We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Firkin House Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$93
US$74
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$413
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$109
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$125
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverhill Hotel(Birkenhead)
US$140
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$76
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Wallasey New Brighton(Wallasey)(Great Value!)
US$97
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
48
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bgreat place to staybunk bedshome from homesailing schoolsituated close to the beachwould highly recommend this guest houselonger staytrain stationwithin easy walking distancestayed here for nightspleasant stayminute walkyogurtexcellent staytown centrewest kirby
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is our second time staying here. So that in itself says we are very pleased with Firkin. Lynsey is very friendly and helpful. Room was very comfortable. There are nice little extras such as coffee and tea and some toiletries in the bathroom if you happen to forget something. Like a home from home. Breakfast was good. We stayed there to see the Giant Spectacular - Memories of August in Liverpool. Hoylake station is only about a 10 minute walk and the train into Liverpool takes about 30 minutes. So this is the perfect location if you want to stay near Liverpool but want a quieter stay than in the city centre. Oh and the lovely beach is just around the corner. Can't fault both of our stays here and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsey W, Manager at Firkin House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

I'm sorry about the late reply but I have only just found my way round the site!!
It was lovely to see you both again and I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay here. The Giants in Liverpool were quite spectacular and worth the trip. I have yet to visit the library your husband recommended!!
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I hope to see you both in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I stayed with Lynda at Firkin House for 9 nights. I was in Hoylake to for some Maritime based study and the homely and peaceful atmosphere was perfect for my examination prep. Large spacious room, very clean, and the perfect start to every day with cooked breakfasts. Location is one street back from to be waterfront for walks, and under 5 mins to Main Street for beers and meals. Approx 10min walk from Manor road train station.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coolfishluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed at Firkin House last night, after attending a friends wedding. We were welcomed by Lynsey and showed to our room, which was very clean with tea, coffee, biscuits, and bottled water chilled in a fridge. We were made very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was plentiful, with a choice of Tea, Coffee, Fresh Fruit Juice, Cereal, Full English, and as much toast that you can eat.
All in all a very enjoyable stay, and would recommend, the price and quality was faultless.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed with 3 other couples at Firkin House for one night in June. We were delighted with the very friendly reception we received from Lindsay.

Firkin House is kept spotlessly clean. Our room - in the attic - was very nice, even though the bathroom was quite small - we still managed. Beds were very comfortable with excellent quality linen and a nice selection of bevereages available in the room.

Breakfast - delicious! We couldn't fault it at all.

We would highly recommend this guest house - I don't know how they provide the service they do for the rates they charge.

Room Tip: Don't pick the attic room (there are two) if you are, shall we say, on the large side. You would have difficulty moving past the loo to get into the shower. Not an ideal room for pensioners due to the flights of stairs.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzanneShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Just had a night at Firkin House to celebrate a friends 50th birthday in Caldy.
I booked all 4 rooms for friends and we had it to ourselves.
Lindsey (the proprietor) was really welcoming and the whole house was spotless and open to wherever we wanted to go. She organised our taxi's and informed us about what was going on locally. The breakfast was freshly cooked and kept coming!
Thanks to Lindsey and her staff for making us feel like family.
Frances

Room Tip: Front rooms have a Sea view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frances b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews