We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy & Cosy”
Review of The Jug & Bottle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Jug & Bottle
Ranked #1 of 1 Heswall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Comfy & Cosy”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed here for a Valentines surprise for me from my partner, dinner with an overnight stay.
The room was very comfortable, exceptionally clean, my one and only gripe would be a rattling window, however it should be noted that the weather was awful.
Dinner was amazing, the sticky toffee pudding was to die for :)
The service was excellent and all staff were very pleasant, with nothing being too much trouble.
Breakfast the next morning was lovely, lots of choice and again nothing too much trouble.
We will certainly be returning and would recommended for a lovely meal and overnight break.

Room Tip: I think the staff will try and accommodate any requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MazzaH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    64
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
57
79
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My husband and I visited The Jug and Bottle for the first time on the evening of 14th February. The restaurant was inviting and we were attended to straight away. The Valentine menu provided plenty of choice and we tucked in over a bottle of red wine. My husbands scallops were delicious as was his steak and I enjoyed the roast tomato and basil tartlet followed by corn-fed chicken. We finished the meal with apple parfait and rhubarb eton mess which was so yummy it was a shame I was too full to finish it! The waitresses were friendly and helpful and we felt we had value for money for what we had. We will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Booked this hotel based on the great reviews not only on this site but on other sites too. We stayed here for a weekend away in Liverpool and booked the hotel for two nights. Because the hotel had such good reviews, me and the wife booked a twin room as it was the only room available.

The room we had was nice (room 1) with everything you could want, but there was an area where it looked like maybe damp was coming through and the plaster was falling off, which could do with sorting out. The noise from the restaurant was quite loud but to be expected, and it died down after 11 ish so wasn't a problem.

The biggest issue we had with the room was the shower. The shower was at best a trickle and we did point it out to the manager the first morning, who explained it could be that everyone in the hotel was using the shower at similar times, so the pressure was down, but did offer to have it checked out while we were out. We returned early evening to find it was just the same, so this really does need addressing.

The following morning we awoke to find there was no hot water either in the shower or the wash basin. We complained to a member of staff who said she would send the manager up when he arrived. The manager never arrived so we boiled the kettle in the room twice just so we could have a wash before breakfast. After breakfast had finished we went to check out and told the member of staff we weren't prepared to pay the full amount for the room due to the issues we had experienced. After calling the manager over, he apologised and refunded one nights stay for the inconvenience as it would appear the whole hotel was experiencing hot water issues.

We didn't eat in the main restaurant but from what we saw the food looked very nice, and it was very busy on both nights we were there. The breakfast was very very nice and cooked to order with plenty of choice, so couldn't fault this at all.

The bar also had a nice selection of real ales, and reasonably priced.

In summary this hotel is a very nice place to stay, but our experience with the shower and lack of hot water did put a bit of a dampener on our weekedn away, and the room we stayed in also needs the walls sorting out. However its location is great, the staff are very friendly, and the breakfast is very nice. Would I stay here again? Yes I would.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Came up to The Wirral to take in a football match at Tranmere Rovers, so booked in at The Jug and Bottle. We were greeted by Steve the manager who was fantastic. Really helpful and friendly. We had lunch in the bar, which was excellent and even though it was a sandwich it was presented beautifully. The food in the restaurant was superb with an excellent choice and the service too was outstanding. It's the little touches which make such a difference, like being poured a glass of ice cold water as soon as you reach your table, and the waiting staff knowing who is going to have soup with out having to ask. The restaurant itself had a really pleasant atmosphere. My only criticism would be the bedrooms. Although beautifully clean, a few finishing touches would have meant my review would have been an excellent. For example there was no head board and only one bedside lamp on rather old bedside tables. We stayed in room no. 7 which is over the bar so was a little noisy but by the time we went to sleep we didn't hear anything, but for an overnight stay we were perfectly happy. The Jug and Bottle is well situated and perfect for a stay for a visit to Liverpool. I cannot praise Steve and his staff highly enough and I would certainly stay, if in the area again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShropshireSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Had an evening meal and overnight stay here. Good food and service, clean well-equipped and spacious accommodation. Breakfast was good, and our stay was excellent value. A real find - we'll definitely be back when next in the area!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Me and my friends stayed here for the night, we found the room to be spotless, spacious, with great views. Lovely and quiet. Great facilities in the room. Staff extremely welcoming and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent, wonderful choice of food, with good size portions and as much Tea, coffee and fruit juices as you can drink! We all thought it was great value for money. I would recommend this little find to people.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

First the positives.Lovely big room with a bay window offering fine views over the Dee estuary to the North Wales hills.Nice pub with roaring fire and good choice of real ale.Heswall great,lots of restaurants/bars.Easy to get to Liverpool 25 minutes to The Albert Dock.Staff pleasant and helpful.Good breakfast in a nice setting.
We ate here in the evening on the strength of the good reviews on TA.Starters were lovely - ham hock terrine with homemade picallili and woodpigeon pastrami.However,we had to send both mains back as both were seriously undercooked - my 12 hour cooked short rib of beef actually bent the fork and my husbands lamb was bloody rather than pink.Staff were very apologetic and offered alternatives which we declined as we were quite full after the starter and it was getiing late - service had been quite slow.
Despite this we would return to stay and to be fair,all the other diners seemed happy with their food.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsYnysmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heswall
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Heswall) Hotel
2.1 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
4.9 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
6.0 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
6.5 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jug & Bottle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jug & Bottle

Property: The Jug & Bottle
Address: 15 Mount Avenue, Heswall CH60 4RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Heswall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Heswall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jug & Bottle 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Jug & Bottle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jug & Bottle Heswall, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing