We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky to have discovered Number Fifteen”
Review of Number Fifteen

Number Fifteen
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoylake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Number Fifteen
Ranked #6 of 7 Hoylake B&B and Inns
Shropshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lucky to have discovered Number Fifteen”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Number Fifteen is more than a B&B - it's a home from home. We've just stayed there for five nights when we were playing in the Wirral Golf Classic (a must for all keen golfers) and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay.

Number 15 has fabulous views across the whole of the links of the Royal Liverpool as well as overlooking the Dee Estuary and Liverpool Bay. The views are enjoyed from the bedroom windows but especially in the large, light and airy lounge/breakfast room and there are binoculars to take advantage of all there is to see. If that's not enough there are books, DVD's and magazines to while away any spare time while you're tucking into a piece of the yummy home made cake which is there to come home to every day.

Breakfasts are a delight - wonderful mixed fresh fruit salads, a huge choice of cereals, freshly cooked full English as well as scrambled eggs with smoked salmon! Top that off with good toast (gluten free for me) and home made conserve and you're set up for a day on the golf course.

Our en suite room - the suite overlooking the 17th green was well equipped and we enjoyed a peaceful night's sleep in the extremely comfortable king sized bed. We even had our own kitchen which was fully restocked every day with teas, coffees and biscuits.

Above all else Hilary and John are absolutely delightful. Genuinely friendly without being "in your face," extremely helpful with local advice and very amenable over breakfast times to suit our tee times.

Having already booked our room again for next year's Wirral Golf Classic I can now recommend Number Fifteen to you all, safe in the knowledge that our room is booked! I can't imagine there being anywhere as good as this for miles around.

By the way - the Wirral Golf Classic is a great event and not to be missed in 2014.

Room Tip: We had the suite overlooking the 17th green and that was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coreleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary S, Owner at Number Fifteen, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for posting this lovely review. We enjoyed having you both as guests here and we look forward to welcoming you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Number Fifteen is an excellent B&B in Hoylake providing 5 star accommodation. We booked a room here for a weekend as we were visiting family nearby. We arrived on the Friday afternoon and due to modern technology (mobile phones) we were able to give an accurate time of arrival. Our hosts, Hilary and John were on the drive to meet us and show us to our room. Due to the design of the house the B&B has a separate entrance to the owners accommodation which gives guests a certain amount of independence. There are 4 rooms which can be booked and 2 of these can be used as a 2 bedroom unit complete with kitchen. Our room was a large double with dual aspect overlooking the Royal Liverpool Golf Club and with breathtaking views over the Dee Estuary to North Wales. Patio doors lead onto a small balcony with steps leading down to use of your very own garden. Accommodation is clean, thoughtfully decorated with the added bonus of complimentary toiletries (Molton Brown hand wash & hand cream on our dressing table!) and a well stocked tea/coffee tray. Breakfast offers a good choice of cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, toast etc in addition to Hilary cooking a first-rate full English breakfast if you so require. It is worth noting that we were given home-made flapjacks on arrival (again courtesy of Hilary's culinary talents) which were absolutely beautiful. A lovely touch on arrival. Hilary is to be commended on a wonderful B&B and we would recommend Number Fifteen unreservedly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stmarychurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary S, Owner at Number Fifteen, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay here and I hope we will see you again when you are next visiting the family. I'm glad you enjoyed the flapjacks. This weekend there is Malteser cake in the guest lounge - another popular one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I have enjoyed staying in Number Fifteen with golfing friends for a long weekend every year for the past 5 years and I hope that we will continue to stay here for many more years to come - it is simply brilliant! For anyone playing at Royal Liverpool Golf Club, the setting is absolutely perfect, overlooking the course and located right by the 17th green. The views from the bedrooms and the living / dining room certainly make any avid golfer keen to get out on the links!

The welcome offered by Hilary and John is always so friendly, yet still very professional. Nothing is ever too much hassle and guests can be sure that they will be set up for the day with Hilary's hearty and delicious breakfasts. The afternoon baking that you return to later in the day always feels like an extra treat!

The accommodation at Number Fifteen is spacious, stylish and exceptionally comfortable and Hilary is always willing to offer flexible room set-ups if needed - great for groups! The separate entrance for B&B guests is ideal when returning late from any evening functions and there is ample space in the house to allow privacy to all guests.

I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Hoylake!

Room Tip: The Links View Room is stunning and has great views both down the 17th and in the opposite direction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SEJ_SlicerCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary S, Owner at Number Fifteen, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am looking forward to welcoming your group here again later in the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I have to say I was just blown away by this place. The location should be a state secret if it is not already - I didn't know those beaches and the coastline were there before, and if anything, the accommodation and welcome from Hilary and John was even better, being friendly as well as professional. My room was huge with amazing views, and the comfort level was premium. Lovely choice too at breakfast. The b&b is discreet from the host's accommodation with its own front door, so my coming back late from a 'do' was not a problem. Golfers just won't want to go home from here unless they have had a bad round! I have already booked again for friends and family. Easy walks from the front gate too. I just couldn't fault anything.

Room Tip: Ask for the Club View Suite - it has a dressing room and amazing views, but I was shown around and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary S, Owner at Number Fifteen, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you for your review and thank you for booking again with friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Finally Number Fifteen is listed - and about time!

More people need to discover this place - it's fantastic! Modern, spacious and with a true feel of a luxury, whilst being personally supervised.

Whilst I haven't stayed here myself, as a local care home proprietor and business owner, I have attended a couple of Open Days they have held, and on the basis of what I have seen, I have wholeheartedly recommended this establishment to many resident's families who live out of area and who have been been visiting their elderly relatives. I have also recommended Number Fifteen to friends visiting the Royal Liverpool Golf Club and a number of company executives prior to meetings with us.

Without exception they have all commended the place and its hosts for their personal service and attention to detail.

Festidiuously clean, modern, spacious and very welcoming - Number Fifteen and it's hosts appear never to fail to endear themselves to their guests. Many, it appears are happy and repeat customers.

Hilary's personal welcome, not to mention her prowess in cake baking and jam/marmalade making, all add to the personal touch and ensures you feel like a vauled, personal friend.

Free Wi-Fi and newspapers add that finishing touch that most modern travellers expect.

I continue to recommend Number Fifteen to anyone visiting the Wirral. It offers personal service, excellent value and attention to detail and comes with an abundance of tremendous views across the infamous Royal Liverpool Golf Club, Dee Estuary and onwards to the Welsh Hills, not to mention the SSSI at Red Rocks.

This is truely a superb base from which to explore the Wirral and all it has to offer, and so close to a plethora of local restaurants, bars, shops and cafes.

Keep up the good work guys! Many thanks.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the corner overlooking the Royal Liverpool Golf Club's club house. Tremendou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RR_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary S, Owner at Number Fifteen, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are always happy to accommodate visitors to local businesses so thank you for recommending us both on here and to your visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Great to find Number Fifteen on Trip Advisor and be able to review it. We first discovered it shortly after it opened in 2007, and we’ve been back several times since (including 2 stays to coincide with family weddings). On each visit we’ve had a very warm welcome with nothing being too much trouble for the hosts to make our stay perfect, delicious food and the most spacious accommodation I’ve ever had in a B&B .It has a feel of luxury about it with everything clean, bright and modern. We love the stunning views of the famous golf course as well as the Dee Estuary and Wales in the distance. A lovely walk along the beach is a couple of minutes away, and a short walk in the other direction leads to plenty of places to eat to suit all price ranges. A great base for trips to Liverpool or down the Wirral to Chester, or simply to relax and enjoy the views. We're well overdue for another visit - can't wait!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RER88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary S, Owner at Number Fifteen, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you for your review. We have been delighted to welcome you to Number Fifteen on several occasions, and of course to be your base in the sometimes hectic build up to family weddings. If I remember rightly we also accommodated the wedding cake for one night! I look forward to seeing you and your husband again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Have stayed here a couple of times. Great value B&B with superb views over the golf course and coast. Lovely welcome with delightful modern, clean and spacious rooms. Super homely touches like yummy home made cakes and a comfortable lounge to relax in, great breakfast! Just a stroll away from the beach. Can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TinaKUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary S, Owner at Number Fifteen, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for your review. I am delighted you have enjoyed your stays at Number Fifteen. It was a pleasure to welcome you here. I always enjoy discovering new recipes through talking to other cooking enthusiasts. Your white chocolate and raspberry cake has proved very popular so thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoylake
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake
4.2 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
747 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hillbark Hotel
Hillbark Hotel
#1 of 1 in Frankby
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Seaways Cottage
Seaways Cottage
#4 of 7 in Hoylake
44 reviews
0.6 mi away
Green Lodge Hotel
Green Lodge Hotel
#5 of 7 in Hoylake
147 reviews
2.7 mi away
Peel Hey
Peel Hey
#1 of 1 in Frankby
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Fifteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Fifteen

Property: Number Fifteen
Address: 15 Stanley Road, Hoylake CH47 1HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Hoylake
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hoylake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premium Bed and Breakfast accommodation overlooking Royal Liverpool Golf Course, with spectacular views across the course, the Dee Estuary and onto the rolling Welsh hills. Within easy walking distance of Hoylake’s extensive choice of Restaurants and Pubs, as well as Hoylake train station, we offer a relaxed atmosphere for all our guests, whether here for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Number Fifteen Hoylake, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing