We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise! But!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoylake
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed 2 nights - With Breakfast included.

Overall revamp of the old king's gap hotel is fantastic - We visted as we were at a wedding local to hoylake, Staff are freindly and the service pretty good! Rooms are nice its a few years since ive stayed in a holiday inn and to be honest wasnt expecting the room to be as good! Modern and contempory feel, The room we had was excellent! Only crib been that we were directly above the rear doors of the kitchen and staff ciggy area!

My only complaint would be the Breakfast buffet is a free for all and pretty poor!

The staff just couldnt keep up with the replenishment of the buffet offer.The food was just edible but the choice was limited... as often guests would find a sauasge but would be missing eggs or some other items for there breakfast... Most people head down between 8am-9am,so maybe a bit better planning for these busy times would be better for all involved including stressed out waitress!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jmb0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

Good value, great location and room.

Slept really well but breakfast was terrible.

From the coffee machine that overflows the cups to the cheap hot breakfast ingredients.

Only 3 items for a hot cooked breakfast. Scrambled eggs (bland), deep fried and really cheap sausages and decent beans.

Guys I am not the only one saying it, sort your breakfast out its not good at all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mansmanreality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here for a weekend, as a group of ten adults celebrating a special event. Special thanks to Carrie Marsden for organising an excellent package for us. Our hotel rooms were clean and bright and the hotel staff friendly and helpful. We were allocated a very well positioned table in Marco's, and on both evenings the restaurant staff were most helpful, especially the waitresses Hannah and ? who both worked incredibly hard. The hotel is well positioned to reach a number of interesting places. Our thanks again to the staff - we had a ball!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doll126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I stayed with my son for two nights, and was very happy with our family room. Great size room with most amenities (though couldn't find hairdryer) and was clean and well maintained.

The hotel is well situated, couldn't hear much road noise despite road works nearby and just a short walk to either the beach or the shops. The only irritation was the breakfast. Whilst I appreciate it is a "free" breakfast, on the second day (wed morning) there was only 40% of the items available and despite popping back a couple of times to check, there was nothing added. The one member of staff that seemed to be working either could not or would not replenish the items, despite my requests.

Otherwise, a lovely stay in a reasonably priced hotel.

Room Tip: room 123 is quiet, when the windows are closed, though creaking floorboards can wake light sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mum22boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last week and found it more than adequate.Very handy for the train into Liverpool.Breakfast was ok,oj was very watery.Great shower.Staff were very friendly.We arrived back late on Sat night and there was a great sing song going on in the hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank taxifor4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed here last weekend while going to the Grand National. Rooms were smart and functional, with a decent shower and free wi-fi! Modern property with Marco's (Pierre-White) New York Italian restaurant attached. Had a nice meal here on Friday night, although service was a little slow. I think our party of 12 may have surprised them. The main let-down is the breakfast, which I know is generic to the Express brand. The hot food consists of grey-coloured sausages and rubbery scrambled eggs, which are left to keep warm for hours. No bacon! I appreciate that keep costs down but it's really not good. Overall a good experience though.

Room Tip: Some first floor rooms have a nice balcony with outdoor furniture (123).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKMarkB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Sahred a weekend here with a saint and had a great time , clean comfortable room to chill and enjoy company and breakfast was good a choice of hot or cold and the sausages werent cheap and nasty as we have a thing about sausages haha.

Good Value for money to get away

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna0886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoylake
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Greasby) Hotel
3.6 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
872 reviews
6.3 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Heswall) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
8.6 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,895 reviews
7.5 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake

Address: The Kings Gap, Hoylake CH47 1HE, England (Formerly Kings Gap Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Hoylake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoylake
Price Range: £51 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new build 56 bedroom hotel gives you something unique;a mix of cosmopolitan, blending with the original VictorianHouse which will house our fabulous Marco Pierre WhiteFrankies New York Italian, bedrooms and meeting rooms.The supporting infrastructure offers an eclectic mix ofrural, urban and coastal activity from sailing at the seasidetown of West Kirby to playing golf at the neighbouringRoyal Liverpool Golf Club, home to the Open Golfchampionship in 2014 following its success in 2008, tosightseeing, shopping and exploring the City of Liverpool,hailed as the best European Capital of Culture on record,also ideally placed to visit the Historical City of Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Gap Court Liverpool
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing