We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Peel Hey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Peel Hey
Ranked #1 of 1 Frankby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We have just attended a wonderful 60th birthday party at Peel Hey. Our fantastic hosts, the amazingly good food and the friendly and efficient staff made this very happy occasion an evening to remember.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaisyCheshire4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
There are newer reviews for Peel Hey
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

We have twice stayed at Peel Hey for single nights, recently, and had a different room on each occasion. Both were wonderfully warm and comfortable, and decorated to a high standard. The en suites were spotless, and each had a bath robe. Delicious evening meals are available...and vegetarians are welcome. Try the Mushroom Wellington if you can...gorgeous! Peel Hey is warm, welcoming and peaceful. It's a lovely small hotel, where nothing is too much trouble.

Room Tip: We stayed in a family room with the children able to sleep on a very safe and protected gallery...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flylark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at Peel Hey for two nights in January 14 whilst we were unfortunately attending a close family member's funeral. We also had to bring our two dogs but the room we had (Room 3)was very comfortable and well furnished and there was adequate room for all four of us! Despite our sad occasion, it was good to return to a nice comfortable warm room and we slept well. Ken and wife are very welcoming and friendly and the atmosphere is very relaxed but with much attention to detail. When we rang to book the accommodation, Ken was very helpful and friendly and everything he said was very honest, we were not far from where we needed to be for everything. Excellent breakfast too. Unfortunately we did not get to spend much time in the room or to further enjoy the facilities, but would highly recommend Peel Hey.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I have stayed here twice in a different room each time. Both were spacious and decorated to a high standard. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We had a delicious breakfast too. I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone staying in the area and I would definitely stay at Peel Hey again when I visit the Wirral.

Room Tip: There are a variety of rooms, twins, superking and queen size beds, so be sure to ask for what you p...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed at peel hey for the first time at Christmas . I previously emailed ken to make sure he didn't mind my daughter attending Christmas lunch with us as she has learning disability and mental health issues, but he welcomed us and her and we had a wonderful Christmas lunch with my daughter for first time in many many years. Everything is relaxed and the staff are v attentive. Food and rooms all fab and I rediscovered the surrounding area with long country drives. Will make it the place to stay next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JdPStokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I love Peel Hey. I used it by default on the first occasion for my late father's funeral reception last June as I could not get the place I intended to book. I was so glad it happened like that as Ken, the owner, made everyone so welcome and put on a really lovely buffet. It was a beautiful day and Dad would have felt at home there. Subsequently, whilst sorting out my father's flat in West Kirby, I have stayed there overnight on a couple of occasions, as have my daughter and her husband. The rooms are really lovely and relaxing and the breakfast is great. You can choose between full English or a continental breakfast. My ties with the Wirral are now severed but I will definitely go to Peel Hey again in the summer. It's a pity that there aren't more places of this genre.

Room Tip: All are nice, but the twin bedded room probably gets more traffic noise than any other but it is not...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macarena82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely 3 night stay at Peel Hey Guest House. My husband and I were travelling with our 6 month old baby and the staff could not have been more helpful. Excellent travel cot & high chair were provided free of charge.
Our room was spacious and had everything we needed. The Elemis products in the bathroom were a treat for me.
We enjoyed a full English breakfast every morning which was delicious and included in our room rate.
We dined early in the restaurant one evening and had a lovely 2 course meal.
I would not hesitate to visit again. It was warm & welcoming in the winter and I bet it is gorgeous in the summer too.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank LLerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankby
3.3 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
807 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake
0.7 mi away
Hillbark Hotel
Hillbark Hotel
#1 of 1 in Frankby
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
6.4 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,692 reviews
5.3 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peel Hey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peel Hey

Address: Peel Hey Frankby Road | Frankby, Wirral, Frankby CH48 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Frankby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Frankby
Price Range: £80 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peel Hey 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning 4 Star Gold Award - Peel Hey, offers luxury accommodation & is located in the picturesque village of Frankby, close to Hoylake and West Kirby, yet is just 15 minutes from the centre of Liverpool. All en-suite bedrooms have been individually styled and combine modern facilities with individual character. Flat screen TVs, DVD, WiFi & hospitality tray. Close to M53 for Liverpool & Chester making an ideal base for business, leisure or golf. Award winning breakfasts. Ideal venue for Afternoon Tea, Light Lunches, Weddings, Civil Marriages, Funerals, Christenings and Anniversaries. Afternoon Teas, Café. Licensed. Non-Smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peel Hey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peel Hey Frankby, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing