We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable and welcoming.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seaways Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seaways Cottage
Ranked #5 of 7 Hoylake B&B and Inns
1 review
“Clean, comfortable and welcoming.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed at Seaways Cottage with my husband and 9month old daughter in November 2013. Colleen was friendly and welcoming, and our room was clean and comfortable. Colleen also provided a good quality cot, and baby seat at breakfast, at no extra cost. Speaking of breakfast, it was delicious! We would recommend Seaways Cottage to anyone and will definitely return when we next visit the Wirral.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaitByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen K, Owner at Seaways Cottage, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments, you were lovely guests and your daughter is an absolute cutie. I look forward to seeing you all again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
9
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

I spent four nights at Seaways Cottage and can wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone staying on the Wirral.

Colleen is the ideal B&B hostess: easy-going, thoughtful and extremely helpful. My room, a twin, was capacious, comfortable, clean and superbly equipped: there was a small refrigerator, which Colleen kept stocked with a jug of fresh milk and bottles of water; there was Wi-Fi for my laptop, and Colleen kindly showed me how to log on to it (I'm useless at such things).

My room was not en suite, but the clean and comfortable guest bathroom (containing a shower, of course) was just a few steps down the corridor; I happened to be the only guest so I had the bathroom all to myself.

Breakfast was generously portioned, and Colleen offered a wide selection for a cooked breakfast, even for a vegetarian like me. Cereals, fruit salad, fruit juice and tea/coffee were also served or self-served.

Seaways Cottage is very easy to find, only about seven minutes' leisurely walk from Hoylake station. The train service between Liverpool and Hoylake is excellent: every fifteen minutes, with a journey time of around twenty-five minutes. The centre of Hoylake village is surprisingly well served with restaurants, including a very good vegetarian.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay on the Wirral, and my accommodation at Seaways Cottage contributed a great deal to the experience. Thank you, Colleen.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen K, Owner at Seaways Cottage, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review, it was a pleasure having you as a guest in our home and do hope you will come and stay with us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

For anyone visiting The Wirral Festival of Firsts, this is the perfect place to stay. Two minutes from the glorious Wirral Peninsula and close to the railway station for frequent trains in to Liverpool.
Restaurants and shops are close by too.
Seaways Cottage is a quiet and cosy place where you are made to feel very welcome by Colleen and Geoff. Nothing was too much trouble for the hosts, Colleen went out of her way to cook me delicious vegetarian breakfasts with organic mushrooms.
Clean, quiet and with off street parking, the perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank SheenaEastern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen K, Owner at Seaways Cottage, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for your very kind review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again - maybe at the next Festival of Firsts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Spent one night on an emergency visit to Hoylake. Booked twin rooms but Colleen changed this to a double room and single room as there were no other bookings and charged us the same price. Rooms excellent. All creature comforts available. Hairdryer, tea with proper milk in the fridge not those silly cartons. Especially as I drink lots of tea. Breakfast was whatever you wanted. I don’t eat breakfast but I did here. It was irristable. Colleen and Geoff made my mum and I feel really welcome and nothing was any trouble. Clean, quiet, cosy just like home.
When I go back I will be staying there again. Longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sue621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colgeoff, Owner at Seaways Cottage, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Thank you for your review you were lovely guests and your Mother was a joy - hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Spent two nights at Seaways Cottage. We were made very welcome by the hosts. Very comfortable room and bed, and in a quiet location. Breakfast was served with whatever we wanted and well presented. Very close to the station for Liverpool and a very good Italian at the end of the road. Colleen even sent a coat we left behind in the post to our next hotel. Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colgeoff, Owner at Seaways Cottage, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Thank you for your review, really enjoyed your company, hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip, am glad the coat arrived safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Hi all
I spent eight days at seaways cottage and liked it there very much . Nice room and people there, i would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in hoylake. I certianly will be back to hoylake and stay at seaways cottage. DW

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 64dean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colgeoff, Owner at Seaways Cottage, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for your review, you were a lovely guest and I look forward to seeing you again - congratulations on passing your exam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

I had the pleasure of staying with Colleen and Geoff Knowles at their charming home by the sea, for 10 nights in September 2012. The were attentive hosts, the house was spotlessly clean and very quiet, being on a backroad but only 2 minutes walk from the beach and 5 minutes walk from the centre with it's good choice of pubs, restaurants and take-aways. The bed was comfortable, the room was spacious and warm and there was plenty of workspace at the desk in the room, which I needed for work. The only downside is that the bathroom is not en-suite but I had it all to myself the entire time as I don't think she lets out both rooms at the same time unless to a family.Colleen's breakfasts were plentiful and I was quite sorry to leave when the time came. I wouldn't hesitate to go back again.

Room Tip: There's only one double and one single
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colgeoff, Owner at Seaways Cottage, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, you are correct I only rent out the 2 rooms if it is a family or friends and they don't mind sharing the bathroom between them otherwise it is one room with sole use of private bathroom. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoylake
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Greasby) Hotel
7.7 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Green Lodge Hotel
Green Lodge Hotel
#4 of 7 in Hoylake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaways Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaways Cottage

Property: Seaways Cottage
Address: 13C Marine Road, Hoylake CH47 2AS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Hoylake
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hoylake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seaways Cottage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run BED & BREAKFAST within walking distance of the beach and Hoylake village, where you will find a friendly atmosphere among the many restaurants, pubs and night life. We are a 10 minute walk from the Royal Liverpool Golf Club, venue for The Open, with other golf courses, sailing, sand yachting, windsurfing and kite buggying all within close proximity. Near to M53 and rail links for Liverpool, Chester and North Wales.The double room has central heating, hospitality tray, hairdryer, Free WiFi and Television.Fridge with fresh milk and bottled water.The single room has central heating, hospitality tray, bottled water, hairdryer. Free WiFi and Television.Iron and ironing board available to both rooms. Iron and ironing board available. The double room has a fridge. Both rooms use a shared bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Seaways Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaways Cottage Hoylake, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing