We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent find!”
Review of The Jug & Bottle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Jug & Bottle
Ranked #1 of 1 Heswall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An excellent find!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I stayed here for the first time on the night of 12/06/14. I was travelling on my own and had booked a very reasonably priced single room with breakfast. I received a very courteous welcome. My room was spotlessly clean and well-equipped. It was a hot night and I needed to keep the windows open but I was not aware of any noise. In fact it was so quiet I felt that I could have bee the only person staying - despite evidence to the contrary!!! Breakfast was fabulous and the service quiet and kind throughout. I would stay here again in a heartbeat! Well done everyone - fabulous!!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms must be fine - I overlooked the car park and was still not aware of any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMA56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    64
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
56
79
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Went back to the Jug and Bottle, once again it was excellent. Staff, room and food once again brill. There only a couple of minor things - We couldn't get wifi in our room but that could have been where our room was situated also the power of the water in the shower was not great but these are only minor things. We had a great time and would recommend I staying there

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 594dianed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We booked all the rooms for a family wedding (including the Bride). As you can imagine things got very hectic on the morning of the wedding, yet the hotel staff were superb - they stayed out of our way and let us get on with things, but when needed they could not have been more helpful. The rooms themselves were clean, and well-equipped, and some had great views of the Welsh hills.
They also have cask ale in the very welcoming bar downstairs, and the food in the restaurant is for the most part locally sourced, and tastes marvelous. The hotel clearly puts customer service at the top of their list.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I had a fab meal here on Valentines night and so returned with friends. The service was excellent and there was a great atmosphere. My husband raved over his black pudding with scotch egg starter and said his steak was cooked just to his liking and tasted great. Our friends both chose the gourmet burgers and were delighted with their choice. My curry of butternut squash, sweet potato, chickpea and spinach was delicious. The men were stuffed but we ladies managed the rhubarb and brown sugar Eton mess which was to die for. Four very happy people.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here in may 2014 for 2 nights with friends , we were attending a wedding nearby.jug&bottle , great service throughout are stay and great food , really nice staff , clean rooms and good selection of drinks in the bar.i would highly recommend this gem we hopefully will return in the future.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I visited last month when my group of friends organised a surpise meal out. We had the buffet which I heard was very reasonably priced! The food was very fresh, the meat excellent quality, the selection broad. It was like, gastro-buffet! Can't wait to take the hubs-to-be there soon. The only niggle was they didn't have any bottles of sparkling wine left. Apparently the crew had booked it over a month in advance so they could have thought ahead and ordered extra. But no complaints, an overall great experience :)

Room Tip: We ordered for less people that came to the buffet and there was still some spare!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coffee4ndtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

after visiting jug and bottle on mothers day and not having a good experience there over the false advertising of what was available on the menu for mothers day I left a review on trip advisor and was contacted by the management saying they were sorry for the misunderstanding and would send me a private message which they did not want to leave on trip advisor so far nothing so just another bad thing

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jasonbirkenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heswall
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Heswall) Hotel
2.1 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
4.9 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
6.0 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
6.5 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jug & Bottle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jug & Bottle

Property: The Jug & Bottle
Address: 15 Mount Avenue, Heswall CH60 4RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Heswall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Heswall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jug & Bottle 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Jug & Bottle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jug & Bottle Heswall, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing