I am just so sad that I was not able to persuade you to see things differently.

That said I was delighted to read that you had found a venue that suited your requirements, and that you had a wonderful wedding day, and I wish you both a very happy and healthy future going forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Perfect wedding venue.
We got married on the 2nd May 2014.what an amazing day from start to finish.The wedding team was really organised and everything was prefect .John the MC looked after the whole wedding day he did a fantastic job thank so much.
All our family & friends are still talking about our wedding day for how organised and relaxed the atmosphere was the whole day.This was down to the hotel just making our plans to come life.
Thank you for making our wedding day ever lasting
Joanne & Andrew Whittington

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wh1ttington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

A wonderful review thank you, and a delight to read.

With such a superb setting with acres of parkland and formal gardens, our aim is quite simply to provide a really relaxing atmosphere for a very special day and clearly we did this for you.

Really pleasing to see how well organised you felt the day was, and your MC John and his team have asked me to convey back to you their gratitude for your thanks, and to wish you both a long, healthy, happy married life together.

We hope to welcome you back at some point in the future, not least to celebrate your first wedding anniversary and we would be delighted to offer you a really special rate to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My friend and I decided to have a 'girlie' break and leave our men at home - we got a KGB deal at Ringwood Hall for two nights B&B and we had a great time. The hotel is lovely, a little quirky and traditional and so welcoming, set in beautiful grounds. We had a garden room with views over the grounds and open countryside beyond. The ensuite was spotlessly clean, modern, well laid out and decorated with big fluffy towels and lovely accessories. We also used the small but very clean and well appointed Spa both afternoons for a relaxing swim and steam.
Ringwood Hall is a very popular place for weddings, and although there were two on while we stayed there it didn't affect us as the staff are very efficient and well-organised and we didn't have any noise, and our breakfasts and dinners were well staffed and really well cooked - we can certainly recommend the food!
I usually travel with my husband who has mobility problems due to MS and for anyone with similar issues this hotel may not be suitable as it is an old building and doesn't have a lift, and there are steps and sometimes fairly long distances between rooms/dining/spa - but there are some ground floor rooms and it may well be worth speaking to the hotel to see if they can accommodate your requirements if needed, as they are very helpful and will assist if at all possible.
The hotel is well situated for Chesterfield and Bakewell (which we really enjoyed) and I would recommend it for anyone looking for a short luxury relaxing break.

Room Tip: The Garden rooms are quite a walk from Reception but are well appointed and have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wabbodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonaCosh, General Manager at Ringwood Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely review which was a pleasure to read.

Delighted that you enjoyed your leisure break with us and found everywhere to be well appointed and presented to a high standard.

Delighted also that you enjoyed the friendly and efficient personable service and of course as importantly, the quality of the food at all times.

Once again excellent advice to guests looking to stay at Ringwood. We do have a variety of room styles both in terms of their layout, presentation and access, and it is always wise to speak at length with the reservationist as to the most suitable accommodation to match the reasons for the visit. This is particularly essential for guests who are disturbed easily by roadside noise or have limited mobility.

As the writer says Ringwood Hall presents the perfect location on the gateway to the Peak District for a short luxury relaxing break.

We hope to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at the Ringwood Hall Hotel for 2 nights at the end of March 2014 on a Groupon deal and really enjoyed our stay.

When we arrived at the hotel we could not help but notice the grounds were kept in immaculate condition and the hotel in general was very clean and tidy. Check-in took no time at all and our room, which was in the main building, was very large, huge and comfortable bed with all the usual’s you would expect such as tea/coffee making facilities, iron & board etc.

We ate at the restaurant on our first night, good range of options, fairly priced and staff very accommodating. The food was good but could probably be improved further. The hotel has several rooms large enough to hold functions and it is easy to see why this hotel is popular for weddings receptions.

We used the pool, sauna and steam room which was nice to relax in and also made use of the gym which is fairly basic but has everything you need such as CV machines, free weights and weight training machines.

The Hotel is several miles from Chesterfield, this was the first time we had visited the area and would not hesitate to book this hotel again should we revisit the Chesterfield area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puddock82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We attended a wedding, both Civil Ceremony and Reception her, together with an overnight stay. The Wedding was excellent, good organisation, and everything ran smoothly. The food was superb and traditional roast beef main course was exceptional. A very pleasant room and courteous service added to a wonderful occasion.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane107hb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Ringwood Hall Hotel was our wedding venue on 1st June 2013. We returned this weekend for our first anniversary and can only say this special place for us has improved even further. Our wedding last year was outside at the pavilion followed by the marquee for the wedding breakfast and evening reception. The whole day really was perfect and this is largely due to the fantastic staff. All of our family and friends spoke highly of this venue and some even said it was the best wedding they had ever been to. Every meeting we had with the manager Rona and all the other staff (especially John) on the lead up to our wedding were friendly, inviting and attentive. The day itself ran seamlessly and we were made to feel very special. The food was excellent. Our ceremony was done by the celebrant Sylvia and was beautiful. The marquee weddings are ran by Tracey and Shaun both of whom were very professional and we can't thank them enough. Classy weddings decorated the venue and made my dream wedding a reality. When we returned this weekend we were remembered and made to feel like old friends. We took our new baby boy and staff went out of their way to help. We visited the swimming pool which was spotless and the restaurant where the food was delicious. Our son became tired and cranky as it got past his bedtime so the lovely waiter happily brought our dessert to our room so we could put him to bed. The gardens are beautiful and have new gorgeous features from last year. I can't wait to return again next year for our anniversary!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleRia80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brimington
1.8 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,482 reviews
6.2 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
848 reviews
20.1 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
241 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#9 of 15 in Chesterfield
829 reviews
2.4 mi away
Buckingham's Hotel
Buckingham's Hotel
#13 of 15 in Chesterfield
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ringwood Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringwood Hall Hotel

Address: Ringwood Road | Near Chesterfield, Brimington, Chesterfield S43 1DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Brimington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brimington
Price Range: £80 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ringwood Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ringwood Hall Hotel is a beautiful Georgian grade 11 listed Manor House set in 29 acres of grounds, with six acres of award winning formal gardens. The hotel is easily accessed from junctions 29 & 30 of the M1, with free parking for over 150 vehicles. The hotel is set at the gateway to the magnificent Peak District National Park, while Chatsworth House, Bolsover Castle, Hardwick Hall and the many varied attractions of the Peak District are within easy travel. Ringwood Hall Hotel offers 74 en-suite bedrooms including several suites, four posters and ten feature rooms which have king or queen sized beds, power showers or corner baths. The hotel has a unique Victorian kitchen garden where herbs and vegetables grown are used in the food served in our Coach House Dining Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Ringwood Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringwood Hall Chesterfield
Hotel Ringwood Hall
Ringwood Hall Hotel Chesterfield/Brimington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing