We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Unique Hotel”
Review of Hillbark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hillbark Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Frankby
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Unique Hotel”
Reviewed 23 July 2007

Hillbark Hotel is a really beautiful and unique hotel experience. The building itself is an old mansion with an interesting and romantic past. It is set in acres of beautiful woodland.

Each of the bedrooms is unique. We have stayed in a few of the rooms and suites and have seen most of the others when the hotel manager gave us a little tour.. Each suite is furnished to a very high standard in a traditional style. The bathrooms are the main attractions. The suites all have amazing bathrooms complete with plasma tv's. One of the suites has a fairly small bedroom, but the biggest bath you have seen in your life! The beds are extremely comfortable!

There are 2 restaurants at the hotel. The Yellow Room is a 5 course meal of a very high standard, but is quite pricey. The Grill Room serves steak-type meals and is less expensive. both restuarants have a lovely ambience and fantastic service.

I have to disagree with a previous reviewer who says that the place is dated! Over the past couple of years, the present owners have painstakingly restored Hillbark to it's former glory, having paid attention to every single detail. As the house was built in the early 1900s, you have to go there expecting to feel like you've landed on the set of a Jane Austin movie, rather than judge your experience by modern chain-hotel standards. If you are looking for that, then go to Malmaison or The Lowry. Hillbark is a unique, luxury hotel that is worth every penny of the money you will pay to stay there.

The only down-side is that it is a very popular wedding venue and most of the hotel gets booked out for weddings at weekends.

  • Liked — The luxury!
  • Disliked — No tea / coffe or refrigerator in the room
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClareCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    37
    24
    18
    24
See reviews for
72
101
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2007

Booked a suite. So expected a suite, on arrival through a wedding party - were given the wrong room - a suite is two connected rooms or areas at least, usually including an area where one can relax and have a meal etc away from the sleeping area. This Hotel misrepresentes the room as a suite and expects some of the well finished bathrooms to compensate.

To make just a few brief points

Anyway we were moved to another room still not a suite, and when we went to get our new key that night were given the wrong room again - some of the staff tried hard but there no proper management plan, I think they rely on the somewhat laid back country house informal attitude, There is no proper reception just a desk occupied on a random basis and you usually have to go looking for somebody. The coridoors are dark and there are no signs to direct to rooms etc overall somewhat shambolic and disappointing - oh and there is the gate where you have to have memorised a code to escape no sensors camera or intercom very frustrating - we got a reduction on the bill so I guess it was not a nightmare but still very frustrating.

  • Liked — bathroom
  • Disliked — overall poor attention to detail
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank goodtimeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2007

Not only is the setting wonderful but I found the food to be incredible. Whilst the decor in the restaurant was a little opulent for me I cannot fault the service or the Chef. Try it.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — Difficult to find
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank laweverhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2007

fantastic building, stylish interior, great food, all let down by very bad and arrogant service.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales,UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2006

Contacted the hotel myself ,stayed over the night after doing some xmas shopping in Liverpool.The hotel were kind enough to upgrade our room as I'd surprised my wife for her birthday.I've some good comments and bad.The hotel would probably suit older people or foriegners rather than my wife and I as it was very dated in my opinion,the bar was very small with not much selection and I don,t think you could call the rooms any thing close to 5 star.On the good side we ate in the grill room where the food ,service and waitress was fantastic ,even this area was quiet only ourselves and another table of four.Breakfast the next morning was nothing special.Overall though very expensive for what we got.

  • Liked — Restaurant
  • Disliked — Rooms and bar
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigLJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2006

the Hillbark is an enigma. Lovely black and white building, Bentley outside, door handle missing from the front door sums up the experience. I booked a junior suite requesting a good view. We were allocated a room with three small windows in the bedroom 6 feet up the wall and a bathroom with only a shower - apparently only suites have bath. The staff handled the problem well, upgrading us to a suite which had a lovely view. The meal in the Yellow Room on the first night was good with the exception of the desserts which, like many restaurants, were a disappointment - the chocolate souffle was very sweet accompanied by an even sweeter merangue concoction. The manager and his staff were really good, helpful and attentive. The meal in the Grill on the second night was plain and OK, no more. The hotel has some nice touches such as the complimentary tea and coffee but misses the mark in a number of areas, no bathrobes, the tea tray was not removed till the next day, the turn down service never materialised.
The development of the hotel is a work in progress, perhaps these omissions and the door handle will be sorted during the year. At the moment it is expensive for what you get

  • Liked — Nothing in particular
  • Disliked — Poor value, pretentious
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peregrinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greater manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2006

An excellent experience. We arrived at this beautiful black and white building and was greated by Sarah who showed us arround the hotel and checked us into our bedroom. The room had 2 plasma screen tv's, one in the bathroom with a jacuzzi bathfor 2 !!!!! The bed was so comfortable we could not believe it. That night we dined in the Yellow Room Restaurant which gave us the best food, wine and service we had ever had during the three hour experence. Then we retired to our wonderful bedroom.
We had breakfast the following morning which again was excellent. Then we walked arround the grounds to help walk off all the food and wine from the previous night.
James the manager and all the staff were very attentive with nothing being too much trouble. The atmosphere was frendly and relaxed worth every penny.
You must go.

Helpful?
13 Thank truthtruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankby
6.3 mi away
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sunlight
280 reviews
4.8 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,157 reviews
4.0 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake
6.4 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,510 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillbark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillbark Hotel

Property: Hillbark Hotel
Address: Rangers Office Hillbark Road | Frankby, Frankby CH48 1NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Frankby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Frankby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hillbark Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hillbark Hotel & Spa, located in the 250 acres of parkland in Royden Park on the Wirral, is the only five-star hotel in the Liverpool City Region and the smallest five-star in the UK. The Elizabethan style mansion has 18 individually designed bedrooms, a choice of restaurants including an award winning fine dining restaurant The Dining Room at Hillbark and a luxurious spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hillbark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillbark Hotel Frankby, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing