We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peel Hey has great appeal.”
Review of Peel Hey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Peel Hey
Ranked #1 of 1 Frankby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Sue and Ken go out of their way to make your visit special. The welcome is genuine.The rooms are very clean, very comfortable, and newly decorated. Food is freshly prepared and delicious. It is a guest house not a hotel, but unless you want 24 hour room service or swimming pools, you will be happy here. There is a honesty bar for your late-night tipple. We were only there for one night, but you could even take a holiday in this attractive village location. Locally you will find many restaurants to suit all budgets.
There are country and coastal walks, birdwatchers have abundant opportunities, and sailors will find several clubs. Art Galleries and Museums are also nearby, and this is before you consider crossing the River Mersey to Liverpool and all that city has to offer. Chester and North Wales are no more than a half hour drive.
Golfers are spoilt for choice. Within 30 minutes there are probably a dozen courses and links, including the world famous Royal Liverpool Club links at Hoylake - venue for The Open on many occasions.
It was always said that the Wirral is the sunniest part of the UK west coast, north of Bristol. This delightful part of England is a carefully kept secret, but we can share it - just with you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ComfortCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
There are newer reviews for Peel Hey
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We where invited to dinner at Peel Hey with 6 friends recently and stayed overnight. The meal was to say the least sumptuous , I had home made Pate followed by Sea Bass my wife went for prawns and Fillet steak. Absolutely fabulous meal, attentive service,beautiful wine list available. Sue and Ken Graves the owners deserve great credit for discovering the live in chef --top quality . Room was as I expected --faultless.
Do not miss your chance to indulge yourself

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank engulfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Afternoon tea was fantastic. We sat in the conservatory which was comfy. The food had brilliant portions, with a tasty selection of cakes, scones and beautiful sandwiches in a really relaxed setting. Tea and coffee was served in filigree style china crockery. Our server was welcoming without being too intrusive. The price was great considering the portions, £12.95 per person. Lovely little gem of a place, I hope to return soon.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank MissOAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night, Found staff to be friendly and welcoming. Our room was nice, clean with tea/ coffee and bottled water. Late check out without extra charge. Easy to find. Good value for money.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We have stayed at Peel hey a few times over the past couple of years. We visited again last weekend and think it's time for a bit of a make over. The carpet in the bedroom we stayed in was definitely grubby and stained which let the whole room down and the hand wash basin plug and chain were't attached. In addition the toilet seat would not stay in an upright position for gents to use! When we arrived on the Saturday evening we told the receptionist we would be leaving early ie 7.45am the next morning and wouldn't be taking breakfast. At 7.45am we had to knock up the night staff, wait while he dressed and then check us out, not really joined up thinking, which made us late for the appointment we had to keep. Please get your act together as Peel Hey has a reputation to keep.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank branleyite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We have just returned from a lovely stay at Peel Hey.We stayed wit our daughters and our small dog Lovely family room and great breakfast Use of the conservatory at nights ensured our girls had some "girlie" time. Rooms spotless and lovely friendly service Will return ideally placed for exploring the Wirral. Thank you The Postlethwaites

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Attended a function here recently. There were quite a few cars and because the car park is quite small, the owner directed all the cars into car parking positions to ensure everyone was accommodated, a nice touch.
We were all greeted at the door with a glass of wine or soft drink and tea or coffee. Beer/spirits were available at extra cost.The buffet was served soon after our arrival and consisted of a variety of white/brown bread sandwiches, mini pies, chicken goujons, fish pieces in breadcrumbs, spring rolls and 3 sauces - barbecue, sweet chilli and mayonnaise. There were also scones with jam and cream. There was a substantial amount left over as a few people were unable to attend and we were therefore asked whether we wanted to take anything home with us. All in all a very tasty and plentiful buffet. I had cause to use the gents toilets and it was spotless.
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend Peel Hey.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prentonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankby
3.3 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
806 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake
0.7 mi away
Hillbark Hotel
Hillbark Hotel
#1 of 1 in Frankby
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
6.4 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,692 reviews
5.3 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peel Hey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peel Hey

Address: Peel Hey Frankby Road | Frankby, Wirral, Frankby CH48 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Frankby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Frankby
Price Range: £80 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peel Hey 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning 4 Star Gold Award - Peel Hey, offers luxury accommodation & is located in the picturesque village of Frankby, close to Hoylake and West Kirby, yet is just 15 minutes from the centre of Liverpool. All en-suite bedrooms have been individually styled and combine modern facilities with individual character. Flat screen TVs, DVD, WiFi & hospitality tray. Close to M53 for Liverpool & Chester making an ideal base for business, leisure or golf. Award winning breakfasts. Ideal venue for Afternoon Tea, Light Lunches, Weddings, Civil Marriages, Funerals, Christenings and Anniversaries. Afternoon Teas, Café. Licensed. Non-Smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Peel Hey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peel Hey Frankby, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing