We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of The Jug & Bottle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Jug & Bottle
Ranked #1 of 1 Heswall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Went back to the Jug and Bottle, once again it was excellent. Staff, room and food once again brill. There only a couple of minor things - We couldn't get wifi in our room but that could have been where our room was situated also the power of the water in the shower was not great but these are only minor things. We had a great time and would recommend I staying there

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 594dianed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We booked all the rooms for a family wedding (including the Bride). As you can imagine things got very hectic on the morning of the wedding, yet the hotel staff were superb - they stayed out of our way and let us get on with things, but when needed they could not have been more helpful. The rooms themselves were clean, and well-equipped, and some had great views of the Welsh hills.
They also have cask ale in the very welcoming bar downstairs, and the food in the restaurant is for the most part locally sourced, and tastes marvelous. The hotel clearly puts customer service at the top of their list.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I had a fab meal here on Valentines night and so returned with friends. The service was excellent and there was a great atmosphere. My husband raved over his black pudding with scotch egg starter and said his steak was cooked just to his liking and tasted great. Our friends both chose the gourmet burgers and were delighted with their choice. My curry of butternut squash, sweet potato, chickpea and spinach was delicious. The men were stuffed but we ladies managed the rhubarb and brown sugar Eton mess which was to die for. Four very happy people.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here in may 2014 for 2 nights with friends , we were attending a wedding nearby.jug&bottle , great service throughout are stay and great food , really nice staff , clean rooms and good selection of drinks in the bar.i would highly recommend this gem we hopefully will return in the future.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I visited last month when my group of friends organised a surpise meal out. We had the buffet which I heard was very reasonably priced! The food was very fresh, the meat excellent quality, the selection broad. It was like, gastro-buffet! Can't wait to take the hubs-to-be there soon. The only niggle was they didn't have any bottles of sparkling wine left. Apparently the crew had booked it over a month in advance so they could have thought ahead and ordered extra. But no complaints, an overall great experience :)

Room Tip: We ordered for less people that came to the buffet and there was still some spare!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coffee4ndtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

after visiting jug and bottle on mothers day and not having a good experience there over the false advertising of what was available on the menu for mothers day I left a review on trip advisor and was contacted by the management saying they were sorry for the misunderstanding and would send me a private message which they did not want to leave on trip advisor so far nothing so just another bad thing

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank jasonbirkenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

A group of 6 of us booked in last minute for a meal to celebrate a birthday. Because we left it to last minute, we were seated in the main pub as the restaurant was full. We were told of this prior to booking so it was no surprise.

The food yet again was fantastic with everyone saying that they wish they offered a tasting menu as there were too many tempting dishes. The food service was a little slower than normal, but again, as the restaurant was full it was to be expected. The service with drinks was great and they kept checking in on us reassuring that we'd not been forgotten about.

When the food arrived, everyone commented about how good it was, steaks cooked to perfection etc. A lot of them were surprised at how much the pub and the food had changed since last visiting a number of years ago.

The only down side was later in the night the table next to us was full of loud drunk women making it a little hard to relax and enjoy. After an hour or so, they quietened down and moved on, but had we managed to book early enough to reserve a table in the restaurant, this wouldn't have been an issue.

We would definately go back without any problem, but would book early to get in the restaurant section.

Room Tip: Book a table in the restaurant if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisEFrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heswall
2.1 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Heswall) Hotel
7.3 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
843 reviews
4.9 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,803 reviews
4.2 mi away
Riverhill Hotel
Riverhill Hotel
#2 of 3 in Birkenhead
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jug & Bottle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jug & Bottle

Address: Mount Avenue, Heswall CH60 4RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Heswall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Heswall
Price Range: £77 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jug & Bottle 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your The Jug & Bottle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jug & Bottle Heswall, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing