We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoylake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Firkin House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Hoylake B&B and Inns
Gibraltar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I stayed with Lynda at Firkin House for 9 nights. I was in Hoylake to for some Maritime based study and the homely and peaceful atmosphere was perfect for my examination prep. Large spacious room, very clean, and the perfect start to every day with cooked breakfasts. Location is one street back from to be waterfront for walks, and under 5 mins to Main Street for beers and meals. Approx 10min walk from Manor road train station.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coolfishluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
9
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed at Firkin House last night, after attending a friends wedding. We were welcomed by Lynsey and showed to our room, which was very clean with tea, coffee, biscuits, and bottled water chilled in a fridge. We were made very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was plentiful, with a choice of Tea, Coffee, Fresh Fruit Juice, Cereal, Full English, and as much toast that you can eat.
All in all a very enjoyable stay, and would recommend, the price and quality was faultless.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed with 3 other couples at Firkin House for one night in June. We were delighted with the very friendly reception we received from Lindsay.

Firkin House is kept spotlessly clean. Our room - in the attic - was very nice, even though the bathroom was quite small - we still managed. Beds were very comfortable with excellent quality linen and a nice selection of bevereages available in the room.

Breakfast - delicious! We couldn't fault it at all.

We would highly recommend this guest house - I don't know how they provide the service they do for the rates they charge.

Room Tip: Don't pick the attic room (there are two) if you are, shall we say, on the large side. You would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Just had a night at Firkin House to celebrate a friends 50th birthday in Caldy.
I booked all 4 rooms for friends and we had it to ourselves.
Lindsey (the proprietor) was really welcoming and the whole house was spotless and open to wherever we wanted to go. She organised our taxi's and informed us about what was going on locally. The breakfast was freshly cooked and kept coming!
Thanks to Lindsey and her staff for making us feel like family.
Frances

Room Tip: Front rooms have a Sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frances b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Eight of us stayed at the Firkin House Bed&Breakfast for a special family occasion. We could not have been made anymore welcome by our host Lynsey and her staff. Our room had a lovely sea view and was quiet and comfortable. Our breakfasts were absolutely delicious. We will certainly stay at the Firkin again when we return to Hoylake.

Room Tip: There are 4 rooms and all are very comfortable.I would stay in any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We have stayed at "Firkin House" a number of times since it opened in 1999; you could not wish for nicer hosts than the proprietors Linda and Richard Palmer. The B&B is very well located, just off the promenade, and offers comfortable good value accommodation. The place feels very welcoming, and the rooms are well equipped and suitably decorated. Linda's full English breakfast is legendary, and must be one of the best reasons for visiting Hoylake.

We got the distinct impression that Firkin House works mainly on a recommendation basis from satisfied customers, and it is certainly more homely than the recently opened Holiday Inn. We would recommend it unreservedly, and are looking forward to our stay next week, when we are bringing our granddaughters to spend half term visiting Chester, Liverpool and North Wales, all of which are within an hour's drive.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marpycoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I only stayed for one night at this B&B and was delighted at the wonderfull welcome we recieved.

Our room was absolutely spotless and very well equiped. It was the little details that impressed us.
The good quality shower gel and shampoo , the lovely soft bathrobes ( wish i could have pinched them !! ----- jus kidding ) and the lovely bedding.

Breakfast was delicious , plentifull with lots of choice.

Tea and coffee making facilities , flat screen television set and hair dryer made it a comfortable stay.

The owners Linda and Richard were the perfect hosts and the price great value.


If you wish to stay in the Wirral I definately recomend Firkin House B&B.

Graham












Graham

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank grahamwitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoylake
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Greasby) Hotel
3.5 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hillbark Hotel
Hillbark Hotel
#1 of 1 in Frankby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
6.8 mi away
Premier Inn Birkenhead Town Centre Hotel
7.6 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Firkin House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firkin House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Firkin House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Marine Road, Hoylake CH47 2AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Hoylake
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hoylake
Also Known As:
Firkin House Bed And Breakfast Hoylake, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing